We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorified basic hostel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Afan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Afan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Port Talbot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glorified basic hostel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Ive never left reviews like this before but I am doing this for good reason, namely to get the owners to take notice and act. We stayed 2 nights from the 25/5/12.

In essense the lodge is a very basic hostel, rooms are clean but unlike the nice web pictures have almost prison issue duvets and pillows. Our room never got cleaned during our stay, which is cheap.Given its mtb specialist tag, we couldnt understand why staff knew nothing of Afan trails or how to get onto the Ywall. Breakfast was good though.

Food is basic pub grub at best and expensive. £17 for steak. We noticed a lot of residents went to Neath to eat and we followed suit. Real shame as the place lost all its vibe when empty.

What really got us was the staff They were either untrained or just inexperienced at customer service and end up being rude, disinterested and cold. We asked politely if we could add 2 more riders to our essential " reservation" for dinner (it was barely 1/4 full!) and the staff member was quite rude shouting at us for not booking 4 places.She just had no interest in helping, so half the group ate whilst the other waited. Awful. If I wasnt starved, I would have told her not to bother and gone into Neath for food. All in all they really let the place down. What happend to service with a smile?.

Would I go again, No way,plenty of better places were mentioned to us even if they were a little further away. Should you? Well if you do go, dont expect a lot,take your own bedding and eat out in evening. Real shame as it has all the makings of a good business and attractive hub for mtb trails. I hope the owners take interest , if not word will spread.

Room Tip: you cant choose a room yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squeakychain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    37
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
32
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Location is perfect, a cogs throw from the Mtb trails. Staff are lovely and helpful. Hotel could have been a little better set up for bikers though. The web address is www.mountainbikeaccomadation.com but the facilities simply consist of a shed and a hose. Drying rooms I thought would be essential, but we had to dry out wet muddy clothes in our small bathroom. Somewhere to change out of dirty clothing/hose off shoes before entering the carpeted bar would have been useful too. Somewherebto prepare food for a days cycling/walking would have been great. The foodie the bar/resturant is pretty good - standard pub fare and cooked breakfasts which are cooked to perfection. However, eating lunch and dinner there everyday would soon eat into your budget. If you have a car there are plenty of other good places to eat. all in all a decent place, a little overpriced and not really that customised for bikers but in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0cornas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Great location for bikers, lovely welcoming staff. Thanks for the advice and of course the steaks! See you soon.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chili_ryda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed jst after Christmas so the place was quite quiet, and the weather a constant misty rain - not the Lodge's fault though! When the rain cleared the lovely view from our room was the winding valley bordered by steep pine forest mountains.
Rooms are basic but clean and equipped with a flat screen tv with DVD player and the usual tea/coffe bits. Only criticism was the extractor fan was about as powerful as a mosquito so the bathroom stayed steamed up quite a while but no other niggles with either the room or the place in general.
The bar area is decent with a large TV at one end and a pool table and a separate restaurant section. The inclusive Full Welsh Breakfast was decent and accompanied by buffet cereals, tea, coffee and fruit juices.
Everyone we met was really friendly, from the reception and bar staff, to the locals, some of which are mountain bikers themselves and happy to chat.
The place is well set up to be a mountain biker or walker's station, being as it is literally on the side of a hill with the Afan river running through the valley below and the entrance to Afan Forest about 1/2 mile up the road.
Swansea is about 20-25 minutes drive away, with plenty of shopping and a market to pick up fresh cockles and laver bread to take home.
Would happily recommend and return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trepiddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

what a great little place! Set in the very pretty former industrial Llynfi Valley, this friendly place is surrounded by Pine forests and could easily be mistaken for Switzerland! There are lovely little places to visit nearby inculding an outdoor theatre, outdoor pursuits centre and Margam House and Park. The food is lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was situated in the attic and was more like an apartment. It was spotless and freshly painted with lovely forest views. Apparently the lodge was once a miners' social club where Richard Burton made his first performance!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda-and-friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend of mountain bike riding with group of 8 friends. It is the perfect set-up: great facilities, comfortable rooms, excellent food and really friendly service. As an added bonus there is no need to drive to the trail centres as they are only 10 mins ride away. By far the best place to stay I have found for a weekend trip to the Afan Valley.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTBJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Arrived and everything was as others had advised, massive secure bike storage, bike washing facilities, room fresh and appropriate, good condition considering used by mtbers, food was fresh, good quality and value. The Apple Crumble and custard which I had nearly every evening was absolutley fantastic and highly recommend it, just what my body needed!
As others have said only one small soap and no shower gel, lucky my wife remembered to pack some for me!.

Don't miss the great drop offs on Whites Level, looks a little scary but the landing although small is relatively safe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanN18633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Aberavon Beach Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
21.6 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#5 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afan Lodge

Property: Afan Lodge
Address: Afan Road, Port Talbot SA13 3ES, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Afan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Afan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afan Hotel Port Talbot
Afan Lodge Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing