We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top experience at the top of the mountains - beautiful!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sani Pass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sani Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sani Pass
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Top experience at the top of the mountains - beautiful!”
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Thanks Gisela - this was an amazing place to stay! Contact our very organized and brilliant tour organizer: (--) for any trips in SA! This place was litteraly placed above the clouds - so eventhough the clouds came in the afternoon it just added to the charm of staying in such a natural spot of beauty! The staff was as friendly as can be, the food very well prepared and plenty, the atmosphere relaxed and cosy, evenings with guitar and locals singing infront of the fireplace, nice trekking, horseriding and quadbiking trips. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaidCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    93
    37
    14
    10
See reviews for
46
95
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Sani Top Chalet is home to Africas Highest pub, with accommodation of different standards. It has luxery chalets, simple double rooms and backpacker accomodation. We stayed at the luxery chalets which was a very enjoyable experience. The beds were nice and warm with several blankes (which was very much needed as the temperature dropped to around 4-5 degrees during the night - and this was in the middle of summer). We even had own gas heater in each room.

The pub itself, with the restaurant was very cozy, here it was a nice blend of local Lesotho people, day tourists and backpackers. Anything from the local Maluti beer to Gluwein was severed, at very affordable prices. The food was simple but very good, plenty of food for the money. And cant forget to mention what i found to be the best bread Ive ever tasted, homemade by the locals working there, severed together with every meal.

Will definitley come back here at some point.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

This place is a gem, forget about accommodation, food etc which was all great - the location is so so beautiful you just have to visit - we drove ourselves up the Sani Pass which was a bit of a nightmare in a Nissan X Trail - if you're driving yourself leave 2-3 hours to get up there just in case and get a proper 4 x 4. We drove up late afternoon and didn't get to the SA border crossing till 17.00 (and found out the Lesotho crossing shut at 17.00 !!) We were told that with a possible bribe needed we'd probably be ok!!! and carried on - the next part of the road was atrocious to put it mildly - the cloud was coming down and it seemed to take hours (actually about 40 minutes) we were worried about damaging the vehicle as some of the rocks were so big and deep fissures in the road meant having to get perilously close to the edge now and again. However, when we got to the Lesotho border, all was just "welcome, welcome, no problem" and no bribe required! We got to the Sani Top Chalet and had a great welcome also and we were blown away by the location. Go for a long walk here and marvel at the views and panorama - it's mind blowing and after travelling much of the world and being lucky enough to see many beautiful places I have to say this has to rank right up there at the top. Totally unspoilt. We were lucky to get a beautiful day for walking, but you could be disappointed if the cloud stays around - but hey enjoy the highest pub in Africa whilst you wait for it to clear!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank downfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We drove north from Natal, South Africa, and had lunch at Underberg. After refueling (no nearby unleaded fuel in Lesotho), we took the Road P318-2 which becomes the Sani Pass. Although misty and wet, it was full of waterfalls crossing the gravel and rocky road (4 wheel drive vehicles only, or accompany one). Near the top are some sharp corners on the edge of the cliff, but the Forester managed fine. The 43 km trip took about 2 hours.

Sunshine at the Top! We went through the Lesotho border post and paid about USD1 toll fee. then off to the "Highest Pub in Africa". Its one of those "have to do, guy things". Simphiwe was manager and barman and looked after us well. The accommodation is actually called Sani Top Chalets. They are cosy, with everything one could want.

Next morning, we got up at dawn to witness a splendid sunrise. The unique ice rats, and the birds, forage happily with little fear of people. After a full breakfast, we continued north to exit Lesotho some 6 hours later. The latter trip contained roads with continuous potholes which were almost as challenging as the Sani Pass itself!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoamingNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

My husband, some friends and I spent the day here in August. It's very rugged and isolated. The rooms ( I peeked in a couple ) were basic but very clean. The bar and restaurant were fine and the views are quite good up there. We got there in the morning and other tourists really hadn't shown up yet so it was really nice being by ourselves on the terrace. It took a 4 wheel drive to get there. It's a very rough road. You can go here in a day trip from Durban if you like.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodtrips01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1,033 reviews
399 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,152 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2007

Simple but cozy chalet accommodation at the top of the Sani Pass—South African run. Great views of the Drakenburg range and the Sani Pass. Inside see old photos of the pass and antique skis. There is a cozy pub billed as the highest pub in Africa. You can buy postcards, pay for a stamp, drop the cards into the mailbox and in about a week ro so someone should bring them to a larger town in Lesotho for mailing. The bar sells other Lesotho knick knacks.

You can choose to have your toilet and bath en suite or to share facilities but if you share you will have to share the toilet with tour groups who arrive at around noon. Facilities are kept clean though. Views are fantastic and the place is eerily quiet once the groups depart. The hotel is full over the weekend but often empty during the week.

The chalet serves home made bread and other Western style comfort food but service is very slow—the tour groups have their guides help in the kitchen to speed things up! Also, the owner won’t send up supplies from Himeville if there aren’t many hotel or group guests (ie during the week) so this impacts food choice. There should soon be an alternative place to get typical, local food being organized by one of the tour group owners who got tired of the slow service.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

This place is quite amazing! The main house is packed with pictures and articles about Sani Pass, the bar is quite cosy and the staff extremly pleasant. from the balcony you have a breathtaking view over Sani Pass into Sani Valley. You will meet lots of different people and can spend quite a chatty evening at the bar. The chalets are very basic so but it is quite an experience!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pikinini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sani Pass
12.0 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
15.8 mi away
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
12.3 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 19 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sani Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sani Mountain Lodge

Property: Sani Mountain Lodge
Address: Sani Pass, Sani Pass, Lesotho (Formerly Sani Top Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: Lesotho > Mokhotlong District > Sani Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sani Pass
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of kind Lodge located at the top of Sani Pass,2874m above sea level,located on the border line of Lesotho and South Africa some 300m from the entry border post of Sani Pass, Lesotho.The lodge has a 48 seater restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily.The Highest Pub in Africa stocks a wide varity of beverages accompanied with a varst selection of great wines, satisfying all ones needs.Satilite TV and free WiFi is available in the lodge area ,enabling one to keep in contact with the outside world and family.The lodge has 9 rooms, made up of double & twin bedded rooms, on suite, togther with 6 & 4 sleeper family rooms.We also have a 22 sleeper Backpackers and Camping Area located next to the backpackers. Both the main Lodge & Backpackers are run on generator power.Activities available-guided hikes,fishing, bird watching and horse riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sani Top Chalet Hotel Sani Pass
Sani Top Chalet Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing