We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected comfort and warmth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird Haven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hlotse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed for 7 nights with 4 other Canadian travellers. We had busy days and needed safe and comfortable rest at night. Bird Haven B&B provided more than we expected! The individual guest houses were clean, spacious and charming. The grounds were well kept and had security at night. The breakfast was included and was delicious. Eggs, sausage, cereal, juices, toast, coffee and more. The staff were friendly, engaging and welcoming. Daily house keeping was welcomed. I had laundry done there that I desperately needed. It was great! The houses have thatched roofs, modern indoor plumbing with plenty of warm water. There is a kitchenette and small TV, neither of which I used. The bed was comfortable and warm. Although it was noisy outside at night due to activity around town, I felt safe.

Bring shampoo. As a light sleeper, I used ear plugs at night to block out the unfamiliar noises. ATMs are available in town. Cash is best in Lesotho, although I used a credit card with no problem at Bird Haven.

The price was reasonable and offered good value. The owner lived on site and was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I will stay at Bird Haven again without hesitation.

Room Tip: 4 of the 5 guest houses have a queen size bed. The other room has twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapaBrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed two nights and will happily stay again when back in Hlotse. Our rondavel was well presented, spotless and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast included in the price was superb but only a microwave and kettle in the rondavel so get take basic cutlery and plates and get creative with your microwave cooking if you want to self cater.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank dik-bardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank WolkeFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank FanchBzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magifiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathakane, Owner at Bird Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertie W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathakane, Owner at Bird Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hlotse
0.0 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
592 reviews
0.0 mi away
AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Mohale Lodge
Mohale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Likalaneng
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AVANI Maseru Hotel
AVANI Maseru Hotel
#8 of 10 in Maseru
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Katse Lodge
Katse Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bokong
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Haven Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lisemeng II, Hlotse 300, Lesotho
Phone Number:
Location: Lesotho > Leribe District > Hlotse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hlotse
Price Range: $47 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Haven Bed and Breakfast is a bird inspired establishment in the heart of Hlotse Leribe, Lesotho; housed under picturesque traditional buildings. It offers a traditional feel with contemporary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bird Haven Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing