We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afriski - Online rooms pics deceiving 9th August”

AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Afriski - Online rooms pics deceiving 9th August”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My first time at AfriSki

I stayed over in VAIL.. online pics show wooden floors cosy room and walls..

On my arrival we had a concrete floor.. Rotten doors and undersized beds ...
Every step or bump from neighbours can be heard .

Not to mention items were taken out our room and Back of our car.

I spent around 7k and didn't feel I got half my moneys worth, I felt very uneasy with
armed guards at the resort as well ..

Staff seemed to be helpful but I doubt they would mention any bad incidents.

Friends who occupied us agreed.. This would be our first and last visit .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Chis88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Chris,
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, and were disappointed with the Vail unit you stayed in. The unit is in the process of being upgraded (hence the cement floors in which underfloor heating is being installed), and should offer a better experience soon. Our grading of the units is based on the AA grading descriptions i.e. Vail rated Good = approx 2 Star.
Afriski offers various units from a Backpackers (Basic) to Estonian Chalets (3 and 4 star) as well as Lodges (Vail 2 star; Tirol 3 star).
We do however hope that you enjoyed your African ski experience and the activities we offer at Afriski and hope that you will reconsider your view of not returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    64
    21
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ski in Africa”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family and I spent the week at Afriski where the kids learnt to ski.

We stayed in Tirol, a lodge with various en suite rooms and were pleasantly surprised. It was fully equipped with under floor heating, electric blankets on each bed and double glazing throughout. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious enough. There is tea and coffee in the rooms but bring your own if you're a coffee snob. The restaurant and cafe serve tasty and varied food without takin advantage of th fact that they have a captive audience.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our kids loved their ski instructor who spent time on the first two days teaching them to ski.

The slopes had no natural snow when we arrived but Afriski managed to create and groom short but pristine runs that were maintained each evening, making for very enjoyable skiing for the whole family.

All in all it was a wonderful holiday and given that within six hours of leaving Johannesburg, we'd stopped for breakfast, checked in and were on the slopes skiing, I'd highly recommend it for people in Johannesburg looking to spend some time in the snow.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony-Zelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Antony and Zelda,

Thank you for the time you took to write a review. We are very happy that you were pleasantly surprised by our Ski and Mountain Resort and we love the fact that your kids learned to ski.
Tirol was recently upgraded and it is great to hear that there is appreciation for the experience offered in Tirol. We hope to have more units to choose from soon, offering different options to suit everyone's needs and pockets, but the fun adventure element at Afriski is what we are most proud of.
We hope that you will return next Winter season (now that the kids are addicted :)), and also give us a visit in Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to learn skiing or snowboarding”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

So Afriski has a latitude of 28.8 degrees South, making it only 5 degrees outside of the Tropics ergo even though the slope extends from around 2800m to 3200m above sea level natural snow is never a certainty. The main slope is always suplimented with man-made snow and so skiing is guaranteed for around 3 months of the year. There is a 1km mainslope, served by a T-Bar lift, and an intermediate slope divided into upper and lower parts each serviced by button lifts.

Rental and ski pass prices are on par with what one would pay at much larger ski areas in (e.g.) Europe and North America, so offers poor value for money for the experienced skier. However as a family get away or a cheap prelude (since no transcontinental flights are involved) to learn the prerequisite skills before a proper ski holiday; Afriski makes a lot of sense for the average South African. I have been every year for the last six with a bunch of friends as a weekend get away and thoroughly intend to continue to do so

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for a great review and taking the time to write about your experience.
We, at Afriski have the passion for African Snow experiences and especially offer a great snow learning area for kids to adults.
We love our returning guests, and look forward to welcoming you back again next year or perhaps for Summer when the resort is green and offer excellent 4x4 experiences...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“EXPECTATIONS EXCEEDED !”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hats off to the Afriski owners , management and staff who have created a brilliant ski resort in Africa !

I ski annually in Italy & for my first visit to Afriski I had very low expectations of what I thought would be a limited sking experience. Was I wrong !

The facilities are excellent. The rooms in the chalets ( we stayed in Tyrol Lodge ) are warm as toast ( underfloor heating ) , beds comfie ( with electric blanket ) , linen good quality and the bathrooms well laid out. The water is hot as hell, perfect for that lovely shower when you come off the slopes.

The ski slopes are well prepared each day and snow is guaranteed via a series of snow makers. The main slope is of sufficient length to make for a good run. The intermediate & nursery slopes are separate which means no foul ups with beginners !

A separate section caters for the experienced boarders, with jumps, rails etc set-up for the maniacs amongst us !

The ski schools are well managed , cover all levels and by all accounts the instructors are good.

The resort management were responsive to problems. Our shower did not drain very well. It was fixed within an hour of being reported.

The Sky Restaurant is a hit. The food is excellent ! Service was a bit iffy due to new local staff being used and some were still "in training". But this was our experience only on one night. We had great service the other nights.

The resident entertainer ( singer + guitar ) was great, very entertaining and created a fun vibe. But not over the top to spoil conversations etc around the dinner table.

A word of caution ; the restaurant toilets do sometimes play up & a bad odour permeates part of the venue. Try & avoid the area at the stairs leading down to the toilets. Window seats & tables are best, but book early at breakfast time to secure your spot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Afriski. Your positive descriptions, especially of our ski school is very much appreciated.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you in our Summer months for Summer Adventures as well as again next Winter Season for skiing and snowboard fun.
We are proud of our Resort, and we hope that you and your family and friends will become our regular guests as we grow the resort into an African Adventure Fun Destination, better and better every year.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Skiing in Africa”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've been going to Afriski Ski Resort in Lesotho for 7 years now. Excellent 1km Slope, friendly staff and good accommodation. Good Bar and Restaurant. Great for families, groups etc. There is also budget accommodation at the Backpackers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allanah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Afriski.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us again, and we hope to see you in our Summer months for Summer Adventures as well as again next Winter Season for skiing and snowboard fun.
We are proud of our Resort, and we are happy that you and your family and friends are regular guests. We plan to grow the resort into an African Adventure Fun Destination, better and better every year.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort also viewed

Butha-Buthe, Butha-Buthe District
Teyateyaneng, Berea District
 

Been to AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing