We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski in Africa”

Afriski Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Afriski Mountain Resort – An Unexpected High. The Mountain Kingdom of Lesotho is a country rich in culture and rugged beauty. Afriski Mountain Resort, tucked away in the northern highlands, provides a gateway to this largely untapped world of high-altitude adventure. Situated in the heart of the Drakensberg-Maluti Mountains, this resort caters to every taste and offers the perfect escape for sport and outdoor enthusiasts, corporate parties as well as families. With a selection of accommodation options, as well as a range of on-site facilities and restaurants, Afriski has all you need for the perfect mountain getaway. The resort welcomes mountain bikers, trail-runners, hikers, fly fishermen as well as enduro and off-road enthusiasts equally. When the seasons turn, and the cold descends, our ski slopes come to life. Afriski provides a touch of Europe just around the corner – without the demands of a long-haul flight. Join us at 3222m above sea level in the Mountain Kingdom.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family and I spent the week at Afriski where the kids learnt to ski.

We stayed in Tirol, a lodge with various en suite rooms and were pleasantly surprised. It was fully equipped with under floor heating, electric blankets on each bed and double glazing throughout. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious enough. There is tea and coffee in the rooms but bring your own if you're a coffee snob. The restaurant and cafe serve tasty and varied food without takin advantage of th fact that they have a captive audience.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our kids loved their ski instructor who spent time on the first two days teaching them to ski.

The slopes had no natural snow when we arrived but Afriski managed to create and groom short but pristine runs that were maintained each evening, making for very enjoyable skiing for the whole family.

All in all it was a wonderful holiday and given that within six hours of leaving Johannesburg, we'd stopped for breakfast, checked in and were on the slopes skiing, I'd highly recommend it for people in Johannesburg looking to spend some time in the snow.

2  Thank Antony-Zelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at Afriski Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi Antony and Zelda,

Thank you for the time you took to write a review. We are very happy that you were pleasantly surprised by our Ski and Mountain Resort and we love the fact that your kids learned to ski.
Tirol was recently upgraded and it is great to hear that there is appreciation for the experience offered in Tirol. We hope to have more units to choose from soon, offering different options to suit everyone's needs and pockets, but the fun adventure element at Afriski is what we are most proud of.
We hope that you will return next Winter season (now that the kids are addicted :)), and also give us a visit in Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sky restaurant"
in 32 reviews
"ski school"
in 14 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 11 reviews
"next year"
in 10 reviews
"main slope"
in 9 reviews
"self catering"
in 7 reviews
"above sea level"
in 7 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 7 reviews
"whole family"
in 7 reviews
"ski gear"
in 6 reviews
"mountain biking"
in 6 reviews
"long weekend"
in 6 reviews
"skiing experience"
in 6 reviews
"gondola bar"
in 6 reviews
"bum boarding"
in 5 reviews
"maluti mountains"
in 5 reviews
"ski shop"
in 5 reviews
Filter

228 - 232 of 271 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

So Afriski has a latitude of 28.8 degrees South, making it only 5 degrees outside of the Tropics ergo even though the slope extends from around 2800m to 3200m above sea level natural snow is never a certainty. The main slope is always suplimented with man-made snow and so skiing is guaranteed for around 3 months of the year. There is a 1km mainslope, served by a T-Bar lift, and an intermediate slope divided into upper and lower parts each serviced by button lifts.

Rental and ski pass prices are on par with what one would pay at much larger ski areas in (e.g.) Europe and North America, so offers poor value for money for the experienced skier. However as a family get away or a cheap prelude (since no transcontinental flights are involved) to learn the prerequisite skills before a proper ski holiday; Afriski makes a lot of sense for the average South African. I have been every year for the last six with a bunch of friends as a weekend get away and thoroughly intend to continue to do so

1  Thank Jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at Afriski Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for a great review and taking the time to write about your experience.
We, at Afriski have the passion for African Snow experiences and especially offer a great snow learning area for kids to adults.
We love our returning guests, and look forward to welcoming you back again next year or perhaps for Summer when the resort is green and offer excellent 4x4 experiences...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hats off to the Afriski owners , management and staff who have created a brilliant ski resort in Africa !

I ski annually in Italy & for my first visit to Afriski I had very low expectations of what I thought would be a limited sking experience. Was I wrong !

The facilities are excellent. The rooms in the chalets ( we stayed in Tyrol Lodge ) are warm as toast ( underfloor heating ) , beds comfie ( with electric blanket ) , linen good quality and the bathrooms well laid out. The water is hot as hell, perfect for that lovely shower when you come off the slopes.

The ski slopes are well prepared each day and snow is guaranteed via a series of snow makers. The main slope is of sufficient length to make for a good run. The intermediate & nursery slopes are separate which means no foul ups with beginners !

A separate section caters for the experienced boarders, with jumps, rails etc set-up for the maniacs amongst us !

The ski schools are well managed , cover all levels and by all accounts the instructors are good.

The resort management were responsive to problems. Our shower did not drain very well. It was fixed within an hour of being reported.

The Sky Restaurant is a hit. The food is excellent ! Service was a bit iffy due to new local staff being used and some were still "in training". But this was our experience only on one night. We had great service the other nights.

The resident entertainer ( singer + guitar ) was great, very entertaining and created a fun vibe. But not over the top to spoil conversations etc around the dinner table.

A word of caution ; the restaurant toilets do sometimes play up & a bad odour permeates part of the venue. Try & avoid the area at the stairs leading down to the toilets. Window seats & tables are best, but book early at breakfast time to secure your spot.

4  Thank JamesM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at Afriski Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Afriski. Your positive descriptions, especially of our ski school is very much appreciated.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you in our Summer months for Summer Adventures as well as again next Winter Season for skiing and snowboard fun.
We are proud of our Resort, and we hope that you and your family and friends will become our regular guests as we grow the resort into an African Adventure Fun Destination, better and better every year.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've been going to Afriski Ski Resort in Lesotho for 7 years now. Excellent 1km Slope, friendly staff and good accommodation. Good Bar and Restaurant. Great for families, groups etc. There is also budget accommodation at the Backpackers.

1  Thank Allanah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at Afriski Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Afriski.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us again, and we hope to see you in our Summer months for Summer Adventures as well as again next Winter Season for skiing and snowboard fun.
We are proud of our Resort, and we are happy that you and your family and friends are regular guests. We plan to grow the resort into an African Adventure Fun Destination, better and better every year.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited in July 2013. Although it hasn't snowed this year, the ski slopes was well maintained with regular snow-making. It was prepared every night for the next day and all the equipment looked good.I found the staff very helpful and friendly, from reception to equipment rental and the ski shop. The overall atmosphere was great, except for Saturday. The resort hosted the Kings Cup over the weekend which led to lots of people on the Saturday and club music (if you can call it that!) pumped out of a sponsor's vehicle the whole day. This put a damper on things for me personally. I would advise people to find out when events are hosted if this is not their thing. Overall we had a great time, though, and I will definitely be back.

Thank elmarie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at Afriski Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Afriski.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you in our Summer months for Summer Adventures as well as again next Winter Season for skiing and snowboard fun.
We have three major events annually - the calendar is on our website www.afriski.net and appreciate that this is not for all. Thanks for the suggestion that guests check before booking or coming through, as we would like all our guests to have fun on our slopes and have a great time.
We are very glad that you had a great time regardless of the volume of people during Kings Cup.

At Afriski, we are proud of our Resort, and we hope that you and your family and friends will become our regular guests as we grow the resort into an African Adventure Fun Destination, better and better every year.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afriski Mountain Resort also viewed

Butha-Buthe, Butha-Buthe District
Maseru, Maseru District
 
Teyateyaneng, Berea District
Pitseng, Leribe District
 

Been to Afriski Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing