We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally ignored me!”
Review of Refugio Patagonico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Refugio Patagonico
Ranked #19 of 21 El Bolson B&B and Inns
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Totally ignored me!”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

i spent the night in this hostel in Ocyober 2011, which is low season, we were only 3 travellers. At night it was freezing but they refused to put on the heating. My bed did not even have sheets, just a bed cover, that was it.
The staff seem tho have their own little parties there, when night fell over El Bolson I sat in the communal areas with my laptop and I guess they must have thought that gave enough light to see something. Staff receives their friends here later oj the evening and do not even say a word to the travellers.
I would not recommend this place in low season if you are a sociable person.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eilanthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    11
    11
    12
See reviews for
Families
0
24
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I would've given this place a good review. Good location, off the beaten path a bit, nice kitchen and communal area. One of my travel mates woke up at 3am itching and had bites all over on her face and arms. Her eye even was swollen from a bit. On examination we found bed bugs in 3 of the 4 beds and found some crawling in our sleeping bags and clothing. There was no one to be found working and the communal areas locked. At 8 am the owner showed up and offered us a room change. Also let us do a load of laundry, however probably ineffective in killing bedbugs as water was not hot enough and there was no dryer.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savages33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Bolson hotels

Vienna
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The kitchen, common area and garden are very nice.
Unfortunately, the rooms are the worst about this hostel. The mattresses are very old and dirty, we had bed bugs in our dorm, the sheets had lots of blood spots. When I told the owner about the bed bugs he disinfected the room but didn't seem surprised at all. The staff wasn't friendly. I would definitely not recommend this place or stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pressbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Overall very dirty place with an luke-warm greeting, a clogged toilet that I had to plunge myself!, a single computer that was shut down at midnight (??), a very uncomfortable bunk; all followed by an early check out time and no breakfast offered besides a tiny sweetbread. Worst hostel experience and expensive, also. Two thumbs down.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeheelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meirionnydd : Cymru ~ Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I have to say that El Bolson is one of my favourite spots in Argentina and Refugio Patagonico was a perfect base for my friend and I to spend a few nights.
The hostel is close to the centre of town, about a 5-10 minute walk or an 8 pesos taxi ride from the bus station. The owners are easy to deal with and I easily made a booking via e-mail.
We decided to get a private room for some privacy and it was a clean, bright and spacious room with lots of secure storage for our things. We had our own private bathroom which was spotless and had a great shower.

There is a large communal room to relax in with a computer with internet connection and free wifi for guests. There is a large cooking area where you prepare your own meals - no food is provided here. There is also a huge garden where you can sit out and drink your wine late into the evening.
It's a great place to meet people, so if you're on a solo trip or just want to get to know new people it's a perfect spot. Although people did head into town for nights out there is little noise to be heard from the other guests.
There are also bikes available for guests and you can organise activities through the helpful and friendly staff.
The only thing it was marked down on was the building work which was going on while we were there because the work would start just after 9am, so if you like a lie-in it's not ideal. However, the work was near completion so there will be new bedrooms and facilities available soon.

*If you have a tent there are camping spaces available in the field next door and during summer there are quite a few people there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eirianwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
160 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I arrived at Refugio Patagonico having been directed here by Hostel Pehuenia which was full (more about that place later) and in retrospect I'm really glad it was.

R.P is a new but traditional building, well designed with nice wood fittings. The ground floor is open plan with a good kitchen and lots of seating areas. It's set in a spacious garden with benches and hammocks. It's located on the edge of town away from the busier centre. The only noise pollution you have to deal with is the squarking birds which call the garden their territory! (they're no problem unless you're a cat, then you'd be in trouble!).

The dorm was ok, 8 beds in a space that would perhaps have been better suited to 6. It had it's own bathroom (but no key to lock the door). The price was 45 pesos which did not include breakfast but did include free tea, coffee and mate throughout the day.

The staff/owners were friendly and helpful and I was made to feel most welcome. An intended stay of 3 or 4 days turned into a week.

I highly recommend this hostel for all the above reasons.

Incidentally. I went back to Hostel Pehuenia one day to visit a friend who was staying there and got the most hostile (no pun intended) reception imaginable. I knocked on the door and the girl working there got up from the tv and just stood staring at me through the window. She eventually opened the door a crack and I asked why she was looking at me stange but didn't get much of an answer. I then explained that I'd come to visit someone staying there and gave their name She tried to tell me they were not staying there even though I knew they were in the building at that time! Another traveller who overheard all this told my friend and she came to the door then asked the helpful staff member if I could come in and wait to which the answer was obviously no. She then went back to her telenovelas. That hostel would do well to get themselves a new 'encargada' with some manners and people skills. Anyhow, do yourself a favour and go straight to Refugio Patagonico.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Bolson hotels
0.5 mi away
Pehuenia Hospedaje
Pehuenia Hospedaje
#8 of 64 in El Bolson
69 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cabanas Las Lavandas
Cabanas Las Lavandas
#1 of 21 in El Bolson
33 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Mirador - Hostel El Bolson -
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
El Pueblito EcoHostel
El Pueblito EcoHostel
#5 of 64 in El Bolson
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Earthship Patagonia Eco Accommodation
1.7 mi away
Hostel Mandala
Hostel Mandala
#1 of 64 in El Bolson
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Patagonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Patagonico

Property: Refugio Patagonico
Address: Calle Islas Malvinas 2630, El Bolson R8430BJB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > El Bolson
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in El Bolson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Refugio Patagonico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing