We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pehuenia Hospedaje
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cumbres Hotel(El Bolson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chacra El Cielo(El Bolson)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tronador(San Carlos de Bariloche)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estancia Peuma Hue(San Carlos de Bariloche)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
37
15
13
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
15
13
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 70 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great hostel near to the Via Bariloche bus stop. We arrived on a busy public long weekend holiday. I was reccommended this hostel by Hostel Achalay (GREAT HOSTEL in Bariloche) and it lived up to our expectations. We arrived without a reservation, and we were horrified to find out that they only had one night free for us because the hostel was so lovely. They gave us a private cabin for dorm rate, and then in the morning we were delighted to hear that someone else cancelled. We moved to a dorm the next couple of nights, and even the dorm room had a double bed, a single bed and a bunk bed. They had lovely duvets, the rooms were warm, the breakfast was delicious and generous and the staff...soooo nice.

Must stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hostel is small and crowded, but has a great athmosphere. Located on the "lower" side of El Bolson, it is decently priced in this otherwise expensive town. Downside to this is the place is very noisy, due to traffic and abundant dogs (the family has three as well, which bark constantly 6-9 a.m.). Hostel has small dorms, 2-bed rooms and cabins, with good shower and WC availability, and hot water. Kitchen is small but cosy, and can get rather dirty. Hosts are very kind and helpful (and speak English), but the small space means you live close to the family, for the good and bad. Cooking is often done together with the host family, who regularly arranges asados (mixed barbeque) together with the guests.

Strangely, during our stay, one night an elderly English couple were thrown out on the street, despite having paid for the night, after an argument about number of booked nights. This happened in front of us and a number of other guests. I have no idea what exactly precipitated this, but in the end, the male hostel owner was shouting,calling the other man crazy, threatening to "break his head" if they didn´t leave. This was most unpleasant and I will not return for this reason.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife and I had nothing short of a magical experience at Pehuenia. While the postcard scenery, mountain vistas, and spectacular food of Bolson were incredible, it was the hospitality of Claudio and Valeria (the hostel owners) and their family that made our stay memorable. From the moment of our arrival until we left, they welcomed us like family, called taxis for us, recommended the best hikes/excursions, made incredible asados & pizza parilla, and genuinely went out of their way to ensure we experienced the culture and adventure of Patagonia. The space was open, clean, inviting. The cabanas in the back provided an oasis: close enough to be apart of the community while distant enough to retreat into our own cozy space. The location is mere blocks from the artisan market, mercados, hiking, everything. This is the only place I would stay in the Bolson valley!

Room Tip: The cabanas rock...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CactusEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

So happy that we chose this place in El Bolson. Valeria and Claudio are super friendly and helpful. One night Claudio arranged a Parilla for the guests in the backyard for a bargain price - great. We stayed in one of the Cabanas in the backyard - the huts are very well done with massive wood and stone. They are equiped with a small kitchen incl. fridge and really worth the money (180 P$). Breakfast is simple but ok. There's a good kitchen available for everybody. In the house there are also dorms for P$ 60 that we didn't like so much. However already for the friendly atmosphere it's definitely worth a stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This hostel was wonderful. We actually moved to this hostel because we'd really disliked El Pueblito and it's distance from anything! La Pehuenia is right where you want to be, close to a supermarket, the main semi-circle (it's not a square!) and also a great ice cream parlour called Saurios- try it; we went 3 times! The hostel is a bit of everything - there are 4 rooms upstairs including small dorms, 3 cabañas out the back as well as space for a couple of tents which made for a great atmosphere with families outsiding cooking over a wood fire!

The owner was so lovely - she never stopped genuinely smiling despite all our questions about everything! The hostel part was full on the first night we begged to stay so she kindly let us share a cabaña with some other cheap tourists! The cabaña was lovely, complete with ensuite, kettle, microwave and fridge. Towels were also provided which is a luxury in a hostel, though there was no soap in the bathrooms which was really my only qualm.

On the second night we had a private not ensuite room which would also have been suitable for a family with a double bed and a set of bunk beds. It was very purple but I liked it and it was comfortable. The bath was also purple!

Breakfast was great - fresh coffee and baskets of assorted pastries - amazing! We heated our pastries in the microwave and they were delicious!

We also rented excellent mountain bikes from the hostel at the rate of $70 per day which was cheaper than the one recommended at tourist information that we price checked! The owner pointed out the best route on the map and her husband checked the tyres and provided us with a pump for emergencies - so helpful! 

Finally we booked a great horseriding trip through the hostel as well - we paid when we got there so the hostel received no commission, unlike an agency providing you with a voucher. 

I would have absolutely no qualms about returning to this wonderful hostel and the lovely family who run it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BumbleCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews