We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sanctuary of hospitality!”
Review of Watercrest Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watercrest Gardens
Ranked #4 of 38 Eldoret B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A sanctuary of hospitality!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just spent a week staying at the Watercrest Gardens guest house. It has been the perfect place to stay whilst we visited Eldoret for the first time. Leah and Fred were outstanding with their hospitality, helpful, friendly, couldn't do enough for us. We enjoyed hot showers, clean and very comfortable beds, and very clean guest house. Breakfasts were great, scrambled eggs on toast, bacon and fresh fruit. We enjoyed several evening meals at the guest house which was a fantastic service after a long day on the road visiting the rural areas. They did packed lunches for us, afternoon tea, and buffet lunch for us and some guests of ours too! We will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Eldoret, it is simply the best place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was great, very peaceful, if you can get a room that gets the sun that would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were staying in Nairobi for the summer of 2012 and had to make a quick trip to Kitale in July to conclude a business deal. We couldn’t fly into Kitale so picked Eldoret as being close. We checked with TripAdvisor and saw the WaterCrest site as the most appealing and workable, based on only two TA reviews. We are middle class Americans from California; I was 50 and my dad was 75. We made reservations and Felix agreed to have us picked up at the airport and promised to try to find us a driver to Kitale the next day. We arrived at Eldoret at about 10:30 pm on a Friday and were picked up shortly thereafter by Felix and our proposed driver for tomorrow; so we could get familiar. It was dark and late and we had no idea where the WaterCrest was so were a little concerned when we went totally out of sight of any town lights, or even street lights. We were pleasantly surprised when we pulled into a gated, walled garden surrounding a series of brightly colored buildings, all on the ground floor. We entered the main building housing the restaurant and were asked what we wanted for dinner. (There were other diners who had finished but were watching the late news on the TV, probably a forty-inch. We knew it would be late when we arrived so we didn’t expect to eat until morning. WaterCrest assumed, however, that we would be needing something to eat and was prepared to cook to order. We chose chicken and rice with bread and Cokes and waited for them to cook from scratch. Meal was good, served on impeccable white tablecloth with cloth napkins. We were assigned the “family” building, a separate building behind the main building. It had two bedrooms, one with two twin beds, the other with a big double. The bedrooms were separated by a hall with toilet/shower room, small kitchen room and a larger sitting room. The beds were comfortable, with spotless, crisp oversheet and warmer blanket and provided a good night’s sleep. Not to typical American chain motels newness, but the basics – flushable toilets with seats, hot and cold shower that worked, something you can’t always count on in the US. The staff was oriented to any and everything we needed. In the morning, our driver showed up on time, took us to and around Kitale on Saturday and we put him up at the Mid-Africa hotel in Kitale the next night. Our business finished, he drove us to the Eldoret airport on Sunday. We couldn’t have been more pleased with the place and the people at the WaterCrest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Arippleeffect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed in Eldoret for one night on business, and the staff at Watercrest was extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean, and I had no mosquito trouble (though there were no nets) -- no complaints! I'd love to return to visit the lovely owners.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were travling from Kampala and Watercrest was a good place to stop. We had crossed the border a few hours earlier and were very tired. The folks at the guesthouse are very good......words cannot express how good they are at what they do. The room we stayed it needs a mirror in the bathroom but other that this everything was great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffDeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Eldoret town is noisy and chaotic. I prefer to stay at this tranquil guesthouse in the suburbs, just south of town. Comfortable and cozy. There's nice gardens, they're so hospitable, very nice rooms, and they don't blare the TV all night. Mama Mia, Eldoret's only serious dining option, is also nearby. I can't say enough how hospitable these folks are. Last time I was there I woke up to a flat tire, but they changed it for me themselves while I was at breakfast! Now if this place only had a gym....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

There seems little choice in Eldoret, and you are likely to be a bit disappointed on first arriving at Watercrest Gardens, but don't panic! The rooms are old-fashioned by western business standards, but most are roomy and all are clean, with very comfortable beds. The hotel stands in a pretty walled garden and is secure. However, what REALLY sets this place apart is the attitude of the staff and owners. They are unfailingly lovely, with nothing being too much trouble. Evening meals are simple but delicious and you'll be well looked after by the friendly, attentive chef. A joy!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank John-frae-Banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was traveling with a group of five and we stayed there for two nights while on business in the Eldoret area. We had trouble finding the place and so Felix, one of the staff, actually came out to town to guide us to Watercrest Gardens! Even got to meet the owners--had a great conversation with them about the work for children that they're in Kenya. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast was delicious. Because it is located a couple of minutes outside of Eldoret, there was no city noise. This will be my go-to place whenever I'm traveling through Eldoret!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eldoret hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Winstar
Hotel Winstar
#4 of 8 in Eldoret
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boma Inn Eldoret
Boma Inn Eldoret
#1 of 8 in Eldoret
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#5 of 8 in Eldoret
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Poa Place Resort
Poa Place Resort
#2 of 8 in Eldoret
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sirikwa Hotel
Sirikwa Hotel
#10 of 38 in Eldoret
29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Comfy - Eldoret
Hotel Comfy - Eldoret
#3 of 38 in Eldoret
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watercrest Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watercrest Gardens

Property: Watercrest Gardens
Address: Elgon View, Eldoret, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Eldoret
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Eldoret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Watercrest Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing