We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little getaway near the city”
Review of Watercrest Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watercrest Gardens
Ranked #2 of 49 Eldoret B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was traveling with a group of five and we stayed there for two nights while on business in the Eldoret area. We had trouble finding the place and so Felix, one of the staff, actually came out to town to guide us to Watercrest Gardens! Even got to meet the owners--had a great conversation with them about the work for children that they're in Kenya. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast was delicious. Because it is located a couple of minutes outside of Eldoret, there was no city noise. This will be my go-to place whenever I'm traveling through Eldoret!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a great place to recoup after a very active day of ministry; my mission team of 5 stayed at the Watercrest in August 11th - 19th, 2012. Grace, Felix and Jonah are a superb team and excellent hosts. Grace is the Housekeeper, Felix is the House Manager and Jonah is the Chef. Each one performs their job with excellence, integrity and innovation. After long days of ministry, i.e.: preaching, visiting churches, orphanages, schools and traveling through rough terrains, it was extremely nice to come back to the Watercrest at night to hot delicious buffet meals, safe, clean and secure rooms. The rooms were large with plenty of storage space. Beds were extremely comfortable, mattresses are memory form. There are bathrooms in each room with HOT showers. The Watercrest are centrally located close to town, but far away from the hustle and bustle of town. They're located within a middle to high end residential area. Privacy fencing surrounds the property grounds, with beautiful garden settings and sitting areas to relax outdoors.

One thing I would like to see improved at the Watercrest, are the number of mosquitos and flying insects I had to fight with; installing screened windows and doors will help cut down on this issue. Other than that, I was completely satisfied with my accommodations and I am definitely planning to stay there again when I return to Eldoret.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The owner, Felix was super efficient and very nice guy.

We are long term (30+ years) British nationality East Africa residents and had travelled by car from Nairobi that day. Felix called us at least 3 times to confirm our booking and see how we were progressing on our journey. He met us in town to shepherd us to the Guest House which is a little distance from Eldoret town centre. Thank you Felix!

The garden is secure behind a fence and is large and nicely kept so parking our 4 wheel drive there was fine. The bungalow is brightly painted on the outside with themed orange and citrus lime paintwork throughout. As older people we found garish but recognised the fun of it from our psychedelic outfits in the 1970s.

The first step inside is into the dining room (no guest lounge available). We were given 'Kiwafu' room which has a double and a single bed - it was spacious accommodation with a nice window view. We seemed to be the only guests. The bedsheets were clean, white and crisp and the bed was comfortable. The room had a light coloured, clean tiled floor.

We were made welcome with a small bottle of mineral water each brought to our room. Nice touch. Dinner was available on demand but the menu is local and not appealing to our ears. Sodas were available but beer was not and would have entailed a 30 min wait (I guess while they fetched it) so we settled for sodas in our room.

The bathroom was large, fully tiled and clean but suffered from the (almost inevitable) poor grouting which over time looks grimey even when it isn't. Loo flushed and water ran. There was an instant hot water power shower installed so Well Done for that!

There were no mosquito nets (or spray) provided so our sleep was interrupted by the buzzing of the mozzies so providing nets would be a firm recommendation to Felix to reassure international visitors of a good night's sleep and, even though unlikely to contract malaria in Eldoret, it's something international visitors will worry about.

There was a smart new looking flat screen satellite TV in the bedroom - again nice touch and given that we were tired and that there were no other guests, this was our welcome entertainment. The TV channels are controlled centrally so be aware of having really no immediate choice there. Felix would have happily switched to from Al Jazeera to BBC for us though but it's a hassle for guests to embrace. The Guest House is an overnight stay though really, right, so this shouldn't put anyone off staying there-talk to each other instead :-)

Breakfast was tea (African masala tea-ask for black tea with separate milk otherwise), a choice of juice, and a banana, toast with Blue Band, sausage and eggs supplied, done to your liking. This was served on a spotlessly white table cloth and with hospitable grace so Well Done again...

To summarise: good place to stay. Maybe don't go there thinking this is a cheaper high end hotel as in reality it is a very small Kenyan privately run establishment. Just what some folks will be looking for. In other words, it's a great local B&B which us spoilt old folks (aged in our 60s) probably won't stay at again. It's a nice place but we are just used to a different type of accommodation.

If we had to stay there again, we (somewhat reluctantly) would....does that make sense :-)

Room Tip: There is a self contained cottage for families but again don't expect great shakes...Kiwafu Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank number1acorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This place is great, and the people here make it even better.

We called to see if a room was available after a seriously lackluster experience at another Eldoret-area establishment; Felix remembered me by voice from a previous stay and seemed genuinely happy to be able to arrange a room for us.
When we arrived, there were hugs and the sorts of greetings one expects from friends.

Also, the beds and sheets are AMAZING.
Staying is easy; the location is a bit out of town and very quiet.
Also, the chef is quite good. The first time we stayed he went so far as to sit and chat with us in order to design a three course meal perfectly catered to our tastes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank freddyfish_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Our Group of 13 stayed here in June 2011 while on a mission trip. The service was wonderful, food was delicious. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and very quiet. 24 guard service. Most rooms have en suite bathrooms. 4 bedrooms in the main house and 2 bedrooms in the rear house. Staff is professional yet felt like family! Close to Moi Teaching hospital, Faith Testimony School, High Altitude Training Center. Driver can be hired from here. Highly recommend staying here when in Eldoret. My friend tells me the rooms are now equipped with WiFi and Flat Screen TV's
For more information please call Tel: 0704455516; 0202611626 or email watercrestgardens@gmail.com

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank 5girlshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ZonnetjeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eldoret hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Winstar
Hotel Winstar
#6 of 9 in Eldoret
13 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#4 of 9 in Eldoret
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boma Inn Eldoret
Boma Inn Eldoret
#1 of 9 in Eldoret
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sirikwa Hotel
Sirikwa Hotel
#3 of 9 in Eldoret
36 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poa Place Resort
Poa Place Resort
#2 of 9 in Eldoret
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Samich Resort
Samich Resort
#1 of 49 in Eldoret
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watercrest Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watercrest Gardens

Address: Elgon View, Eldoret, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Eldoret
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Eldoret
Price Range: $33 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Watercrest Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing