We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
8
16
15
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
16
15
14
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 58 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful old style modern Hotel situated smack of the charging town Of Kalix. Big, brightly lighted Hotel with equally alluring restaurant. Beautiful sun drenched terrace. Spacious clean comfy room with view Of downtown Kalix. Friendly And informative staff!

Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is situated in the middle of the town and therefore close to most of what you might be interested in as a tourist. However, be prepared that the hotel is right now being remodeled in several ways. If you are just looking for a place to spend the night, eat and sleep - you will be OK here, but hold off planning to use this a the base camp for visiting Swedish Lapland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

First stayed at the Valhalla about Feb this year. Things were messy and smelly. But now we have a first calss restaurant, and very popular with locals. Serves excellent meals at night, breakfast is quite varied/smorgasboard. Rooms spacious, and would recomend the business rooms, and you get more for not much more in cost. Very centrally loacted, in the centrum, and easy walk tot he bus station. Fishing is about 450 meters away. Ditto for supermarkets. Chemists.

Staff are excellent, but do make sure you know about then the restaurant is oging to be. booked out, and just book for sure. We got trounced by the Swedish National Holiday, which saw the restaurant fully booked for several hours, and then the night club cut in.

Great night, but could have been hungry! But there are a lot of restaraunts within quick walk..in fact Hospital is also within quick walk!

Room Tip: business rooms are the go
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

With a trip planned to visit Ikea in Haparanda we used our sat nav to find a hotel nearby. We were not expecting too much and when we arrived there appeared to be a buffet event in full swing.

We were pleasantly surprised with a room upgrade and also a meal in the bistro which was separate from the packed buffet area with a great menu, which we have come to expect from Scandivavian hotels and restaurants.

We had a huge suite in business class but the lift shaft was nearby which didn't affect us but may affect a light sleeper.

Great service and a wonderful breakfast. Will save the details in the sat nav for next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HippyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I don't wish to sully the reputation of any decent hotel.
I'm sure maintaining the hotel, has taken some effort.
The staff I encountered was nice.
However, the room suffers nearly constant loud noise. Whether it be the plumbing pipes, the neighbors, or the elevator shaft- it was as noisy as a zoo.
The staircase floors need bleach or disinfectant wash.
The room carpet & furniture are dated & smell stale.
The window coverings are fine- as is the room lighting.
The hotel label gratis chocolates- are a nice touch.
If you're a deep sleeper; it has a convenient location downtown.
There is an interesting bar in the lobby; if you feel thirsty.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews