We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel & Residence Les Medes
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Idyllic and convenient”
Reviewed September 21, 2010

An easy walk from the ferry, close to the main square but quiet and private. Self contained unit big and comfortable, lot of storage. bathroom big and modern. Easy access to shopping and beaches. We did not use the breakfast area but it appeared to be excellent with an adjacent outdoor lounge area next to a pleasant pool.

Housekeeping staff very amenable but most of front office staff somewhat brusque. Free WiFi but it had to be renewed every 24 hours precisely and as we were staying for 6 nights this was a major inconvenience especially when they insisted on usually turning off the system when I was in the middle of urgent work emails! The office refused to give me more than 1 days access at a time unlike every other place at which we have stayed.

Interesting security system in unit. Safe was provided but not attached to anything!! I have a photo of me walking off with it

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    263
    63
    21
    13
See reviews for
163
323
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed 2 nights aux Medes, a very well located hotel, in the heart of Porquerolles. Our room had a kitchenette (which is good when you have small children) and was simple, but agreable. We were missing a little a balcony, but the Hotel has a very nice garden with a small waterfall. In September the garden was not crowded so it was really nice. Same for this beautiful island, so nice to go after the holiday period to avoid the crowd.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfol74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Very good location close to ferry, village shops and restaurants. Rooms well configured with a small kitchenette. A bit surly at reception on arrival but the place grew on us. It is good value as long as you recognise it is run on low overheads - there are relatively few staff. Breakfast efficient and worth having though you could have this cheaply in a number of restaurants. Did not try half board option and think this was a good decision because there are a very wide range of places to eat at different price levels. Most of these are on the main square whereas Les Medes restaurant is up a side street. The village is very busy with day trippers during the day but pleasantly quiet from 6pm onwards.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I recently stayed at Les Medes in Porquerolles island for a few days of vacations with my partner and baby.

The hotel is centrally located, about 500 meters from the pier (the hotel can provide a shuttle service for your luggages).
As we were there in off-peak period, the atmosphere was very calm (and price acceptable...). Staff was efficient and friendly.

The room was nicely decorated and furnished (I would say nicer than the one you will find on their website). It was large enough to fit in the baby cot (provided by the hotel for free).
The bathroom was very clean, with a nice bathtub.
There was a very convenient kitchenette inside the room, with was very convenient (by the way, don't forget to bring your own food from the continent, as the options on the island are as poor as the price is high;-).

I would definitively return to Les Medes if I had to go back to Porquerolles.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Location was great in the middle of everything. Breakfast was great and there were many things to choose from comparing other breakfasts which we have had during our trip. Room was clean, big enough for two, there was a small kitchenette in case some would like to make their own breakfast, lunch etc.

The island is just wonderful. June was good month to visite island as there were not yet so many people wondering around.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiNaFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Have just returned from a wonderful week on the beautiful island of Porquerolles. Definitely wouldn't want to visit the island in July or August as by all accounts it is very busy.

The hotel suited our needs extremely well. We did not want to have to eat at the same place every evening and most of the hotels on the island tie you into half board during high season. At Les Medes we opted for a bedroom with small kitchenette so that we could make our own breakfast. That way we were also able to try out the many different restaurants in the village.
The room was basic but had everything we needed.

We chose to stay on the basis of room only, with no meals and cleaning only once during the week, but if you choose to stay as a hotel guest you get daily cleaning and breakfast.

Free wi-fi access plus a computer in the entrance hall which was readily available.

Friendly staff and lovely atmosphere in a quiet location in the village. Would definitely go again.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — The odd mosquito
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HeartofEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

Excellent hotel in very good position close to the harbour, very comfortable with excellent breakfasts. Our room had a kitchen and fridge and all the equipment needed for self catering. At the back of the hotel was a terrace with sun beds and a lovely waterfall, ideal for relaxation. Staff very friendly and helpful, would definately go back and can thoroughly recommend.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank lovfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porquerolles Island
0.1 mi away
L'Oustaou de la Mar
L'Oustaou de la Mar
#4 of 6 in Porquerolles Island
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge des Glycines
L'Auberge des Glycines
#5 of 6 in Porquerolles Island
149 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Domaine de la Mer
Le Domaine de la Mer
#13 of 32 in Hyeres
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Pinede
2.9 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Les Criques
4.1 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Riviera Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Residence Les Medes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Residence Les Medes

Property: Hotel & Residence Les Medes
Address: 2 rue de la Douane, 83400, Porquerolles Island, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Iles d'Hyeres > Porquerolles Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porquerolles Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Residence Les Medes 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel & Residence Les Medes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing