We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel & Residence Les Medes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

In this fantastic island there are few places to stay.
This one is a nice, central hotel. I would say it is a good hotel.
It is pricey (as the other hotels).
However it has nice rooms, and good and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franchinii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Residence Les Medes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 615 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Les Medes is a practical, comfortable hotel located right off of the main square on Ile de Porquerolles and just a short walk to the nearest beach. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit dated but the bed was comfortable and I was pleasantly surprised that our room had a private patio. The hotel also offers a breakfast buffet was 14 Euro which we only ate once since it wasn't that good. There is also a really nice outdoor area with shaded tables, a ping pong table and a lovely waterfall with lounge chairs. The service was pleasant enough but it should be noted that there is no one at the front desk between 9pm and 8am. Also, the Wifi was out during our entire stay.The hotel was a bit pricey for what you get but it was well worth it to stay in such an amazing location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor with a private patio
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bergen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

No accommodation on Porquerolles seems cheap, but this hotel probably offers better value for money than most. We stayed on the "Formula Hotel" (bed & breakfast) basis, though our room also had a kitchenette with a microwave, two rings, a fridge and (albeit baffling) dishwasher and full (4 settings for a room sleeping 2) complement of cutlery, crockery & kitchenware, which meant we did not need to eat out in the evening. There was a generous choice of delicious food for breakfast, which set us up for a day exploring this beautiful island.

Our room was ready when we got off the boat at 9:30 but we were probably just very lucky (this was in May). However the hotel will also store your luggage before check-in/after check-out and offer the use of a shower which allows you to make the most of your first and last days on the island.

Porquerolles is a very special place and even though it was expensive to spend the night there, it was worth it to experience the calmer atmosphere on the island once the daytrippers had left.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dicknharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed here in January for a little week-end trip. We were both exahusted from work and needed total peace and quiet and we found it. There was almost no one staying in the hotel and they opened the reception just for us so this is probably not indicative of whatever happens in the summer. That said, I would highly reccommend it for a winter break. The room was comfy and impeccably clean with view of a little waterfall. There was a small but very clean bathroom and a kitchennette complete with pots/pans of all shapes and sizes and anything else you might need to cook. The hotel is right in the center of the village so very conveniently located. You can rent bikes just down the street and explore the island all day long. The one staff member we saw was very nice and helpful and he suggested we try the restaurant connected to the hotel. We had fish both nights and thought it was fantastic, well-cooked, well-presented, very fresh of course. We also loved the entrees and the wine. They really went out of their way to presnt the food nicely and to decorate the restaurant in a pretty way, I liked that. Would definitely go back to Medes in better weather.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllyMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Finally after not so pleasant experience with a couple of hotels on the island I found a place, where I'm really looking forward to return to. True, it's not quite cheap (nothing is on Porquerolles), but the rooms are of the same price as the ones offered by other hotels, and in terms of quality they completely outdo their rivals. The other hotels tend to like to use the "Provencal style" expression while describing their rooms. In normal language that would mean - old, shabby, offering very basic comfort. Hotel des Medes on the other hand offer room quite comfortable, spacious, with big and modern bathroom. Small kitchenette and a refrigirartor gives you an ability not to use the restaurants all the time (there is a small shop on the central square where you can buy the food). Wi-Fi connection is very reliable and free, the breakfast in the garden by the waterfall is extremely pleasant to have in good weather. They also have an automatic laundry right by the hotel. I spent 4 night in Hotel des Medes and I definetely will come here again.
Small tip. As this place gains in popularity think to make a reservation well in advance. By March all the summer monthes are normally completely booked out.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darth_Feanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

An easy walk from the ferry, close to the main square but quiet and private. Self contained unit big and comfortable, lot of storage. bathroom big and modern. Easy access to shopping and beaches. We did not use the breakfast area but it appeared to be excellent with an adjacent outdoor lounge area next to a pleasant pool.

Housekeeping staff very amenable but most of front office staff somewhat brusque. Free WiFi but it had to be renewed every 24 hours precisely and as we were staying for 6 nights this was a major inconvenience especially when they insisted on usually turning off the system when I was in the middle of urgent work emails! The office refused to give me more than 1 days access at a time unlike every other place at which we have stayed.

Interesting security system in unit. Safe was provided but not attached to anything!! I have a photo of me walking off with it

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed 2 nights aux Medes, a very well located hotel, in the heart of Porquerolles. Our room had a kitchenette (which is good when you have small children) and was simple, but agreable. We were missing a little a balcony, but the Hotel has a very nice garden with a small waterfall. In September the garden was not crowded so it was really nice. Same for this beautiful island, so nice to go after the holiday period to avoid the crowd.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfol74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porquerolles Island
0.1 mi away
L'Oustaou de la Mar
L'Oustaou de la Mar
#4 of 6 in Porquerolles Island
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Sainte-Anne
Villa Sainte-Anne
#2 of 6 in Porquerolles Island
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge des Glycines
L'Auberge des Glycines
#5 of 6 in Porquerolles Island
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Le Domaine de la Mer
Le Domaine de la Mer
#13 of 32 in Hyeres
184 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Pinede
4.1 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Riviera Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Residence Les Medes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Residence Les Medes

Address: 2 rue de la Douane, 83400, Porquerolles Island, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Iles d'Hyeres > Porquerolles Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porquerolles Island
Price Range: $131 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Residence Les Medes 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Residence Les Medes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing