We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well recommended for a trip to venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murano
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Well recommended for a trip to venice”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights prior to a cruise. The hotel kindly provide a boat transfer from Marco polo airport, this starts the holiday off with style in a classy boat, you do need to arrange this with the Hotel. The hotel is situated just off the waterfront on Murano and is clean and modern. The staff without exception are helpful and professional. We had no problem booking the hotel's shuttle boat into venice. The hotel were also informative in arranging a restaurant on both nights. I do not believe you would be able to get a view of the canal outside. We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comme.

Room Tip: Prearrange the airport transfer with the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abrahamwinkleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your support and are so pleased to hear that you enjoy visiting our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    462
    84
    27
    19
See reviews for
272
1,276
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Give this hotel a ten out of ten. Location wise great as you are in Venice yet away from all the noise and crowds. This hotel is situated on the island of murano and is built over an old glass factory. Very tastefully done and we got a room on the third floor. It was very cosy and we loved it. Interior done in dark brown wood and off white.
If you need to get there all you need to do is from the train station take the line 3 ferry and it takes you right to the hotel doorstep. The jetty pier is outside the hotel. The hotel offers a free water taxi service to venice daily so make sure you book that in advance to ensure you get a space. In terms of breakfast, excellent and a wide variety. Food is very appealing as displayed excellently. Apart from the normal stuff of pastries, eggs, cold cuts, cheese, what I loved was that they had a lovely variety of desserts such as custard, panacotta etc.
If I were to ever visit venice again would certainly opt for this hotel. Also, if you need to visit one of the murano glass factories you have this at the walking distance of 5 minutes.

Room Tip: take a room on the last floor as you have have windows on the ceiling....to give you an idea it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are really proud that we were able to make your stay in our hotel pleasant.
Your words encourage us to make the stay of our guests memorable.
Thank you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the LaGare Hotel for four nights at the beginning of June. I would support most of what other reviewers have said about the hotel except that we found that the service was good.
Murano was especially attractive in early morning and late afternoon when it was very quiet and peaceful.

One drawback for us was that there was a huge conference going on in the hotel and it was not possible to eat in for the first two nights. Breakfast was also very busy although the dining room emptied as if by magic at 8.29am. I do not know if this happens regularly but if the rain had ben heavy it would have been a problem. We found places to eat nearby but at first it was rather disconcerting to see that places we had seen open during the day were closed by seven o'clock.

We ate one night in the hotel and found both the food and the service excellent. It was reasonably priced.

The splendid hotel motor boat took us to St Mark's Square very rapidly and enjoyably. It is essential to book it beforehand. My only problem with this service was that there were fixed times when it came and went. For example one day we left at ten am and were not to be collected until seven thirty that evening. This was far too long walking around and we, and most of the other people who had made the morning journey with us, made our own way home on the water bus.

I had one serious problem with the hotel. The bathroom of our executive room had a shower in the bath with quite a narrow, high entrance. Although there was a rough standing place under the shower head the area where you get in and out had none. It was very slippery especially when wet. There were no grab rails anywhere in the bath. I put down towels in the bath to assist with getting in and out and advise others to do the same. I fear that it is only a matter of time before there is a nasty accident. This is one situation where style should not take precedence over safety.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mothersday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
How nice of you for taking time to write such a review of our hotel. It is a real pleasure to know your satisfaction about your staying.We are doing our best to improve all our services applying your advice.
We hope to have the pleasure of making a future stay at our hotel as equally fulfilling and thank you once again for sharing your experience with us all!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We booked for our only night in Venice around our Anniversary and overall we really liked the place. Unfortunately there were a few issues around the service we received. Firstly we arrived at around midday which turned out to be too early to check-in however after being dropped at the hotel by the fantastic transfer service we had to wait for around twenty minutes without being so much as acknowledged as two set of other guests asked question after question relating to their stay. Later on we had to stay in the hotel for dinner during a massive thunder storm where it was too wet to find a local alternative. We were quickly seated and our order was taken but perhaps because we just ordered a first course the service for the evening ended there. The guests that arrived subsequently and sat a couple of tables down seemed to be regulars or friends with some of the staff and they got no shortage of attention including the maitr'd and chef and got their primi course before we did despite ordering well before. We were left later awaiiting an ordered espresso for twenty minutes and decided to ask for the bill, another ten minutes passed and the bill only showed sign of coming when we got up to leave. The hotel itself is stunning, the breakfast was delicious the next day but the staff could've done just a little more to make our stay exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecockboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us provide you a memorable experience.We are doing our best to apply your suggestions and improve all our services.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the LaGare Hotel Venezia.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This jewel shines on the rough cobble stones of Venice. The accommodations are excellent and the staff superb. We stayed 2 nights and got the best sleep of all the hotels we stayed at on our trip. Breakfast was phenomenal with many assortments of meats, cheeses, and croissants. The rooms were elegant and competitive with high end hotels in the states, yet the lobby and outer façade fit neatly with the old world look of the rest of the island. we would definitely stay here again should we ever get the chance to return to Venice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwalker324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are really proud that we were able to make your stay in our hotel pleasant.
Your words encourage us to make the stay of our guests memorable.
Thank you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is newly built inside the old walls of former glass factory. Everything is stylishly decorated with hi-end fittings and designer objects. Lighting is worth a special mention: glass works with lamps and lights are amazing.

Unfortunately I spent at this hotel 1 night only in May 2014. Wish it was more time at Murano. Surprisingly it was really easy to get to the hotel from Piazzale Roma (where we left our car and got vaporetto). The travel to Murano Island is a great attraction itself.

Room was very nice with comfort bed, art wall behind the bed and effective air condition. Modern bath with walk in shower. One minor issue: after the shower water flooded the floor and didn’t drain. I called for maintenance and they fixed the issue in 10 minutes. Breakfast the next morning was luxurious with quality products. The hotel is definitely worth staying.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Usenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in our hotel.It is a pleasure to read your comments about our hotel.We are delighted that you liked the rooms, location and service
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this hotel in May 2014. We have been to Venice several times before but have never visited Murano before. I decided to get away from the bustle of Venice and took a leap of faith in booking this hotel with BA - plus got a very good deal.
I contacted the hotel a couple of days before our arrival to arrange transport in their "limousine boat". They got back to me within an hour with confirmation. As it happened our flight arrived early and we did not fancy waiting the 75 minutes for our reserved trip so we treated ourselves and went by water taxi to St Mark's square then along the Grand Canal to the Rialto bridge before cutting through the small side canals to Murano. The trip took about an hour and we paid the fare ourselves and it was worth every penny (€200). The weather was perfect and the journey itself is a MUST. Speeding across the lagoon to Venice in your own private water taxi / speedboat is a truly unique experience!!
For those who have not been to Venice before the journey from the airport to Venice is by boat from the airport; either Vaporetto (public transport) or private water taxi. I believe it might also be possible to go to the railway station and then take a Vaporetto along the Grand Canal but I have not done that as it seems an extremely strange route. As you exit the airport just follow the signs for "Water Taxi", it is about a 5 minute walk. Once there you have the choice of public transport or private water taxi. I believe it is possible to pay on the Vaporetto if you did not buy a ticket (I think there is a €1 surcharge?). If you decide to take the private water taxi then there is a large booth with a "conductor" who sorts the trip for you. At the time of travelling he quoted me €60 to Murano and €100 to a Venice hotel.
Anyway despite our circuitous, but thoroughly enjoyable and memorable, journey we still arrived at the hotel before our scheduled pick up time from the airport. First impressions were very good. A modern and well-appointed hotel with friendly staff and a nice "ambience". On their advice I made the shuttle bookings for the next couple of days as well as for our return to the airport - no problems at all and I got all my first choices. The shuttle takes a maximum of 10 and runs to a set schedule.
My only minor gripes with the hotel were that there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms and when I asked for an iron I was told they were not available on fire safety grounds. Bearing in mind that the reason all the glass foundries are on Murano is because they often caught fire and decimated Venice so were moved to Murano for the safety of Venice so I thought it all a bit strange. I just bought a travel iron for €15 and used that as I had not bothered to iron anything and had just packed everything as was. We had a similar problem on one of our other visits but similarly did not have this problem on the other two. Might be a local law??!
The hotel is a very recent build and is constructed within the walls of an old glass works. There are no real views from the rooms but that is not an issue at all. We had upgraded to an executive room which is a split level affair with the bedroom upstairs. The room was light and airy and in excellent condition overall. There was a pair of roof/dormer windows with electric blinds that we opened at night and could relax in bed with a view of the stars. The walk-in shower with rainwater shower head was a dream! Breakfast was the usual buffet arrangement with a good choice of everything including cappuccino on request. There is a dining room as well as a pleasant courtyard with outdoor and undercover seating (up-market tent). There is also a small but adequate bar area. We did not eat in the restaurant although I did check the menu which was mainly fish - not excessively expensive with a main course for about €20-25.
The main problem with Murano is that there is nowhere to eat after about 4pm except for the hotel restaurant that opens at 7.30pm. On Friday and Saturday evenings some of the restaurants open again at 7pm. On the Friday evening the hotel recommended Ai Piantaleoni which is about 50m from the hotel and sits right on the canal. Apparently the chef/owner is also the chef in the hotel. They booked us a table that was perfect, quality concierge service, and the evening was very enjoyable. I had a fillet steak and my wife had a fish dish; with water, wine, dessert and coffee the bill was about €80. Good service, good food, good location and very convenient.
We used the hotel shuttle into San Marco and shared it with 6 other people for the 20 minute trip. In the evening we took the Vaporetto from Fondamente Nove back to Murano. It takes about 20 minutes and is really easy to use. We bought tickets as we needed them and paid €7 for each trip to or from Murano. There were tickets machines and a ticket booth at the stop so there were no problems.
On our last evening we decided to eat just before we got on the Vaporetto and as luck would have it there were two restaurants within 50m of the stop, with one on either side. We chose the one on the left as you come OFF the boat and it was excellent. We both had pizzas, the thin crust variety, and they were both truly delicious - a very unexpected delight.
We wanted to visit a glass foundry and asked at reception for their recommendation. The concierge service worked again and he arranged a private tour for us. We went to the foundry, mentioned the hotel and gave our name. We were met and escorted through the foundry on a tour for just the two of us, bypassing the crowds and having one-on-one time with the foundry expert. We also got an exclusive escorted look at their premium pieces in the upstairs gallery. Excellent experience made truly special by the concierge at the hotel.
The return trip to the airport on the hotel shuttle went without mishap and we shared the boat with 4 other people for the 15 minute trip.
The leap of faith in staying on Murano paid off. I had anticipated problems especially with transport but in the end it was all fine. In fact the boat trip at the start and end of each day was really quite special and made the holiday even more memorable. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel on Murano.
I must thank Luisa and Marco for being particularly helpful and arranging for flowers, water taxis, table reservations and especially the foundry tour.

Room Tip: Executives rooms are excellent. None of the rooms have a view with the exception of the 3 suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
How nice of you for taking time to write such a review of our hotel. It is a real pleasure to know your satisfaction about your staying.
We hope to have the pleasure of making a future stay at our hotel as equally fulfilling and thank you once again for sharing your experience with us all!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murano
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Riva Longa 49, 30141 Murano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Murano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery By Sofitel Murano, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing