We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Lagare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murano
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
256 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Lovely Lagare”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We spent four nights here on a very good deal. The hotel is beautifully stylish with lovely furniture and amazing exhibitions of glass. Our room was comfortable with muted and natural furnishings. Lovely areas around the hotel to sit or to have a drink and look at some of the books about the island and glass blowing. No great views, but quite light and open. Large king size bed with good pillows. Bathroom not huge but it had a bath and shower with toiletries provided. There were also slippers (but not robes unfortunately). Also there are no tea/coffee making facilities, despite being mentioned in UK website so if you need your cuppa bring your kettle.

Staff were welcoming, pleasant and helpful and will go out of their way to serve you. Breakfast was very good and presented as a 'work of art'. Lovely pastries and prosecco, readily replenished - why eat the boring toast or streaky bacon? We did not eat dinner in the restaurant as it seemed a little expensive for the limited choice of menu. Murano is a lovely island to wander about and is busy during daytime but it does close down at night. On a Sunday evening it was even quieter but we found a restaurant - Osteria Duomo which does great pizzas and other meals and is frequented by locals. For drinks and snacks there is a bar just along from the hotel near the Co-op which sells bottles of wine from the barrel very cheaply.

A major plus point is the hotel's launch which will pick you up from the airport and take you back again if arranged ahead. Otherwise the vaporetto stop Museo is just outside the door. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the island but if you want to be at the centre of activity you may prefer to stay in Venice itself. WIFI was good but TV had few channels of interest.

Try to visit the glass blowing school if you can. Would love to return.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room at the end of a corridor on a corner (2nd floor) which was quite roomy and lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takemoretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in our hotel.It is a pleasure to read your comments as it helps us to continually improve our servicies.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    464
    84
    27
    19
See reviews for
272
1,279
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

As many others have said this hotel is excellent. The staff are really friendly, the service cannot be faulted, and the breakfast is varied and would suit anyone. The water bus stop is right outside the hotel and the 3,4.1,and 4.2 all stop there. We loved the fact that after the hustle and bustle of Venice we could come back to a less frantic island. We had a superior room which had everything we expected.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your support and are so pleased to hear that you enjoy visiting our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I think most of what can be said about this hotel has been already, but just in case - here's some stuff that's hopefully useful...

Yes, Murano pretty much shuts of an evening but you can get to and from Venice all day and all night long on the Vaporetto. We would use the service from outside the hotel to St Marks if we wanted a nice relax and sit down for an hour. Getting off after 10 minutes at F De N was also recommended and is a short (5 mins) walk from their to the Rialto Bridge area. Bear this in mind if you are coming back to Murano latish - that you can get the Vaporetto from F de N to Museo, but the walk through the back streets to F De N in the dark seems more threatening than in the day time with people and noise around you.

The 3 day Vaporetto pass for 35e is a great earl and can be bought in lots of places, including the airport on your way in. If you are staying at LaGare Venezia M gallery and travelling home via Treviso airport early in the morning it is possible to get the 6.38 No 3 Vaporetto to P De R which arrives at 7.08 and you can leg it round to jump on the airport coach which leaves at 7.10 ! The 18e return coach fare is good value.

The hotel itself is beautiful and the small extra charge for a split level executive room is great value. The baths are long and grand for a long soak, the sofas are as comfortable as beds for stretching out and the beds are exceedingly comfortable and big. The decor, lighting and general thought for style and functional design is superb. The staff are cheerful and friendly and knowledgable. The breakfast is varied, tasty and lovely start to the day - I've no idea reading some other reviews how anyone could complain !?

As mentioned earlier, Murano pretty much shuts down of an evening. If you do drink in the hotel you'll be amazed how quickly the tab builds up ! Their is a lovely little Osteria bar - turn right out the hotel and at the end of the alley by the Coop. The Coop also has some good deals in - oh, and they sell Cornettos for that true fake Venician experience ! The B Restaurant about 5 mins walk from the hotel serves very nice fish and meals. My top tip though is turn left out the hotel, over the bridge by the bell tower is Duomo. If you look in the door it looks like a standard unappealing locals bar. Walk through the back and they have an indoor dining area and a lovely courtyard to eat in. Fantastic food and wine and exceptional value (for Venice).

Their hotel and break was superb ! Venice is stunning.

Ps. If you get the time please do take in the Cemetry island and Lido island for a walk. Charming and peaceful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear John B,
How nice of you for taking time to write such a review of our hotel. It is a real pleasure to know your satisfaction about your staying.
We hope to have the pleasure of making a future stay at our hotel as equally fulfilling and thank you once again for sharing your experience with us all!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Pros. Nice building, we had an interesting duplex executive room (although with the usual Accor spartano style), a beautiful neighbourhood, the free boat transfer from and to the airport is a must. Cons. Mediocre and desorganized breakfast, the annonced shuttle service to Venice is virtually nonexistent (it's not a problem de per si, because there is a lot of vaporetto conexions between Murano and Venice, but it is a misleading offer). Rate very competitive with Venice hotels the same quality - if you like to make the nice comute to Fundamente Nóve.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lpmpessoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very happy with this hotel. Clean, tidy, excellent location. Room was comfortable and presentable and although no bath in the bathroom, the shower was excellent and we had no complaints.
Breakfast had a huge selection, which was all of a high quality. We ate here once in the evening and were very happy with the quality of the meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in our hotel.It is a pleasure to read your comments about our hotel.The whole staff is delighted that you liked the rooms, location and service.Some of our rooms have the bath in the bathroom,and the next time you'll visit us, you just need to ask and we will provide it to you.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We booked a hotel & flight only deal through Fleetway, and knew up front that airport transfers weren't included, so that was OK...Quite easy to Google transfer buses ,which didn't need pre-booking. Hotel was very accommodating at us arriving 3 hrs before normal check in, cases securely locked away, we found somewhere to have lunch. Too tired on 1st night to search a decent restaurant, so we had a 2 course meal with wine in the hotel ..100 Euros later, which I don't regret, because it was the best fillet steak I've ever had, we retired after having a long day being up at 3am for a 6.30am flight. The rest of the week, we negotiated the waterbuses and side streets with ease, even had a couple of cloudless days. Only fly in the ointment was the ATVO waterbus strike on the last day, which we still managed to hop from our island to the main one, but no further,using legs for the remainder of the day, but transfer buses not affected. All in all a successful break, but I would prefer peace of mind and economy of scale by booking a complete package with all inclusive next time. We knew Venice was going to be a rare expensive indulgence and as it happened, the basic B&B & flight price almost doubled, time we had paid all the meals/transfers/buses/airport parking & a Vivaldi concert to boot !

Room Tip: Don't be surprised if you see some brickwork a few inches outside your window.. they have clever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpudSpuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your support and are so pleased to hear that you enjoy visiting our hotel.We're doing our best to offer you high quality products for making your staying memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from Venice after a three night stay at this hotel and would highly recommend for a stay on Murano. The hotel is modern and immaculate on the inside. All the staff are helpful and informative and a credit to the management. We had breakfast each morning and couldn't fault it for choice, quality with a visit from the head chef each morning.
Drinks at the bar are expensive but at least you get good measures.
We were met at the airport by the commentary shuttle boat, which made for a great start to the break.
The only suggestion I would make would be to provide tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGare_Hotel_Venezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in our hotel.It is a pleasure to read your comments about our hotel.The whole staff is delighted that you liked the rooms, location and service. Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our services and provide you a great experience.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murano
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Riva Longa 49, 30141 Murano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Murano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery By Sofitel Murano, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing