We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the lovely island of Murano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murano
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the lovely island of Murano”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is very modern, without being stark or cold. Our room was great, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff were helpful. The water taxi station is close by, so we could get to the main island of Venice easily.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,351
    484
    89
    27
    19
See reviews for
287
1,334
37
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Perfectly situated directly in front of the 'bus stop' where the complimentary shuttle off loaded us. This hotel was built keeping the original façade of the building and had all mod cons available. Great welcome from multilingual helpful staff when we arrived on Saturday early evening. We were given our key and directed to our room which was situated on the first floor. The calming classical music accompanied us along the corridor on our way to our room. Very beautifully appointed, with a large bed, I guess it was a Queen size bed, safe and fridge well provided. Complimentary toiletries in the bathroom and air conditioning. Our room was serviced everyday as expected, but what was a pleasant surprise was that in the evening after we left the hotel for our evening meal, the bed was turned. We were advised that we could ask for more toiletries should we required them. We did not find a hair dryer but expected it, only to find the drawer under the sink housed an additional loo roll, a hair dryer, a box of tissue paper and some times a spare bath towel. We booked room only at this hotel as we prefer to do what the locals do. So as is customary for us, we asked the receptionist where is best to eat. She mentioned a couple of places the second of which was a place where her colleagues frequented. As we were tired, having travelled almost all day, we rested and went to the nearest eatery and decided to do our fact finding in the morning. Situated near 'bus' stops, restaurants, shops, supermarket and very near the glass museum, Basilica of St Mary and St Donado, close to the main glass factory.

Room Tip: I don't think it makes any difference where your room is, ours faced the water, and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chichi199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in Murano for the three nights mid-October. The location of the hotel is right outside at the Vaporetto stop (Museo) on the island of Murano.

The hotel looks quite modern and new, but is not particularly large. Reception is immediately to the right on arrival and there is a good sized restaurant, bar area and outside seating area. We were unable to check in until 2pm, but the hotel was happy to store our luggage for us while we explored.

The Room

Check in was straightforward and our room was on the third floor. It was a twin room, quiet small, with two very comfortable beds, two bedside tables, lamps, two easy chairs and an occasional table. There were full length mirrors on the walls, which made the room look a lot larger. We also had a door to a fake balcony (just a door and then a metal balcony rail) and nice thick curtains. Our room overlooked the external restaurant seating area. The bathroom was lovely with a toilet, bidet, large sink with a large, lit mirror above it and a big walk in shower with rain shower head, plus a hand held shower head. There were free toiletries, small bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and (oddly enough) bath foam (there was no bath) but they were not Molton Brown as previously advertised. There was also a shoe cleaning kit and a sewing kit. There was plenty of hot water and two bath sheet towels, plus two smaller hand towels.

The room had no tea or coffee making facilities, which was hugely inconvenient but it does have a safe that is free to use. The room was quite hot and sleeping with the door open meant we were bitten – a lot – by mosquitos. It was very quiet and we were not disturbed at all during the night.

The room had a lovely big flat screen TV, but the only channel we could find that was in English was Sky News. Although we weren’t on holiday to watch TV it was frustrating not to be able to watch other channels.

The room was cleaned every day and we could have had the sheets changed daily and fresh towels every day, should we have indicated that this was required.

The corridors were narrow, dark and hot!

Staff

The staff were efficient and helpful – one staff member in particular was very helpful in lending me his personal phone charger as mine was broken. They were also happy to print off Vaporetto time tables when asked.

Food

The breakfast was extensive. Breakfast was served from 7am – 10.30pm and on arrival in the restaurant a member of staff checked your room number and seated you. Fare on offer included:

• Fresh bread for toasting (there was a toasting machine)
• Rolls
• Cooked meats
• Cheese (including Ricotta)
• Fresh fruit
• Various cereals
• Yoghurts
• Cold poached eggs
• Cold stuffed tomatoes
• Cold vegetable quiche
• Various pastries, including the most incredible apricot confections
• Croissant
• Pain au chocolat

There was also scrambled egg, bacon and chipolatas being kept warm on a hot plate (the full English). The egg was rubbery and nearly cold, the bacon and sausages dried out. Not very pleasant, but the rest of the food made up for it. There were also pots of coffee and hot water for tea, plus freshly squeezed orange juice and mixed fruit juice. Finally, you could order cappuccino, latte etc.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening – again the food was lovely, but it was expensive with the risotto starter coming in at €14 (each) and a steak €24. Desserts are about €8 and the cheapest glass of wine was €5 a glass. Handy tip – you’ll be offered as many rolls as you can eat with a small dish of olive oil to dip. Ask for butter if you prefer. The menu was not extensive and did not change during our admittedly short stay. I got the impression the hotel was trying to be a Michelin starred resturant but did fall short somewhat.

The cocktails are delicious – but expensive. A Blini was €10. I only had one!

Room service is also very expensive.

Free Transfer

This is a great idea but doesn’t start running until 10am. Not a lot of use for the 9am tours! Also, it was no use for getting back to Treviso airport for a 10am flight. Due to a Vaporetto strike we had to choice but to get a water taxi – that cost us €75.

Location

The hotel itself was lovely, but don’t underestimate how long the journey from Murano to Venice will take. A number 3 Vaporetto is the quickest route as it is a ‘bus’ for Venetian workers, but that stops running about 6pm. The 4.1 and 4.2 run all day into the evening but take about 45 -60 minutes. If you are planning on visiting Venice for a short break, then this might not be place for you as it is time consuming to get to and from Venice (buy a travel pass as this is the cheapest option – a single is a staggering €7 – and make sure you validate your pass on one of the machines at any Vaporetto stop. Failure to do so will result in a hefty fine if an inspector catches you). Also, if you are having an evening tour make sure you check what time the Vaporetto stop running as it is relatively early (around 11pm). Failure to catch the last bus will result in an expensive taxi ride – up to €100).

Murano closes early so you are limited as to places to eat if you don’t want to travel back to Venice. Most of the restaurants close at 5 or 6pm, Monday to Thursday.

The only other grumble I have is that I left a valuable piece of jewellery in the room and despite having e-mailed the hotel twice, I’ve not had a response and can only assume that someone has pocketed it. This, and the Vaporetto strike on the last day of our break, somewhat spoiled my stay somewhat.

Would I stay here again? No, probably not. Murano is too far away from Venice and the island is too quiet at night. The room was quite small, too hot and the TV only had one English channel. It is a nice hotel, but I am not sure it could be considered 4*.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivalonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guest,
we are very sorry about the inconvenient. Unfortunately we didn’t got any e-mail about what you mentioned. After reading your review, we had anyhow checked immediately in our Lost&Found box without any result. We kindly ask you to provide us more information about your jewels (description, pictures etc.). We stay at your complete disposal. Please do not hesitate to contact us. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Really nice hotel. Murano quiet on a Sunday night!

Good service from the staff and a great breakfast (alto ugh expensive!)

Definitely recommend.

Free shuttle boat to Venice/transfer

Nice to get away from the Venice crowds in the evening

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingston001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay at this hotel. I would say the hotel is beautiful and in an excellent location right outside the vaporetto stop. We purchased a 3 day pass at 35 Euros and found it very easy to get around the various different places.

We found our room (on the 2nd floor) very warm and were advised that the air conditioning had been switched off because of the time of year. I would suggest booking your return transfer to the airport as soon as you can as this can get booked up quickly.

Murano is very peaceful and its great to get back there after a busy day in Venice. The only downside is that most restaurants close early some nights but we went to the local coop, a couple of doors down from the hotel, and purchased some items there. I would also recommend the cafe down from the hotel (near the bridge) for coffee and spritz / wine, especially if you can get the tables outside where you can watch the locals pass by.

I would definitely recommend visiting Burano (this was one highlight of our trip). We ate lunch in a restaurant called Riva Rosa and found this to be in a lovely setting with great service and food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadel1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel has only been open since June 2013 but the service, staff and facilities are superb. The building is housed inside the shell of an old monastry/glass furnace so the facilities are modern and comfortable but the building is not out of place. It is incredibly convenient, the vaporetti stop being only yards from the main door giving easy access to Venice and the adjacent islands. We bought a 72 hour ticket for the vaporetti (35 euros) which gave us total freedom to come and go as we wished but the hotel does provide free, booked, shuttles to and from San Marco Piazza, Venice. There is also a free transfer service to Marco Polo airport. The breakfast is generous and caters for every taste from continental to (almost) full English. The bar food is of good quality and we heard good reports of the restaurant food although we did not try it as we enjoyed dining out by the canals in local restaurants. There were plenty of good quality ones around although they did not stay open very late, in general.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and were able to offer good local knowledge in addition to excellent service. We cannot speak too highly of this hotel and hope to be able to visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we saw or heard about were of good quality. Although the hotel is only a stone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiderlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here on the 18-21 Oct, what a brilliant hotel. We were automatically upgraded to an executive room but we did not have bathrobes and tea/coffee machine as it says on the internet. Room was spotless, the staff were all lovely and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Book the free taxi boat as soon as possible because it gets booked up. The selection at breakfast was very good. I would recommend this hotel as the island is much quieter that Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilikesheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murano
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,304 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,888 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Riva Longa 49, 30141 Murano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Murano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery By Sofitel Murano, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing