We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Hotel Conterie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Conterie
Ranked #4 of 5 Murano B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in Room 12 which was very large with Queen size bed. As others have said, the blown glass chandeliers and wall sconce's rival those found in the Glass Museum nearby. The bathroom was on the small size and hot water slow to come through. Let the hot tap run for 10 mins. before going in the shower.
Breakfast was standard fare with fresh bread rolls each day, choice of two cereals, chocolate and plain croissants, preserves, fresh fruit cocktail ( I suspect tinned). Hot drinks machine giving a wide choice of coffees etc.
Staff were most helpful, giving detailed directions to where-ever we wanted to go.
The island is very quiet on an evening when all the tourists have left.
Bear in mind there is a 40 min. boat trip to and from Venice from the island. We found this most enjoyable. Others may not.
If your holiday doesn't include airport transfers, get your ACTV travel card from the airport for the length of your stay, pay the extra for coach transfer to Venice. A number 5 bus will take you to Venice Piazzale Roma where you can catch either waterbus 4.2 or 4.1 to Murano. Get off at "Museum", turn left off the bus, pass the Co-op and take your first right. At the end of the road turn right again and at the fork, turn right. The hotel is on the left.
Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham_Y0rkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 347 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The decor of the room was beautiful, although slightly worn. All the light fixtures were blown glass. The hotel is conveniently located on the island of Murano and it is easy to get to and from the multiple waterbus stops. The breakfast that was served was average and included dry cereal, croissants with a variety of spreads, and other pastries. The island of Murano was a delightful place to stay. After about 5:00 PM all the visitors leave and you're left with a quiet, sleepy town with some great dining options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Spent 4 nights here over Easter 2012 and cannot honestly recommend the hotel. The room was exceedingly small, although we are aware that this is "normal" for Venice. The bathroom was so small in fact one had to straddle the toilet bowl to access the shower, making it extremely dangerous when the area is wet. The room was very clean and the public areas were attractive.
Breakfast was included, but this consisted of tinned fruit, packaged croissants, and machine dispensed juice, all self service.
The first morning we encountered no cereal bowls, but we did notice others eating small fresh bread rolls, but there were no more forthcoming when the meagre supply ran out. Unfortunately the waitress could not speak English, so we visited Reception to ask if there were any breakfast cafes on the island.
Perhaps charging a few more euros could encourage the management to at least provide more at breakfast as there are few options at that hour on Murano.
In saying that we loved the island, each evening when all the tourists returned back to Venice we felt we had it all to ourselves. We wandered the area almost alone. We found a small bar/cafe near the canal behind the hotel and visited there on two evenings. With little English the owner/barman provided a good meal with great service. Local Muranese men visited there at dusk to discuss the day, have a quick drink and then head home. We felt we were experiencing the real Murano, and would stay on this island again but not at Locanda Conterie.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbyJ729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights and had a very negative experience.
Bath room very cold with rust in the shower. We found some holes in the bedspreed, very old television and very expensive wifi Service (5 euro per hour!).
We Will never come back ...when having a shower cold water flows for 5mins and hot water for 2mins very bad .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dealuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day stay & having read the reviews before, arrived in reception with a little trepidation. However quite the opposite experience ensued with a friendly response from the receptionist & considering it was 10am we were shown where to leave bags & freshen up as the room was understandably not ready yet.
I cannot understand some of the negative comments in earlier reviews, yes the room was small, the breakfast was fast food & the island was quiet on a night but as my review title says it was a 3 star hotel & if the island was too quiet then go back over to the jammed side streets of Venice. I for one was pleased to get away from Venice & the night life or lack of it is hardly the hotels fault.
Overall I found the experience just what I would expect for a 3 star establishment & would recommend this hotel to others who have realistic expectations. I often find that those who do not are either from "across the pond" or better suited to cruising around the Med on a floating deathtrap or possibly both!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mackemdave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is an overrated hotel. Rooms are very small. They switch on AC's when you really need it. If you open windows room will be full of mosquitoes. I had sleepless nights to protect my daughter from Mosquitoes. As such not wise to stay in Murano, since lot of time goes in ferry. This is the worst hotel I have stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

First, the bed in our room was the most uncomfortable that I have ever slept on. Secondly, we were put into room #3 and could hear some sort of machine all night long which made it impossible to get a good night’s sleep. This is not the hotel fault but Murano closes down early in the evening making it difficult to do anything outside of the hotel after 6pm. The people at the front desk were helpful and polite, that being said I would not recommend that anyone stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murano
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#317 of 384 in Venice
565 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 384 in Venice
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#156 of 384 in Venice
2,147 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#147 of 384 in Venice
939 reviews
Hotel Al Soffiador
#3 of 5 in Murano
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conterie

Address: Ramo Conterie, 8, 30141 Murano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Murano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Murano
Price Range: $51 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Conterie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Conterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Conterie Hotel Venice
Hotel Conterie Murano, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing