We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy nice and quiet hotel”
Review of Hotel Al Soffiador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Soffiador
Ranked #3 of 5 Murano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2009

I work in the hotel industry and can realy recommend this hotel. The furniture is not up to date but everything is clean. Our room had the most romatic seling with wood showing. The staff takes care of you.

If you look at the price this hotel is worth every penny!!!! Breakfast is included and Mureno as an island is beuteful with its worldfamous glasblowing!!
It was also nice to stay away from the centre of Venece where its hectic 24 h a day. Mureno is more quiet.

The hotel is located 20 min with the vaparetto (boatbuses) from the centre of venece and the boats go every 5 min. Take line to mureno and get of at station Faro and you will see the hotel. Real easy and an adventure!

WE WILL STAY AGAIN SOMEDAY!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra78sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Al Soffiador
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 101 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2009

Our room (No5 ) at Al Soffiador was OK - very basic but clean. The bathroom was very small and you almost fell onto the bed when you opened the door, but nevertheless for a 2-star hotel it was fine. We liked the location - easy walking distance from the boat bus and nice to stay away from the crowds in Venice. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK - nothing special but adequate. We chose the hotel because we wanted to stay on Murano and would probably return. Just be warned that everything closes very early on Murano! We found ourselves in a restaurant with everything closing up around us.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnonymousEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We had 2 pleasant nights at this hotel on Murano. While the rooms included some rather out-of-date furnishings, they were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was just alright (rolls, croissant, yogurt, beverage), and not offered until 8. We rented a single and a double -- essentially the only difference between them was that the single had a small bathroom; it had the same size double bed, which was very nice. The best features of the hotel were its quiet location and reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eudora_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

This hotel is located very close to the glass shops on Murano. We only spent one night there, but it was pleasant and clean. The vaporetto stop was nearby, and they were very courteous about keeping our luggage in the office while we went sightseeing the next day. The breakfast was very nice and the location was great. While it is not elegant or luxurious, it is charming and well worth the money spent. There is also a nice restaurant that opens after breakfast is served, which has great desserts, but plan to go to Venice to dine. Murano has a small-town feel, and things close early.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

A perfect small hotel for a pleasant stay at a beautifull island called Murano. An island full of picture moments.
Al Soffiador is placed at a square near the 'Faro' (lighthouse).
Also a boatstop.
My stay at the hotel were 10 comfortable nights.
Clean, Cool, Comfy.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RensNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

This was our third visit to Venice, and the second time we had stayed on Murano. Previously we had stayed at the only other hotel on the Island, the Locanda Conterie.

Both hotels are classed as 2-star, but our preference would be for the Al Soffiador. The location is better (only 100 yards from the 'Faro' Vaporetta stop) whereas the Locanda Conterie is tucked away behind a glass factory behind the 'Museo' vaporetta stop. The desk at the Al Soffiador is manned most of the day which is not the case at the Locanda Conterie. The breakfasts are also much better - you get a proper breakfast served to you, not just some long-life Croisants and a coffee from a Vending Machine. The rooms were pretty much the same as were the prices, but the Al Soffiador has a small garden that you can sit in if you wish.

A lot of reviews have been written about Murano, especially some of the scams surrounding organised visits by Hotels from Venice. The trick is to use your common sense and organise any visit yourself. It's only a short hop on the many Vaporettas to Murano, which run every 10 minutes throughout the day (Routes 41/42/DM).

There are a dozen or so Glass Factories where you can see the glass being fired etc. and around 30-40 different Glass shops, some selling Beautiful Glass and others selling Tourist Tat. You just need to allow yourself a few hours to wander around at you own pace, and not be pressurised by the shop staff into buying.

Personally I would never pay upfront and buy anything from another Country without taking it with me, it's just too risky.

The only drawback to staying on Murano is the lack of restaurants that are open in the evening, there is only one that is regularly open, the Dala Mura, which is ok, but I like to tty different places each day. There are plentry of places open for Lunch.

Finally, if you want a bit of peace & quite away from the hords of Tourists in Venice, but also in a beautifull setting, then give Murano a try. It's only a short hop to Venice on the many Vaporetta's which run all day, and every 30 minutes throughout the night from Fondemente Nova.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard_BEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luciag980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murano
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,384 reviews
Hotel Vecellio
#184 of 385 in Venice
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Conterie
#4 of 5 in Murano
343 reviews
Murano Palace
#1 of 5 in Murano
449 reviews
Villa Lina
#2 of 5 in Murano
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Soffiador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Soffiador

Address: Via Bressagio 10, 30141 Murano, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Murano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Murano
Price Range: $90 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Soffiador 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unsophisticated and friendly Hotel al Soffiador is located on Murano, the famous Island of Glass, in the romantic and picturesque Venetian Lagoon. The hotel takes its name from the thousand year-old craft of glass blowing and the 'soffiador' that is the name given to the master craftsman who uses a long pipe to blow the glass to create his works of art. Murano's central location in the Lagoon and the regular round-the-clock public transport system allows visitors to reach not only Venice with ease, but also all of the Lagoon's other enchanting islands such as Burano, Torcello, Sant'Erasmo and the Lido. At the same time a stay on this small island, far from the busiest tourist thoroughfares, offers you the chance to savour a one-of-a-kind experience, a slower pace of life and an atmosphere of times gone by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Al Soffiador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Soffiador Murano, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing