We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Al Soffiador”
Review of Hotel Al Soffiador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Al Soffiador
Ranked #3 of 5 Murano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2007

A perfect small hotel for a pleasant stay at a beautifull island called Murano. An island full of picture moments.
Al Soffiador is placed at a square near the 'Faro' (lighthouse).
Also a boatstop.
My stay at the hotel were 10 comfortable nights.
Clean, Cool, Comfy.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RensNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 108 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2006

This was our third visit to Venice, and the second time we had stayed on Murano. Previously we had stayed at the only other hotel on the Island, the Locanda Conterie.

Both hotels are classed as 2-star, but our preference would be for the Al Soffiador. The location is better (only 100 yards from the 'Faro' Vaporetta stop) whereas the Locanda Conterie is tucked away behind a glass factory behind the 'Museo' vaporetta stop. The desk at the Al Soffiador is manned most of the day which is not the case at the Locanda Conterie. The breakfasts are also much better - you get a proper breakfast served to you, not just some long-life Croisants and a coffee from a Vending Machine. The rooms were pretty much the same as were the prices, but the Al Soffiador has a small garden that you can sit in if you wish.

A lot of reviews have been written about Murano, especially some of the scams surrounding organised visits by Hotels from Venice. The trick is to use your common sense and organise any visit yourself. It's only a short hop on the many Vaporettas to Murano, which run every 10 minutes throughout the day (Routes 41/42/DM).

There are a dozen or so Glass Factories where you can see the glass being fired etc. and around 30-40 different Glass shops, some selling Beautiful Glass and others selling Tourist Tat. You just need to allow yourself a few hours to wander around at you own pace, and not be pressurised by the shop staff into buying.

Personally I would never pay upfront and buy anything from another Country without taking it with me, it's just too risky.

The only drawback to staying on Murano is the lack of restaurants that are open in the evening, there is only one that is regularly open, the Dala Mura, which is ok, but I like to tty different places each day. There are plentry of places open for Lunch.

Finally, if you want a bit of peace & quite away from the hords of Tourists in Venice, but also in a beautifull setting, then give Murano a try. It's only a short hop to Venice on the many Vaporetta's which run all day, and every 30 minutes throughout the night from Fondemente Nova.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard_BEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank foxvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: wir haben nur gegessen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank alexandero267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yfmaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
243
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murano hotels
0.2 mi away
LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Murano Palace
Murano Palace
#1 of 5 in Murano
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Conterie
Hotel Conterie
#5 of 5 in Murano
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Lina
Villa Lina
#2 of 5 in Murano
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ca' del pomo grana
Ca' del pomo grana
#4 of 5 in Murano
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ca Mazzega
Ca Mazzega
#1 of 2 in Murano
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Soffiador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Soffiador

Address: Via Bressagio 10, 30141 Murano, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Murano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Murano
Price Range: $76 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Soffiador 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unsophisticated and friendly Hotel al Soffiador is located on Murano, the famous Island of Glass, in the romantic and picturesque Venetian Lagoon. The hotel takes its name from the thousand year-old craft of glass blowing and the 'soffiador' that is the name given to the master craftsman who uses a long pipe to blow the glass to create his works of art. Murano's central location in the Lagoon and the regular round-the-clock public transport system allows visitors to reach not only Venice with ease, but also all of the Lagoon's other enchanting islands such as Burano, Torcello, Sant'Erasmo and the Lido. At the same time a stay on this small island, far from the busiest tourist thoroughfares, offers you the chance to savour a one-of-a-kind experience, a slower pace of life and an atmosphere of times gone by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Al Soffiador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Soffiador Murano, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing