We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duomo di Murano Santi Maria e Donato
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.34*
and up
Murano by Private Watertaxi Including Glass Blowing Demo with Hotel Pickup
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Murano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Free”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We decided to pop in and see the mosaic floor , luckily enough when we there 2 people working on it at the time , the speed they were going I suspect it will take years so definitely go and have a look .......the church is a beautiful building inside and out , you can't miss it as it's right by one of the main bridges

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fatola4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    170
    25
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middx London
Level Contributor
201 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

One of the most attractive churches visited whilst in Venice, open and airy not dark and gloomy like so many others. The mosaic is beautiful and it is everywhere you look. Well worth a visit whilst in Murano

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
150 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A splendid small medieval Basilica, with great Byzantine mosaics”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Duomo di Murano will amply reward making a special trip from Venice proper to Murano. The island is just a short trip on the vaporetto from Fondamente Nuove. The Church is one of the oldest in Venice, still actively in use for its parishoners. Artistically, it features a beautiful praying Madonna mosaic in the apse (well worth the Euro coin it costs to turn on the illumination!) and an early 12th-century mosaic floor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cincinnati-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Early 12th century romanesque basilica”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Completed by 1140 on the site of an earlier church. Contains beautiful mosaic floor sections. Marble relief sarcophagi fronts found during restoration of the floors in 1866 dating from the 4th - 8th centuries. The interior apse basin above the alter is lit up by the golden mosaic. A 12th c. bell tower is adjacent. Truly worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milesriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A glimpse of Venice going back for centuries”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were wandering early on a Sunday in Murano, before the throngs of shopping tourists came, and were fortunate to have a couple of really cool experiences on Murano...first, we stumbled upon an excited group of young children (20 to 25 of them), all dressed in white vestments, as they were preparing to receive their 1st Holy Communion at Chiesa di San Pietro Martire. The energy of the moment, and the pride and support of their family members, made me forget I was a tourist, and I felt like a Murano resident, if ever for a few moments.

Also, we stumbled upon Duomo di Murano Santi Maria e Donato, which looks completely abandoned from the exterior, and would likely cause many people to skip it. But contaied inside are some beautiful mosaics and just a really gorgeous place to worship. As we were standing outside, the bells of the church started ringing for a very long time (several minutes at least), which I did not understand. But within a few minutes, people started arriving at the church, and I realized we had just witnessed a tradition going back hundreds of years - the bells were calling the congregation to Mass.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wade_Scheckla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo di Murano Santi Maria e Donato also viewed

Murano, City of Venice
Murano, City of Venice
 
Murano, City of Venice
 

Been to Duomo di Murano Santi Maria e Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing