We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
5
24
31
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
24
31
16
9
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 85 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2016

We drove all the way from the French border to Hirtshals and only experienced the hotel for one late evening. But as a transit stop it was very pleasant, with a large parking area and close distance to the main road and the harbour. Especially the staff was very friendly and helpful. As the reception isn’t open 24/7 and we would arrive late the hotel made arrangements so that we could enter the back door with a code and found our keys waiting in the reception. We were even upgraded without any extra charge! The beds were comfortable and the bathroom had all the basics needed. The only annoying thing was the very loud creaks from the floor, but I guess that’s understandable being such an old house.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utan_namn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

This was one of the worst hotel I've ever stayed at in my life.much rather sleep outside on the bench.this hotel has the smell of urine in the lobby,hallways,and rooms.the water doesn't drain very well in the showers,no A/C, stuffy smelling.the floors are un-even under neath the fake hardwood floores.the lobby is gated - off @ 11:45p.m forcing you to walk up these scary looking stairs from the rear of the parking lot.Save your money PLEASE don't attempt to stay there. By the way,after staying here for 7 day due to work My linen was never changed and dry towels only once.I had to go and ask for clean towels and linen.PLUS no refrigerator or microwaves.BUT they suppose to be a THREE STAR HOTEL.

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birgitte M, Direktør at Hotel Phonix Hjorring, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2015

Sorry that you think our hotel is so bad. I will comment on a few of the things you mention:
Air condition is not "normal" in Denmark, and especially not in a hotel from 1886, - also the age of the hotel is due to the uneven floors you mention. Fridge and mircrowave are also not in very many danish hotelrooms - maybe you should have rented an appartment instead.
Regarding the smell in the lobby and hallways, I can only say for a fact that it is NOT urin.
I wonder why guests often dont mention their problems while staying at a hotel - they rather write it on the internet afterwards.
It is like eating a steak, - afterwards complaining about it. Why not complain from the start, and give the server a possibility to make you a new steak??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2015

As the title suggests this hotel is fairly basic and not one you would probably want to stay for more than one night. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Room was basic, especially the bathroom, it was big but with a very basic shower in the corner, toilet and sink and then acres of room going to waste, but I purpose that you can not do much as the building is old. The room was fairly cramped, could have done with some of the bath room space. Bed was soft and the cover think, far too warm. Went to the Bryghuset Vendia for Dinner, which is brewery/very good restaurant not far away, got back early top avoid the curfew. Breakfast was minimal, boiled eggs and bread and meats/Cheese, could have done with more choice.

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taffywire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2014

Whilst expensive, this hotel appeared to be the only one in central Hjorring, so I booked in for 3 nights. However, the whole experience proved disagreeable ... Superficially, the hotel looked very attractive but that's where it ends. The room was large but run down, the bathroom a disgrace, the Wifi frustrating, and the staff indifferent. The last straw was the virtual curfew at 11pm when no staff were on duty and the lift stopped working, no fun when on the 3rd floor. After an adequate breakfast, I checked out and booked into Det Bette (restaurant with rooms).

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2014

Rooms were clean, but old and basic. No aircon or ventilation, and had to open the window onto a noisy street to get any air moving in the room. Tried to call the front desk, but no one was in attendance. There was a note stating that the front desk closed at midnight, but this was 35 minutes before that.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aquanomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews