We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Hostel in town”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hostel is located in the town, and has a bar downstairs for food/drink. We only stayed overnight as we were passing after visiting Fuji. The private rooms had a bunk and after a bit of a fight to get the door open, we had an ok night there. The private rooms are right by the main door so you do get woken a bit by people coming/going as the transport to Fuji goes at odd times and then there's the person who forgot the door code and thus leant on the bell for a while at 6am (cheers mate) Whilst there's only a few toilets there wasnt much of a wait and clean. English spoken and wireless/computers to use.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinkyandmerlin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
12
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

this hostel is well worth checking out. the staff a freindly and professional. It has a great little feel to it. the staff will help you get around and see everything you need to see. its in a great location and his plenty to do and see around it.
.
The beds are comfy and the rooms clean and new.

There is a great bar down stairs that is worth spending a night at. I will recommend this hostel to all my friends. I will also be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauli86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in June 2012. It was too early to climb Mt Fuji but I wanted to get out the cities and see rural Japan.
The owner, Michael, is American and also runs the bar underneath the hostel where you can get one of the best hamburgers I have ever eaten! I went back every day for that glorious burger!
Lots of friendly locals pile into the bar in the evenings (at the weekends at least) and it's a great little spot.
There was a pretty bad typhoon while I stayed and I was only person in the hostel at the time but I was made to feel very safe and even got a couple of free beers as I think they felt a bit sorry for me staying there on my own!
The hostel is very clean indeed with good facilites (free internet and wifi, free tea and coffee, laundry room, smoking area and tons of information about the local sites and activities) and just a short walk from Gekkoji station.
I would advise people to get up early as lots of local activities close around 4pm so don't dally too much in the mornings!

Matt, London

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS77yo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hostel is located just down the road from the station and is really easy to get to and is close to a lot of good food! All the staff are extremely helpful and can speak English well. They give you such a warm welcome it made the visit really special. Both the Dorm and private rooms are comfortable, and during the winter warm. The staff were always ready to give advice on where to find good food and what to do and see whilst in Fujiyoshida. If you are going to be in this area staying here is well worth it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nano_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We were staying there for one night in the Japanese room A. When we arrived around 8 pm, the gentle man named Nick (sorry if the name is wrong) , was checked in us with warm welcome. The room is wonderful, big enough for three persons stayed together. There are only three rest rooms and two bath rooms. but when we stay there, I think only our room there I feel like a staying at private home!
Only five minutes from the station. Free wifi, internet corner, comfortable room and helpful staff, is all I want!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitsune02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fujiyoshida hotels
1.3 mi away
West Inn Fujiyoshida
West Inn Fujiyoshida
#5 of 15 in Fujiyoshida
35 reviews
1.4 mi away
Highland Resort Hotel & Spa
Highland Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in Fujiyoshida
233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mystays Fuji
Hotel Mystays Fuji
#2 of 15 in Fujiyoshida
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Resort Inn Fuyo
Resort Inn Fuyo
#8 of 15 in Fujiyoshida
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fujisan Station Hotel
Fujisan Station Hotel
#6 of 15 in Fujiyoshida
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Fujisan You
Hostel Fujisan You
#1 of 25 in Fujiyoshida
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's

Property: Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's
Address: 2 F 3-21-37 Shimoyoshida, Fujiyoshida 403-0004, Yamanashi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Fujiyoshida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty lodging in Fujiyoshida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing