We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back!”
Review of Grootberg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grootberg Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Outjo
Certificate of Excellence
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
“We will be back!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Beautiful location. great campsites. Campsites were built with a lot of effort & love. Staff is very friendly and also helps lightning the fire for the donkey. The swimming pool & sundowner spot tops everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    184
    36
    10
    8
See reviews for
132
359
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

A real beautyfull and clean place with friendly and helpfull staff. We enjoyed the tranquility and privat atmosphere. Just the obviously broken siphon of the sink smelled bad. Pls repair! Gina + Chris

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GinaandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela Bela, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We were booked into Palmwag lodge but decided to move and found this property - we were a bit apprehensive when we saw the entrance but on arrival and meeting the amazing staff, settling into our room, the view, and ambience has stolen our hearts. They staff are incredible - looked after our son and were just so helpful. Thank you so much for changing out impression of the hospitality in this area! Well done.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank dulcieo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a wonderful stay for two days at Hoada Camp Site. Thanks! Clean, helpful and friendly people, wonderful surroundings and landscape. A really worth piece of Namibia. We were 4 people with Toyota Landcruiser.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nokey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This place was simply the best we stayed in our recent trip...beautiful views, first class accommodation, helpful staff, classy food...just can't fault it. You do need a 4 x 4 to access it via a very steep road but heh! really worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRIANWITHANEYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Hoada Campsite over New Year 2014. What a pleasant surprise. Staff were very friendly throughout the whole stay, campsites very clean and spacious and the private "ablution" is a must see. Lovely rock pool to cool down during very hot days. Only negative were the flies and very limited "bar" - only cold drinks and beer sold.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darling, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Fabulous ablutions - although we missed hooks to hang clothes and towels on! Our campsite could also do with a blind that could be rolled down for the very hot afternoon sun. (We put up our own blind.) The lovely pool was a bit dirty on our first day, but Bob cleaned it for the second day. Bob is wonderful! You need a more upmarket reception area to take it to the next level!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Outjo
12.8 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#7 of 14 in Damaraland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
126.6 mi away
Sophienhof Lodge
Sophienhof Lodge
#5 of 14 in Outjo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
39.0 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#8 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
131.9 mi away
Etotongwe Lodge
Etotongwe Lodge
#1 of 3 in Outjo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
310.7 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
131.9 mi away
Sasa Safari Camp
Sasa Safari Camp
#4 of 14 in Outjo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grootberg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootberg Lodge

Property: Grootberg Lodge
Address: Outjo, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Outjo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Outjo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grootberg Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Grootberg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootberg Hotel Damaraland
Grootberg Lodge Namibia/Outjo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing