We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace & luxury just outside Etosha's South Gate”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Outjo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mondjila Safari Camp
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Outjo
Rural England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peace & luxury just outside Etosha's South Gate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just happened on Mondjila as we were approaching Etosha Okaukuejo and were welcomed to this delightful Lodge on a hilltop overlooking the National Park, although we were the only guests. They normally take groups, mainly from France, which probably explains the fantastic standard of food and its beautiful presentation, the best served meals we had in 3 weeks touring Southern Africa.
Accommodation is in luxury tents which make up for lack of space by their excellent design and attention to detail, providing all the lttle extras you might need. A lovely garden to sit in with a pool plus each tent has its own veranda, with table & chairs, from where you can enjoy the view.
Staff were helpful and knowledgeable and a delight to chat with.
We moved on to Etosha after a superb breakfast & booked in to the Okaukuejo lodge. What a contrast to peaceful Mondjila, the cabin was basic in the extreme, mealtimes were a scramble for a table and the buffet was uninspired. In retrospect it would have been better to stay at Mondjila and ask them to arrange their own drives into the park for us - however to do this they do require a bit of notice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieRuralEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

To be honest, we booked at Mondjila only because we couldn't find anything within the Etosha National Park, and this was the nearest place where accomodation was available. We were actually coming from Etosha East, and the place is about 45 kms from the Gate of the park, the last 10 kms being a dirt road. The first thing that tells you that you are near is the gate, which comes out of nowhere, and looks pretty forlorn, but that was a big surprise. We fell in love with the place the moment we stepped through the dining area onto the lawn. You can see rolling hills in front of you, with no man-made structure to disturb the harmony. It was great!
The 'tents' are a shame, because they are sinfully luxurious. I am in a profession where I have had to stay in tents a few times, and you can't really call something a tent if you have comfy mattresses, and the bathroom INSIDE the tent with a hot shower. Basically you get everything that you need to be comfortable, except maybe a little less space, but its supposed to be a tent after all! The view from the deck outside the tent was amazing, and the sunset was magical.
The staff is extremely friendly, and it seemed to me to be a family affair. The food is farmhouse style, and delicious. They sometimes cook a meat dish called "Bobotie", DON'T miss it! I will even go to the extent of saying that you request them to cook it for you. Meals are served in the dining area, which is open from two sides, and you really feel you are in the middle of nowhere.
To top it all, the place is really cheap compared to all the other 'lodges' that you have in the vicinity.
In the morning, we started a little early, and could reach the Etosha gate in 35 mins, just as it was about to open. So, compared to the other places (which are nearer to Etosha), you will have to drive probably an additional 15mins, and I am happy to do that, for the solitude and the overall experience. In fact, the only reason I can think of, to not stay at this place, is if you want to do a 'night safari' in Etosha, and for that, you have to stay INSIDE the park. Nothing else will do, no matter how close you are, as the gates close at sunset, and no 'outsider' is allowed after that.

Room Tip: all the tents are equally good, but probably the tents on the 'lower' row (on your left when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ani_wantstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This title was used by the managers of the lodge and it is totally true, we had an amazing stay. The welcome was very warm & personal, the tents very clean & comfortable and the dinner (farm style) delicious. Our kids loved the surrounds and the bonus quadbike ride was the icing on the cake! This lodge is great for pre-post nights away from the madding Etosha crowds, highly recommended if looking for a comfortable affordable stay close to Etosha.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanja1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have been to Mondjila Safari Lodge in the beginning of July. In comparison to other hotels in the region this place is really affordable and Etosha National Park is really close. The tents are well equiped with a nice shower and toilet and mosquito nets. View from the tents are stunning and especially the sunset is a great experience. We booked the tent including breakfast and dinner cause restaurants are pretty far away. Food was delicious and the stuff is really friendly and helpful. We were the first users of the free wifi internet, we didnt have connection in our tent but in the dinner hall reception was perfect. Would love to come here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anouk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We were 16 people at the lodge that weekend and the hospitality, service and whole experience was fantastic. It's near to Etosha and Mondjila made it all an experience I'll never forget.

Marianna Loots

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarel Jacobus B... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Outjo
46.0 mi away
Etosha Garden
Etosha Garden
#2 of 2 in Outjo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
24.8 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#28 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
144.5 mi away
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
#1 of 14 in Outjo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Sophienhof Lodge
Sophienhof Lodge
#6 of 14 in Outjo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
127.1 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#9 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
50.0 mi away
Sasa Safari Camp
Sasa Safari Camp
#4 of 14 in Outjo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondjila Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondjila Safari Camp

Property: Mondjila Safari Camp
Address: D2779, Outjo 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Outjo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Outjo
Hotel Class:3 star — Mondjila Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 32km from Etosha National Park's Anderson Gate, Mondjila Safari Camp offers prospective visitors to the Park affordable accommodation in a natural setting.Accommodation consists of 11 luxury en-suite tents as well as campsites with ablution facilities. The thatched dining and bar -areas offer breathtaking views over the surrounding mopanie savannah. The Camp is the ideal place from where to start or end tours from Damaraland and Kaokoland.We promise friendly service, excellent food and a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mondjila Safari Camp Namibia/Outjo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing