We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty confectionary”

Outjo Cafe Backerei
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Outjo
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza, European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty confectionary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We loved the variety of freshly baked goods on offer daily. The cappuccino was excellent and they had internet. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kitty553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    32
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stop by on your way to Etosha!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a meal at the place on our way to Etosha. Great place to have a break. We also had a meal at the Farmhouse place on the opposite side on our way back. So we can compare them both. At this place, the food is quicker. But the variety of cakes at Farmhouse restaurant is better. However, this place has more authentic feeling of being a bakkerij. And the staff are incredibly friendly. The food is quick and snack type. We ate a vegetarian quiche which was very good. My children had chicken snitzel with chips which was delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank gitane_in_zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on way back from Grootberg and had a lovely lunch, sat outside under the lappa, good service, good price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JennieNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of Namibia's Best Kept Secrets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Undoubedtedly one of the best meals we had on the road during our recent trip across Namibia, this gem of a bakery is tucked away in the tiny town of Outjo. It's also a great place to stock up on 'padkos' (nibbles for the road). Some staff have worked there for about 20 years and their friendly smiles matched the food. Great value for money at just under ZAR50.00 (N$50) per meal as the portions were a good size, fresh and tasty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty game meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I'm not unfamiliar in eating game meats but one of my friends was. We randomly chose this restaurant in Outjo when we were driving throughout Namibia last November 2012. I had an oryx steak and my friend had a zebra steak. The meats were cooked to our liking and it doesn't have the "game meat" smell. I enjoyed my steak and so did my friend (she wanted to try it again). The restaurant has a very relaxing wee cottages outside to have your meals. The wait staff was attentive and they have a good variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. I would definitely come back again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank annafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outjo Cafe Backerei also viewed

 

Been to Outjo Cafe Backerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing