We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place on top of the world - The place to stay for Damaraland visits”
Review of Ugab Terrace Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Outjo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ugab Terrace Lodge
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Outjo
Certificate of Excellence
Umzumbe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place on top of the world - The place to stay for Damaraland visits”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had booked elsewhere but got a glimpse of the lodge on the way to Vingerklip. Drove up on the return trip, received a warm welcome and managed to wiggle out of our original booking. The 360 degree view from this lodge must be almost unique in the world unless one is on a mountain top. The staff is friendly and amenable, accommodation was fantastic, I think all bungalows have a viewing verandah. Rates at this low season are also very reasonable. Fantastic pool setting, too. Food was ok but catering in low season was probably difficult as originally only two persons were booked and they ended up with twelve guests that night - well who could resist driving past this place. We nearly stayed another night but there was so much more to do in Namibia and our flight back to South Africa was booked. I also did the nature walk to the windmill and cave. Took an hour and a bit over two hills, you got to be reasonably fit. The swiss born manager collected me from my rendezvous with the baboons, whose only source of water is the ever-spouting windmill.

Room Tip: We had the bungalow next to the lodge facing the Ugab Terraces, very quiet. It looks as if all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelene w, Director of Sales at Ugab Terrace Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    53
    34
    14
    2
See reviews for
24
102
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed two nights in Ugab Terrace Lodge, and on the first night, we were the only guests!
It was amazing!

On our way from Etosha to Swakopmung, we made a two night stop at Ugab Terrace Lodge, to visit the Petrified Forest, the Organ Pipes and Twyfelfountain from there.

We arrived in the early afternoon, and spent some time at the pool area, which was really nice, with an amazing view into the area.

The rooms are really beautiful, and are located directly at the hillside, with a breathtaking view into the country. If you leave the curtains open, you can watch the sunrise from your bed, if you have a room on the right side. Otherwise, you can watch the sun going down. ;-)
We had some problems sleeping, because it was very hot these two days, and we found the side windows of the room too late for the first night. The second night was better.
So, it is a very valuable information, that the rooms have windows at the side, too, which you can open. All windows are equipped with mosquito nets.

Dinners was totally amazing on the first night, as we were the only guests, and the employees only took care for us. We watched the sun go down during dinner. Later we had a chat with Urs and Ruth, who run the lodge. Nice people with very good information about the surroundings and road conditions!

During the day we drove to Twyfelfountain, which is a must for all Namibia visitiors. It´s nice, you must look at it. Petrified forest is nice as well, but not as breathtaking as the view from the lodge. Organ pipes are not that interesting, as well as the Burned Moutain...

On the second night we were six people in the lodge, and it was as well a really nice evening.

We will go there again!

Try the Oryx Steak!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelene w, Director of Sales at Ugab Terrace Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We loved the view from this lodge and appreciate that the staff try hard to do a good job. We found the buildings and amenities to be average but relatively good value for the dollar in Namibia. In reading another review here, as I'm writing this, I see there was a long hiking trail a person could take from the lodge. When we asked what we could do in the area, this was not mentioned to us as an option. It would have been worth doing. Water was hot. Room was clean. Management was very respectful when running generators to recharge everything and made sure this was only done at times that did not disturb the beautiful peace and sounds of nature when guests were on their balconies. I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelene w, Director of Sales at Ugab Terrace Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okahandja
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

what a unbelieveble experience..... A simple yet incredible lodge with the most sought after view.... You have a 360 degree view to die for.....
All the staff did their utmost best to make your stay a memorable one.....

You will see us again very soon......

Thank you for this nice weekend.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelene w, Director of Sales at Ugab Terrace Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Overnigjt accommodation here was like living on top of the world.prior to our arrival we visited the delightful Himba Village whom have clung to traditional ways and well worth a visit. This resort is good and the setting spectacular.Friendly staff and management.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelene w, Director of Sales at Ugab Terrace Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perigueux
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The owners of this lodge are so kind and helpful and the staff also. When we booked we said we were vegetarians, and they provided excellent vegetarian meals. Sun rise from our huge bed was stunning. A lovely 2 hour walking path has been cleared, so you can walk from the lodge and the owner will pick you up at a cave at the end. They also suggested we visit the ajoining farm where there are some of the best rock paintings we have seen. It was hot, and the room did get hot in the day - but ask for a sunrise room (they don't get so much sun). A fan would be good in the summer months, though. The pool was a wonderful place to cool off. And there is a lovely terrace to sip a good Namibia beer and watch the sunset.
We stayed for 3 nights and it was a delightful couple of days.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunrise room as they are slightly cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelene w, Director of Sales at Ugab Terrace Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Ugab terrace lodge is set at the top of a steep hill, with incredible views in every directions. The rooms are set along the edge of the hill. They are all very private and with excellent views. Inside the rooms are quite spacious with a shower and wash hand basin and a separate toilet with basin. When we stayed the temperatures were in the mid 30's, the rooms got very hot and there was no air-con or fans. you were only supposed to use a hairdryer or electric shaver between 5.00 and 7.00 in the evenings. The hot water was heated by a wood burning stove at the back of the room, adding to the heat within. Unlike everywhere else we stayed, there was no shampoo or body lotion provided and there was only soap in one wash hand basin. The toilet area of our room was not well cleaned. On the plus side, we probably had the best meal of our 4 week trip here, ibex steak with garlic sauce and cinnamon ice cream. This is a relatively expensive place to stay, so I would expect fans and toiletries as standard.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelene w, Director of Sales at Ugab Terrace Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Outjo
3.6 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#5 of 14 in Damaraland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
18.1 mi away
Damara Mopane Lodge
Damara Mopane Lodge
#1 of 5 in Khorixas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
92.1 mi away
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
#1 of 14 in Outjo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.6 mi away
Sophienhof Lodge
Sophienhof Lodge
#5 of 14 in Outjo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
46.2 mi away
Sasa Safari Camp
Sasa Safari Camp
#4 of 14 in Outjo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
48.1 mi away
Etotongwe Lodge
Etotongwe Lodge
#1 of 3 in Outjo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ugab Terrace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ugab Terrace Lodge

Property: Ugab Terrace Lodge
Address: 15026 57. 52_e Gps: 20020_46. 29_s, Outjo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Outjo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Outjo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ugab Terrace Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Ugab Terrace Lodge Namibia/Outjo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing