We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Weekend Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tern Hill Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tern Hill Hall
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Market Drayton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for a friend’s birthday party a couple of weeks ago and had a really lovely time. We would definitely recommend room 9. The four poster bed was so comfortable, the bath in the room was a quirky/boutique touch and it had beautiful views over the gardens and Shropshire hills.
The new owners have done an amazing job of redecorating the place. It looks like most of the ground floor has been refurbished with the exception of the toilets which we understand are scheduled for the same treatment soon. The following day, a few of our group who stayed over treated ourselves to champagne afternoon tea which was to die for! The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garethwhite1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Its great to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the hall. Room 9 is a particular favourite for a number of our guests. Thank you for such a great review.
Kind Regards
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    24
    8
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
21
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel recently taken over to much publicity, so thought I'd comment on my recent experience. Lunch / dinner was OK, not brilliant, bar area can't decide if its old style country club or new minimalist, bedroom furnishings look hand made . . .by Granny, toilets smell like an old people's home, 50 shades of Grey is a novel not a color scheme and finally, if you have the misfortune to sit in the marquee, be prepared - wrap up warm and take a coat. It was freezing. And don't open the windows as they look lethal.
Experience on whole was disappointing, don't recommend and won't go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I was very disappointed to read your review and your opinion of the hotel. As you rightly said in your title, we are new owners and are making a new start with the hotel. We have major refurbishment plans for the hall and these are now well underway. I see from your review you stayed with us in September last year, at that point the bar had not been refurbished. The new extension is now fully open and is proving to be very popular. We know that the décor of the hall will not suit everybody's taste but we believe the majority are very pleased with the improvements we have made. Once again I am sorry to hear of your bad experience at the hall.
Kind Regards
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel did ring us to advise large function on first night of stay which thoughtful of them. This was to celebrate openin of their new large function room and wow how impressive that looks. Though everyone busy running around they still found time to do us a bar snack before we went out and very nice it was to.
Breakfast good both mornings though slow on sunday and had ask reception to call waitress - but as in no rush not a problem.
We stayed in the parlour the hotels only groundfloor room but beautifully adapted for disabled use with a lovely wet room and very large double bed. There is no window with a view which could be downside if you wanted to just stay in room and chill but not issue for us as we were out most of the time.
If we market drayton again would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyjude52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Market Drayton.
Kind Regards
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel whilst attending a wedding in the area. We had two nights here and many of the other guests where also wedding guests. The Hotel is a red brick "mansion" in need of improvement with external paint chipping. But improvement it is getting! Many of the rooms are already refurbished and looking good. They have sensibly concentrated on the interior first which reflects their care for their guests.

A major new extension has been erected at the side of the building which provides a combination of "event" rooms. When fully opened up, as we saw it, it will hold hundreds of people, depending on the format used. The building opens up onto a sloping lawn shortly to be re-turfed and will make an ideal location for weddings, concerts etc. with a number already planned.

The room we had was the bridal suite, previously the conference room. It was huge with a four poster bed and a very unusual idea, a bath tub in the middle of the room! The owners son came up with this as a means of providing a separate large shower unit as well as the tub.

The view from the large bay window were over the grounds and the Shropshire countryside.

We had a buffet meal on the first evening to cater for people who may arrive late and the quality of the food was excellent. We also had breakfast each day. There was no menu but the staff offered a full "English breakfast" which consisted of eggs, bacon, baked beans, sausages etc. with an option to take off anything you didn't want. Maybe there were other options but we didn't ask.

The staff were excellent and very obliging. One guest asked for hot chocolate and despite some quizzical looks they managed to produce one with masses of cream five minutes later! We also had need of help when the big old fashioned radiator in our newly re-furbished room failed to get hot. But, at 6.30pm on a Friday night we were able to get a plumber there within 5 minutes and the problem was sorted.

A log fire was lit each morning and kept alive all day, which was a very welcoming feature. Most of the carpets and furniture are new. The place was clean despite all the building works going on and final product is obviously going to be very good.

There were a couple of things that need saying. Our daughter and partner stayed in an old room, yet to be renovated and it was cold and jaded. The shower put water all over the floor so was not used a second time. No doubt this will soon be attended to as the new owners have only been here for one year. The grounds are being worked on and a large pile of rubbish in full view of the guests will no doubt be removed shortly but currently detracts from an otherwise pleasant view.

It is very well located being close to some of Shropshire's most beautiful countryside, not far from Chester and en route to North Wales. It is worth a visit now and when fully refurbished will be the place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the first floor as this has all been re-furbished and for the bridal suite if you want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_pound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay at Tern Hill Hall. We are very pleased you liked the roll top bath in your bedroom- a quirky idea from my brother. The extension that you mentioned is now open and proving to be very popular, the gardens are now turfed and we had a great bonfire burning the rubbish - the view is much improved. Once again, thank you for such an honest and positive review.
Kind Regards, Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

A very enjoyable and memorable experience for all our 23 guests. Welcome was good, service was good, food excellent, those guests that had the slow cooked beef all commented how tender and full of flavour it was. The good selection of courses was appreciated by all.

Booking was a pleasant experience with alternative menus discussed and changed where we suggested. When we wanted something special there was no trying to dissaude us. Prices were reasonable and fair.

One of our guests was a vegan, she was offered a choice of dishes which she said was very unusual.

Highly recommended. I cannot comment on the sleeping accomodation since it was not seen or used.

Room Tip: Not applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It's great to hear that we were able to help make your Golden Wedding Anniversary such a special day. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards, Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had Sunday lunch recently. There is a refurbishment campaign well underway which shows in improvements to the decor. Food, not bad, but a tad, not actually bland, but mundane, little or no flair. Staff whilst willing have much to learn. Does no-one bother to train staff in silver service nowadays. Which side to serve from, never put a finger in a glass or cup from which a client has to drink, certainly not at the table and so . A cheery "Looks as though you enjoyed that Sir, or may I bring you anything else Madam would do wonders. Little things, but if Tern Hill is setting itself up to compete with Goldstone a course of etiquette and charm would benefit. Finally the last time I went into a two rosette kitchen to express my appreciation to chef, in large letter on the inside of the service out door was just one word, SMILE.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckleeSalop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear the food and service did not live up to your expectations. We are constantly improving everything at the hall and the staff do receive training where needed. We aim to provide a more modern dining experience for Sunday lunches in a relaxing environment that is suitable for families with children, not the traditional silver service. We hope you will visit the hall again to see the further changes we have made.
Kind Regards, Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The welcome and dining environment are very good. The food and service was excellent and the staff pleasant. The music was slightly loud and repetitive. The toilets were disappointing and badly in need of both cleaning and refurbishment. Of particular worry was the abandoned dirty tea towel on the sink in the gents. The hotel is presently undergoing refurbishment and this may go some way to explaining why the toilets are in such a state. The overall grading of Average reflects our disappointment of eating in an establishment with dirty toilet facilities. Great location, great staff, great food...sort your toilets out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleWOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very aware the toliets are in need of being refurbished, a date has been set to commence work on the facilities. We will be monitoring the house keeping of the toliets more closely as a result of your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for this. We were however pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and your kind comments about the staff. We hope to be welcoming you back to the hall in the not too distant future.
Kindest Regards, Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Drayton
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.2 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
20.0 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ternhill Farm House
Ternhill Farm House
#1 of 10 in Market Drayton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tern Hill Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tern Hill Hall

Property: Tern Hill Hall
Address: Tern Hill Road, Market Drayton TF9 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Market Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Market Drayton
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Tern Hill Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tern Hill Hall Market Drayton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing