We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden Wedding Celebration Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tern Hill Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tern Hill Hall
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Market Drayton
Certificate of Excellence
Market Drayton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Golden Wedding Celebration Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

A very enjoyable and memorable experience for all our 23 guests. Welcome was good, service was good, food excellent, those guests that had the slow cooked beef all commented how tender and full of flavour it was. The good selection of courses was appreciated by all.

Booking was a pleasant experience with alternative menus discussed and changed where we suggested. When we wanted something special there was no trying to dissaude us. Prices were reasonable and fair.

One of our guests was a vegan, she was offered a choice of dishes which she said was very unusual.

Highly recommended. I cannot comment on the sleeping accomodation since it was not seen or used.

Room Tip: Not applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It's great to hear that we were able to help make your Golden Wedding Anniversary such a special day. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards, Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    24
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
36
21
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had Sunday lunch recently. There is a refurbishment campaign well underway which shows in improvements to the decor. Food, not bad, but a tad, not actually bland, but mundane, little or no flair. Staff whilst willing have much to learn. Does no-one bother to train staff in silver service nowadays. Which side to serve from, never put a finger in a glass or cup from which a client has to drink, certainly not at the table and so . A cheery "Looks as though you enjoyed that Sir, or may I bring you anything else Madam would do wonders. Little things, but if Tern Hill is setting itself up to compete with Goldstone a course of etiquette and charm would benefit. Finally the last time I went into a two rosette kitchen to express my appreciation to chef, in large letter on the inside of the service out door was just one word, SMILE.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckleeSalop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear the food and service did not live up to your expectations. We are constantly improving everything at the hall and the staff do receive training where needed. We aim to provide a more modern dining experience for Sunday lunches in a relaxing environment that is suitable for families with children, not the traditional silver service. We hope you will visit the hall again to see the further changes we have made.
Kind Regards, Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The welcome and dining environment are very good. The food and service was excellent and the staff pleasant. The music was slightly loud and repetitive. The toilets were disappointing and badly in need of both cleaning and refurbishment. Of particular worry was the abandoned dirty tea towel on the sink in the gents. The hotel is presently undergoing refurbishment and this may go some way to explaining why the toilets are in such a state. The overall grading of Average reflects our disappointment of eating in an establishment with dirty toilet facilities. Great location, great staff, great food...sort your toilets out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleWOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very aware the toliets are in need of being refurbished, a date has been set to commence work on the facilities. We will be monitoring the house keeping of the toliets more closely as a result of your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for this. We were however pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and your kind comments about the staff. We hope to be welcoming you back to the hall in the not too distant future.
Kindest Regards, Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel was our accomodation on day 5 of our Lands End to John o' Groats cycle ride. We arrived at the hotel absolutely sodden, hungry and in low spirits. Given the price that we had paid, we weren't expecting much, but our expectations were totally surpassed.

The star of the show was James who is a huge asset to the hotel and made the whole experience fantastic. He took care of securing our bikes somewhere safe, put all of our soaking wet gear in the tumble drier and served us a meal fit for kings and basically waited on us hand and foot.

The bathroom was superb, the beds comfortable and the lovely breakfast, packed full of carbs, was prepared for us earlier than the stated times so that we could get an early start on the bikes.... all taken care for St. James.

All in all, we were overhelmed with our stay and whole heartedly recommend this hotel, especially to weary travellers. Once again, massive thanks to James!

Tom & Adam

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Congratulations for completing your epic bike trip! Its great to hear that 'St James' made you feel so welcome and looked after you beyond your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again if you decide to do a round 2.
Kindest Regards, Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Many thanks to the Marson family and staff for a fantastic evening. From the moment we stepped into the elegant entrance hall greeted by a welcoming glass of bubbly to the time we reluctantantly left for home we were afforded everything we needed to make our Christmas dinner/party one to remember. As a group of friends we have celebrated Christmas with either a dinner or party night for the past 10 years at the very least and can honestly say last night was the best ever. The marquee looked stunning from the twinkly lights as you walked through to the tasteful festive table decorations in the marquee which set the scene for what was to come. The attention to detail – as usual – was second to none. The staff and service were excellent. The food (which to be honest at Christmas parties wherever we have been - usually not very good) was the up to the Hall’s usual excellence. The Band and Disco were both really enjoyable. Booking will definitely be made for next Christmas but more visits will be made before! Many thanks to everyone again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandK_H_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Its great to hear that you had such a good time at your Christmas party. We all really enjoyed the party nights, it was a great atmosphere. Keep checking our website for details of how to book Christmas 2013. Look forward to seeing you at the hall soon.
Kindest Regards Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have been lunch visitors at Tern Hill Hall for a number of years and have never had a bad meal. We understand that the hotel is now under new management so were a little unsure what to expect when we arrived for lunch on Sunday 4th November. The dining room has been tastefully refurbished with plenty of room between tables. The menu holders are an improvement over the single sheets of paper previously shown. The food was excellent and well presented, the serving staff boys and girls were suberb. They looked as though they enjoyed their jobs which helps to create a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Its great to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and that you liked the changes we are making. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.Regards Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Went for Sunday lunch on 31st September with friends ( had been before but was not great then!)
Greeted by friendly staff and sat in bar with menus very nice log fire roaring away !
Hotel going through a refurb but still comfy
Was very busy but served fast and efficiently I had the slow roasted pork belly! Mama Mia!! I nearly died and went to heaven !! Crispy succulent and amazing flavour with the veg it was roasted on still clinging to the bottom crackling to die for ! And the red wine sauce was superb !!!!!!! Friends had the roast Sirloin of beef which was pink and juicy with a beautiful Yorkshire pudding my other friend had a ragout of mushroom in puff pastry this she said was one of the best vegi dishes she had ever had out the puff pastry was cut out in the shape of a large CEP Mushroom very quirky! Desserts were something else ! Pavlova with fresh fruit amazing ! And a spotted dick ( light lemon flavour) with custard. Also brilliant !! Well worth the £18.95 will be back ! (So much better than when I last went in march)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyL485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It is a pleasure to hear such nice feedback about our Restaurant and staff. We are very proud of the seasonal menu we offer and will pass on your comments to our chef. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Drayton
9.0 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.1 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
19.8 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
14.9 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ternhill Farm House
Ternhill Farm House
#1 of 10 in Market Drayton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tern Hill Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tern Hill Hall

Property: Tern Hill Hall
Address: Tern Hill Road, Market Drayton TF9 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Market Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Market Drayton
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Tern Hill Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tern Hill Hall Market Drayton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing