We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely dining venue”
Review of Tern Hill Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tern Hill Hall
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Market Drayton
Certificate of Excellence
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely dining venue”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have recently moved back to Ternhill, and took my family for dinner at Tern Hill Hall to escape the moving boxes cluttering my house. Staff were exceptionally polite and attentive; at all times providing friendly and efficient service. My in-laws were staying with us, and we were all agreed the the setting was very agreeable and that the bar area and dining room were tasteful, elegant and very comfortable. The menu is not large, which I believe usually suggests quality food well prepared and presented, and I was not wrong. The food was excellent and locally sourced, and is perfectly complemented by a choice and affordable wine list. My 4 year old son innocently asked for jelly (his favourite dessert which was not a menu item), and one of the waitresses said she would see what she could do and presently returned with a jelly and ice-cream mix. The cheese board was one of the best I have had at any restaurant.

Whilst we were only there for dinner and I cannot comment on the rooms, it would appear that the new management are sinking heart and soul into this establishment, and on the basis of service and food, I would say it has the makings of a fantastic venue. I shall certainly be strongly recommending it for its food and friendly, efficient service. My thanks to Laura Marson and her staff that were on duty for such a pleasant evening. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
It's great to hear you and your family enjoyed yourselves at the hall. Thank you for your kind comments. I hope you have settled back into the area well and have unpacked all your boxes. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
21
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Beds were very comfortable and paid staff very helpful,. James was brillient and nothing was too much trouble for him. I do feel that the refurb is going to take a long time and waking up in a comfortable bed does not make up for peeling wallpaper, cracked ceilings and windows that do not open and the most awfull bathrooms I have ever seen
Boxs of cereal and the tea were the only good thing about the breakfast, the " full english " was a mixture of overcooked, undercooked food all very geasy. Not somewhere we would visit again or recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Its such a shame you experienced these problems during your stay. I'm very sorry you did not feel the rooms were up to standard, we now have two en-suite bedrooms that have been fully refurbished. I understand your concerns for the length of time for work to be completed, however building work started last week on the ballroom and new orangery, contract builders are scheduled to complete work by end of Jan next year. I hope you will be able to visit again to see all the improvements we have made. Once again I apologise but very much appreciate your feedback.
Kind Regards
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Tern Hill Hall Hotel is elegant, spotless, and wonderfully situated. Myself and a few friends stayed there for a catch-up weekend and we loved the atmosphere. Our rooms were lovely and spacious over looking the pretty grounds, the bed extremely comfortable and the food was fantastic. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful about what we could do in the area. The hotel is situated in a fantastic location to cater to whatever activities you may want to do. Thanks for being such fantastic hosts! We'll definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Its great to hear you enjoyed both the hotel and the local area. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had my mum's 70th birthday party here in May and from the start the new owners were a pleasure to deal with, with nothing being a problem or any request too much trouble.
The day itself was perfect for my mum, staff were great, still smiling with a dozen small children getting in their way and the food delicious and plentiful.
There are more refurbishments to be done by the owners but this is still a great venue for functions.
What a nice change to have somewhere these days that exceeded what were some high expectations and give great value for money as well.
Good luck to the new owners!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It is great to hear that you you enjoyed your recent family party here at Tern Hill Hall. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Tracey Marson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Wonderful Mother's Day family lunch couldn't fault it in anyway, new owners are currently refurbishing the Hall and the dining room is now stunning. Excellent food, expecially the white chocolate torte, really good value for money. We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGreenwell24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a kind review. As you are aware Mothers Day was the opening of the newly refurbished restaurant and we were so pleased to be able to show it off. This is just the first step to a newly refurbished Tern Hill Hall. We hope we will be seeing you again soon and be able to show you more improvements.
Kind Regards
Tracey Marson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle u Lyme
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed there as part of a wedding group. I can only say I felt sorry for the bridal party if our room was anything to go by. The bed springs had sprung through the mattress, toilet was dirty, the room had the overbearing atmosphere of Miss Haversham. some of the wedding party stopped at the Goldstone Hall hotel - wish we'd done the same.
Faulty Towers could be taught a lot from this place!

Room Tip: Choose Goldstone Hall instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffsMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, Owner at Tern Hill Hall, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Tern Hill Hall. I notice that your stay was in November of last year. I am pleased to let you know that as of late December last year the Hotel has new owners. We are hoping to completely undergo a refurbishment program over the next twelve months. One of the key areas to be refurbished and modernised is the bedrooms.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Tern Hill Hall for you to experience the changes we make.

Thank you once again

Tracey Marson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Just a quick review, stayed here for 2 days (1 overnight stay) for a sales meeting. The food is good, staff are good and general walkway / public areas reasonable but my, oh my, the bedrooms are outdated. I stayed in room 8 and was welcomed by the biggest spider in Shropshire in the bathroom. This [bath] room is shocking, the ceiling falling apart and very, very dated. the low energy bulb made it look like a prison cell.

It needs an injection of money and quickly, if the rooms were repainted and a few quid spent then I am sure this hotel would be back to it's former glory. It would be sad to lose it.

Well done to the staff who were excellent. Strange thing though... they ALL drive Peugeot 206's!????

Room Tip: keep out of 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NICK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Drayton
9.0 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.1 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
19.8 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
14.9 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ternhill Farm House
Ternhill Farm House
#1 of 10 in Market Drayton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tern Hill Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tern Hill Hall

Property: Tern Hill Hall
Address: Tern Hill Road, Market Drayton TF9 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Market Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Market Drayton
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Tern Hill Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tern Hill Hall Market Drayton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing