We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super lunch”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Market Drayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goldstone Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Market Drayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My friend and I often meet for lunch, trying out different restaurants and today we stumbled on this little gem. As the last reviewer mentioned the attention to detail was super, those finishing touches making all the difference for a very pleasurable experience. The food was very delicious and well presented, the staff attentive and welcoming and the ambiance good.
Hats off to the management and staff - you are doing a super job! We certainly will be seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AandL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 198 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have visited this hotel a few times and we are always blown away by the faultless attention to detail by all the staff. The food is second to none and the wines are good too. The room is immaculate and the bed sooooo comfy!! The gardens are a delight and we look forward to our next visit, which can't come soon enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naughtynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We made a very last minute booking and chose the hotel just because it was close to where we needed to be, but stumbled upon a gem. Great decor, immaculately clean, dinner and breakfast delicious and high quality, winter so gardens not seen to their best but would be lovely in summer, expansive room, comfy bed. We were the only people in the hotel and having dinner but the service level was just right and we had a lovely evening.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Our niece was getting married at Goldstone and we decided to 'make a week-end of it' and stayed the night before.
We arrived in torrential rain (great fun getting THE frock etc out of the car!) but by the time everything was unloaded and we were ensconced in our beautiful bedroom, everything was fine. We were in Westcott, a huge and very charming room overlooking the gardens. The bathroom (with large tub and shower cubicle) and Gilchrist and Soames toiletries was lovely - a real feeling of luxury.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was true gourmet cuisine.
The staff cannot be faulted and big thanks to 'the girls' who kept my husband supplied with coffee (and beer!) as he waited until 4am for 'surprise guests' on a much delayed flight.
Next morning: perfect weather and the day went without a hitch, thanks to John and his staff. The ceremony took place in The Oak Pavilion and it was very special, once again, a big thanks to staff who quickly supplied more seating when several 'evening' guests attended the ceremony as well. There were plenty of canapes and we were kept well-supplied with Pimms as the photos were taken!
The meal itself was lovely as was the evening 'do' (a hog roast) and everyone enjoyed wandering around the gardens (great for the children, too - to 'let off steam')
We 'had taken over the hotel' and the next morning we had a leisurely breakfast together and another wander round the gardens.
It was a perefect week-end and I think we need to go back again to really enjoy the hotel without the distraction of a wedding!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A.B.GBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Perfect setting and decor everything one imagines of an English Country House
We went for a wedding, everything was perfect and the food was the best I have eaten at a wedding feast.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaBamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in a deluxe room. Fantastic room with amazing bed and bathroom. Only downside is the bathroom floor was cold and they do not provide slippers. A member of staff informed me that there is underfloor heating but the management has not deemed it cold enough yet to put it on(it was November)! The gardens are beautiful and we had a pleasant walk. We had afternoon tea in the bar - selection was very good. The door from the bar to the kitchens was left open and we had to listen to the staff conversations - it would have been nice to have music to listen to instead. Evening meal was ok but I expected better for the price. The atmosphere was stuffy and uncomfortable, again no music. The steak was not the best quality and everything was too salty. The staff look scruffy - more like coffee shop staff than a high class restaurant - service was friendly just not professional. I don't like to be so negative as it really is a beautiful hotel but it is also very expensive. It is 5 star prices but not 5 star standard in the restaurant.I would stay again or attend a function there but would not go for a romantic meal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed at Goldstone Hall for two nights. I can honestly say it is the best two nights I have stayed anywhere in the UK! The staff are lovely, very welcoming, polite and helpful. The atmosphere in this tranquil, ruraly located Hotel is wonderful. The peaceful garden is just wonderful to walk around.
The food is superb. I had some beautiful plaice one night, the other night I had roast beef which was utterly delicious.

If you are ever in Shropshire you must take time to visit Goldstone, the heart of Britain!

Room Tip: They're all lovelt so I wouldnt mind any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Drayton
22.6 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
472 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
432 reviews
13.6 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
16.0 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,256 reviews
16.6 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldstone Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldstone Hall Hotel

Address: Goldstone Road, Market Drayton TF9 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Market Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Market Drayton
Hotel Class:3 star — Goldstone Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning rural hotel & restaurant. Over 30 years we have built up a reputation for quality dining and comfortable bedrooms in beautiful gardens. The power driving the menu of this "classic but never fusty" country house hotel is its vast and beautiful kitchen garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goldstone Hall Hotel Market Drayton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing