We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Wharf Tavern

Wharf Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lichfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Thanks for always being consistent when ever we coming in and sometimes it can be months in between our visits your food is always first class plenty on your plate and good value for money

Helpful?
Thank ra1nb0wstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    79
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just back today from a weekend caravanning at the Wharf Tavern, fantastic spot next to the canal. Mixed weather as you expect this time of the year, the facilities were fantastic. Caravan Park was spotless and well maintained, the field is just across the un-busy country road from the busy Tavern.
Tavern the staff and the locals made us very welcome with a good choice of beers and wine, the food is British based and you get plenty of it, slightly on the expensive side but very, very enjoyable.
Taxi into Market Drayton for 4 people was £8.00 try to book a return time and pickup place as trying to get one back was very difficult. Plenty to do and see around the area would highly recommend this caravan park and the Tavern for food

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Succulent steaks”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We callled in here for our 42nd wedding anniversary meal. Now we live on a narrowboat and we slogged through some horrendous weather to get here, so you must realise how highly we rate the steaks at this place! It was gorgeous, we both had 8oz fillet steaks, medium, 18.50 each and they were cooked to perfection, they absolutely deserve their reputation. Accompanied by a fresh crisp salad, chips, mushrooms and - to die for - battered onion rings. The steaks cut like a knife through butter. We had a bottle of house wine to accompany and I had the hot Choc fudge cake with lashings of creamfor dessert. The downside? a waitress that didn't know how to smile. How hard is that? But we won't let that ours off, maybe she'll have been replaced by the time we go back again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Just visited the wharf for lunch. We both had the homemade scampi and chips. It was wonderful, succulent scampi and fresh chips along with a large side of fresh salad. Perfect place to spend a cool autumnal afternoon, watching the wildlife on the canal. Well worth visiting.

Helpful?
Thank Shropshirelass71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The worst service ever experienced.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A truly miserable waitress, with no training. Choice of vegetables with all meals is chips,French fries or chips. Having waited for the waitress to take our desert order as she was so busy talking to her mates, we were the only people in there dining , we went to the bar to order. I may have ordered incorrectly but when I asked her to change one dessert she decided to tell me off.
AWFUL, don't go here

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bbb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Tavern also viewed

Market Drayton, Shropshire
 
Market Drayton, Shropshire
Market Drayton, Shropshire
 
Pipe Gate, Market Drayton
Market Drayton, Shropshire
 

Been to Wharf Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing