We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
A beautiful natural garden set in an old quarry

We love this place. It is only 3 miles from where we live, so we visit often using our annual... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
U5184KFgeorged
via mobile
Well worth a visit

All those who aspire to work in their own gardens must appreciate all the work that has gone into... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
stewartmiller2412
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Read all 318 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Market Drayton
from $75.46
More Info
from $58.54
More Info
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
200
81
16
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
200
81
16
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop chilli festival full bloom tea room car park scones entrance fee old quarry well worth a visit winding paths on arrival herbaceous borders annual membership unusual plants my mum for sale take home
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I often come to the garden for a stroll and lunch. In the tearoom I recommend the soups, often made with produce from their edible garden, the tuna sandwich and the scones, which are made everyday onsite.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank GourmetCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

This is our first time visit here because it was a paid for gift of entry and tea for 2. I have to say I'm well impressed with the place, the gardens are well looked after and good for a hour or so walk about. Obviously not the best time of year to visit but it's seasonal so can't complain about that. Now the tea for two was spot on we felt very very well looked after and have a very good range of food and the staff was friendly professional and caring. Really can't rate it high enough. Well done to you all

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank griffinmk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thankyou for your very positive review and your 5 star rating. we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit - especially as it was a present. We are extremely proud of our staff - both garden and retail are a fabulous team and I think this is reflected in the visitor's experience.
Do visit again maybe in another season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019 via mobile

We visited over a bank holiday when one of two annual plant sales were taking place. This certainly brought the visitors in. It was a very hot day and we headed for the cafe first. This was disappointing as the staff were not very attentive at the counter, the inside area was warm and stifely and busy while the outside was busy but lacked shaded areas to sit. The food was average which was shared with the bees and flies......the downside of being in an open garden area on a hot day!
The gardens were well laid out but disappointingly lacked colour. Unfortunately the plant sale took over the enjoyment of the visit. It would be best to avoid a peak time such as this to enjoy these gardens.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank wendydW2254HN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and for the four star rating. I am sorry your visit coincided with one of our busiest, hottest days of the year. In actual fact a record Plant Fair. We do try to advertise far and wide - both to bring the visitors in and to warn others who would prefer to visit on a quieter day. Our Fund raising days are very important to us as a charity but we do realise that some visitors prefer a little more solitude. We are actually thinking of introducing 'Silent Space' where we ask visitors to observe a little quiet refection over a given period - even turning off their mobile phones.
We do hope to see you again on a quieter day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

These are very pretty gardens to wander around. They have a litte waterfall which is nice and lots of plants that attract a lot of bugs butterflies and bees. There is a cafe that sell tasty cakes and ice cream. There is plenty of parking and it is dog friendly.
I recommend a visit.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2019

Thank you so much for your recommendation - it always means more from a previous visitor. Thrilled you enjoyed your visit so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019

My wife and I went to see the gardens on the recommendation of a friend. Be aware it's not cheap to visit. Most of the plants were probably past their best as Summer is well underway but there was still much to appreciate. The layouts and mixture of plants gave us many ideas that we could use. The garden has a woodland walk which inclines, so might not be suitable for some disabled people. The garden itself isn't that big but enough to occupy most people for an hour or so.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Thank you for your review. we are thrilled you found some of the planting schemes of help. We do try to explain what each of the areas are about - for example the arid bed near to the Tearooms which we never water but is flowering beautifully at present and the AGM border where each plant has been awarded the RHS Award of Garden Merit.
There is still a huge amount of colour in the garden with the late summer Tropical beds, Hydrangeas and of course the Glasshouse which is approaching its best.
As you mention we are a hillside garden which may lead to some difficulty for some of our visitors but we do offer a disabled route and we do have an electric wheelchair available for free loan.
We normally advise 2.5 to 3 hours to actually appreciate the garden - plus lunch of course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews