We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pub Grub”
Review of Gingerbread Man

Gingerbread Man
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Pub Grub”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A bit 'formularic' as many chain pubs can be, but overall, good food at a reasonable price. Look out for special deals on food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    47
    39
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Went on a Sunday at 13:30 for a pre reserved family gathering of 20. Having read some reviews, we were expecting a bit of a wait if the restaurant was busy so we were pretty hopeful when we arrived to find it about half full. However when we placed the order, we were advised it would be an hour wait for food, as it was a family gathering, we decided to wait; we were therefore very disappointed that it was nearly 90 minutes before our meals were brought out. On the plus side, decor and cleanliness is fine; portion sizes are good and the food is of pretty good quality for a chain pub, however the vegetables and chips were virtually stone cold, had we not have been so hungry at this point, they would have been sent back. Finally when we asked about desert we were told it would be another 50 minutes so we didnt bother, more fool them as they lost the revenue from 20 deserts and probably another round of 20 drinks. We have been to other Brewers Fayre pubs before and had good experiences but this was a real disappointment that can only be attributed to poor management.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilwern, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Basic pub grub”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Basic, good pub grub. Good service. Staff friendly. Looked as if they were very well set up for families and children. Restaurant a bit cavenous. Toilets pretty awful though, be warned!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethandAlO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After reading a poor review, i decided to give it a go, i like to try out different venues of these 'chains' just to see if it is the service or the food, or the overall company policy of cheap and cheerful.
I was pleasantly surprised, the food was well cooked, generous portions and the waiting time was 10 minutes at most and this was a Sunday Lunchtime a notriously busy period...however the staff were friendly.
I would recommend this place, just off a main road plenty of parking spaces
Just a little niggle...would like some more choices other than the Heniz packet assortment of ketchup,mayo,brown sauce,tartar or horseradish, i like a bit of mint sauce or cranberry with my Sunday Lunch..but overall very pleased

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethany186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
131 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Not too bad for this type of restaurant”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Recently called in for a family lunch for 5 of us, on our way back home from a graduation at Keele University.
You usually know what to expect with this "Brewers Fayre, Beefeater, Harvester" type restauarant. Food and service is generally adequate at best, but usually no better than that. Surprisingly, this turned out to be reasonably good - portions were generous and having ordered a steak (medium rare), I expected this, as always, to be somewhat overcooked and generally lacking in taste - I have to say it was cooked perfectly, tender and tasteful. Service was quick (they were very quiet!), friendly and polite.
Overall, the meal for 5 including drinks was just over £40 - remarkable value and pleasantly surprising.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingerbread Man also viewed

Market Drayton, Shropshire
Market Drayton, Shropshire
 
Market Drayton, Shropshire
Market Drayton, Shropshire
 

Been to Gingerbread Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing