We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, excellent service, good food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ternhill Farm House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent our summer holiday at this B&B - and Jo and Mike did everything to make it a wonderful experience! They have made an enormous effort to make their B&B a huge success, caring very much for the minor details.
It is true, the nightly traffic noise is a reality, but each night you will find new ear-plugs which are efficient enough to help even me - a notoriously bad sleeper - to drop off and get some sound sleep. The matresses are very comfortable and the beds (we can talk for the Hodnet double room and are confirmed by our daughter about Ironbridge) are equipped with anti-allergic covers, so there is no reason to complain at all even if you must consider yourself a sensitive guest.
Mind you, in daytime, the situation of the house is an advantage - you'll get everywhere in a reasonable time (towns like Shrewsbury or Chester, regions like Wales or the Peaks), and Market Drayton or Whitchurch are nearby so you can find your supermarket (if necessary).
Another big point was the food. Even in England (spaking as a German), it is occasionally difficult to find reliable gluten-free diet, and some inns boast with their menu on their website and what you get in reality is a steak with chips and peas or a jacket potato with hot butter (both of which are ok once in a while, but not on regular terms). Not so with Ternhill Farm House: Each of the selection of approximately 10 regular dishes, special offers aside, is available in excellent gluten-free quality. Breakfast: You'll get a choice of yummy variations, ranging from a full English Breakfast to the standard Continental, but in between you'll find combinations of egg and salmon, or poached eggs, or mushroom and cheese, or simply beans (all of this selection on toast) - so everybody should find themselves a breakfast for their individual needs (again, gluten-free or dairy-free, no problem).
Last not least, we should also gratefully mention Mike's daily suggestions for day trips into Shropshire, and (once again) each of them was a success and a very welcome addition to our own plans. Everybody else in the staff was extremely friendly, and they made us miss the place very much even now, 10 days after our return to Germany.
All in all, we are determined to go back there next year - and look happily forward to seeing them all again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meyerju35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Friendly welcome by Jo who immediately produced a pot of tea/coffee and biscuits.Large spotless bedroom[+shower room/toilet] with a good variety of packeted drinks and FRESH milk.Nice touch being baskets of sweets placed in public areas. Great food with evening meals reasonably priced.Regretably the property is positioned at the side of a very busy roundabout where the A53 andA41 meet [see Google street-view].Our [full-priced] bedroom which looked down onto the road and part of the roundabout had been unsuccessfully soundproofed.The earplugs at the side of the bed should have been a clue because sleep was fitful, spoiled by the frequant noise of passing traffic, including many lorries.Quiet early morning strolls planned from the property were out of the question. Another couple in the group had a similar problem with a noisy bedroom. Would I return? Afraid not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A very relaxing and well-run accommodation - felt more like a small hotel than a B&B (meant as a compliment). Unobtrusive, warm & helpful hosts. Clean, comfortable & spacious room (Shrewsbury) with good bed & shower. Secondary glazing did the job of keeping out busy road noise. Good ingredients & cooking at breakfast. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longliein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Ternhill farm House Cottage restaurant is a bit off the beaten track but is well worth the journey. We didn't realise that they do not accept under 14's but they allowed us to bring our 8 year old nephew and were very accommodating. The service was attentive without being "in your face" and the menu was explained very well with any questions being politely addressed. We had a very relaxing evening and left with very full and satisfied tummies! The overall cost was good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I (Americans) stayed four nights at Ternhill Farm House and dined twice at The Cottage Restaurant while visiting English cousins in Market Drayton and Walsall, and were very pleased with Mike, Jo & Tom Abraham's gracious hospitality, our very comfortable and spacious room (Hodnet), and the excellent food. The accommodations fully met our expectations, the hosts & staff were very helpful, and the food far exceeded expectations. The varied menu was inspired, the food attractively presented, and our meat and fish dishes were delicious and perfectly cooked. We strongly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed at Ternhill while touring Shropshire. Allocated Ironbridge which looks out over the garden (you can't see the petrol station from this room). This room has the stairwell box in it, so has smaller footprint than could be available. Separate toilet and shower, with the latter being a cubicle in the room itself.

Great breakfast. Good selection on the menu which can be pre-ordered.

Good free wi-fi.

We stayed on a Sunday and Monday night, both of which the restaurant is closed. North Shropshire seems to have had more than it's share of pubs closing down, so finding somewhere good to eat was quite difficult.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpookH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed hear again with family in April and had yet another wonderful stay. Fabulous rooms with everything you need and more (never seen so many varieties of tea's or coffee's). The beds are some of the most comfortable we have stayed in and the rooms are all large and spacious. Yet again the food was outstanding. we just love eating in the Cottage Restaurant and just wish we lived nearer. Jo and Mike with their son Thomas run a superb place and throughly derserve the awards and ratings they have achieved. can't wait for our next visit. hopefully not too long now.

Room Tip: Hawkstone is lovely but all rooms are large and spacious and the beds are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fifitrixibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Drayton
4.6 mi away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
432 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#1 of 1 in Hodnet
242 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Four Alls Inn
The Four Alls Inn
#2 of 8 in Market Drayton
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tudor House Hotel and Restaurant
Tudor House Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Market Drayton
95 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ternhill Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ternhill Farm House

Address: Tern Hill, Market Drayton TF9 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Market Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Market Drayton
Price Range: $101 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ternhill Farm House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this Grade II Listed Georgian farmhouse set in an acre of gardens. A wonderful blend of character oak beams & floors with more contemporary luxuries. The individually furnished spacious rooms are named after places of interest in the area and all in a strict non-smoking environment. All rooms have private facilities, radio/alarm, flat screen colour TV with Freeview/DVD/CD player, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, free WiFi Access, complimentary toiletries and are individually furnished with rich fabrics, plump duvets and cotton bed-linen. Breakfast is something of a sumptuous affair offering a wide choice of breakfast dishes. As well as an Honesty Bar, Residents can enjoy freshly made sandwich, light salad or Deli platter(subject to pre-order 48 hours prior to arrival) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ternhill Farm House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ternhill Farm House Market Drayton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing