We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant atmosphere....food interesting”
Review of Muse

Muse
Reserve with OpenTable
Muse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Wakefield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Perched over the MacLaren falls, our two restaurants offer dramatic views and a true gastronomic experience with menus based on a traditional French and Quebecois style, using local produce with exciting international influences.Muse, our fine dining restaurant, is open daily for breakfast and dinner. On Sundays, enjoy our famous Sunday brunch buffet from 9am-2pm. For something more relaxed, the Heron Room restaurant offers a Wine and Tapas bar alongside a popular bistro menu. The Heron Room and adjoining Bar Lounge is open daily from noon and features live music on Fridays and Saturdays from 7-10pm.Please visit our website for our most up to date menus.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We recently stayed for a two night package. The atmosphere of the Inn, bar and the Muse is very nice....cosy, and elegant at the same time. Nice backgound music, real wood fires, white linen and crystal etc.

The menu is adventurous and like other reviewers, we were not always sure what we were eating. Some items were more successful than others. When I mentioned on the second night that I was surprised to see the same menu two nights in a row....it was suggested that the chef could make us something else which was great. Also as I had tried the creme brulee which came with popcorn and sherbet..(one of the less happy combinations for my taste), I asked for only the ice cream the next time and it came beautifully garnished with fresh berries.

The only small problem we had came at the first breakfast - when they forgot mine. After serving my husband the waiter asked me if I had changed my mind? They quickly apologized and after a time my crepes arrived. As I wasn't starving and there is a buffet section as well there was little harm done.

Overall we enjoyed ourselves and had a needed rest. The bar is nice but a bit pricey as some tend to be. They are happy to run a tab and add it to your hotel bill which is nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fishingforinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Fishingforinfo. Thank you for being our overnight guests and for your thorough review of your dining experiences at Muse. We very much regret the breakfast oversight and appreciate your kind understanding of the mix-up. We also appreciate you letting us know that you found the flexibility of the kitchen in meeting your requests for something off the menu to your liking. It sounds like you enjoyed a relaxing getaway, and we look forward to you visiting with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 322 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

We (3 couples) were here for St-Valentines dinner. We got there about 1 hour ahead to enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of their ground floor bar area.

Service there was sporadic, but attentive when they got to you.
They were "out" of a few items (e.g. no stout beer on tap) at the bar, but overall, we were OK with this area which featured a bonus with live entertainment after dinner.

The menu was (very) limited (Valentine's table d'hôte only) and listed the same choices that other TripAdvisor reviewers criticized on their ( non Valentine's) visits. Our table guests were disappointed that their signature chef's discovery gourmet dinner (i.e. surprise small gourmet dishes) was not offered on such a special occasion.

Some of the appetizer dishes, including the caramelized onions in mine, were lukewarm at best.
A few of us ordered the beef steak on the menu, but some did not show up on the table with correct degree of "doneness" and the servers seemed mixed up on which plate was for which guest...

Speaking for my main dish, the steak doneness was definitely off and I informed the server that this was not as ordered. "It is done as ordered" was the response after a considerable wait. There were colourful splashes of various mashed items on the plate, but I'll be damned if I could figure out what some of them were - the flavours just weren't there for me.

We have been taking guests to the Muse about twice a year for quite some time now, but the last few visits were not up to par and the value (customer experience) for money has definitely eroded away. My advise for now is to look for alternatives until this venue gets it's act back together, as it can offer a truly relaxing and epicurean experience when it gets it right as it did in the past.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent comments with us, which have been shared with our chef and wait staff. We apologize that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. Our new executive chef will be joining our team at the end of this month, and we truly hope that you will consider a return visit to sample the changes he will be implementing to the our menus and guest experiences. As you noted, a fine meal within the ambience that the Mill offers can be a delightful outing. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Wakefield Mill is a lovely inn with an exceptional restaurant. We stayed here for four nights and ate like royalty. The chef is really creative in the presentation of his meals and in the taste experience. An example would be a dish my husband ordered one night: Peas done four different ways. Wow! A pea purée that was lightly perfumed with what, I don't know, but it was delicious. Then there was a pea gnocchi that was fresh and delicate. A pea gelatine, also great. I can't remember the fourth variation, but this dish was just one of several we tried that showcased this gentleman's great talent. I would also highly recommend trying the chefs tasting menu one night. I don't think it would be possible to order something on the menu and not enjoy it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ReluctantSherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear ReluctantSherpa. We very much appreciate receiving your glowing review of our dining services, and your comments have been forwarded to our chef and kitchen staff, where I know they will be received with much delight. Once again, thank you for being our guests during your extended stay and for taking the time to tell us about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We ate here as part of our weekend package at the Inn -- the menu is quite unusual and offers some different choices and an opportunity to try various foods. The wine list is certainly adequate and the setting is stunning. Our wait staff were very attentive and helpful in reviewing the menu.
Good food, good service, great location.

Thank 1kramer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear 1kramer2, thank you for posting a separate review of your experience at Muse during your recent stay with us and for letting us know that the variety and unusual combination of flavours and offerings appealed to your enthusiasm for trying new tastes. Our staff were delighted to serve you, and we're pleased they added to your enjoyment of dining by the waterfall. We hope that the next time you are up this way, you'll drop in to see what new items our menus will be featuring. Again, our thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had read good reviews about this restaurant and its discovery menu and were looking forward to the experience.

The seven courses were always very nicely presented but we found that they were underseasoned. The mise en bouche was a salmon tataki with wasabi sauce and the salmon could have used a bit of salt to intensify its flavour. We were then served a grilled bass in vegetable broth. The broth was delicious, which saved a bit the bass, which although perfectly cooked, was unseasoned and tasteless. This was followed by a beef tartare with thyme. Again, underseasoned. And each course was similar: beautifully presented, but sadly lacking in seasoning. We had also chosen the wine pairing. Most of these wines were from unknown vineyards and some were nice discoveries for us, such as the Uruguay wine Tannat. The six wines were well paired with the dishes, but paying $40 each for six glasses of 2 or 2.5 oz was a bit exaggerated...

The maitre d', Monsieur Briere was attentive and very efficient. While the wait staff was polite and courteous, their lack of training was very apparent and some of the young girls seemed totally lost. They would bring us our new course without clearing out the previous one; when the course was a shared plate, we had to ask for plates and cutlery because they expected us to use our bread plate and knife; midway during our meal, their attention faltered and we had to ask for water, bread; etc. We understand that Monsieur Briere is fairly new to the Mill and we hope that he can remedy this rapidly because in its current state, the Muse does not deserve a 4 star rating!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank duha159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to our Muse Restaurant and its Discovery menu. We are pleased to hear of the positive elements of your experience: your pleasure with the service extended by our maitre d', that the wine pairings were well matched with the courses you were served, and that the aesthetics of the presentation were appealing. The thoroughness of your review was most helpful in providing feedback to our chef and maitre d' so that the issues you raised can be addressed. We very much appreciate your patronage as well as the time you took to tell us of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muse also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Muse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing