We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Eric Cafe Bistro

Chez Eric Cafe Bistro
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were recommended Chez Eric to eat some local quebecois food. After seeing jambalaya, pork vindoloo, pasta, risotto I figured that the restaurant is not so 'local'. The waitress brought popcorn as a couvert- interesting but did not fit in the atmosphere of the restaurant. We ordered trout and risotto with cream leek sauce. That was a fatal mistake - the fish was good but the risotto was literally floating in the leek sauce. My friend ordered pork vindaloo - the price and the taste did not balance in that case either - too hot and spicy. We were waiting for the food nearly an hour even thought the restaurant was half-empty. We were given a pork pate with baguette as a courtesy for waiting. All these combinations didn't do well to our stomachs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c_hristache, Owner at Chez Eric Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you for writing a review of our restaurant. Your comments have been taken to heart and we will improve on the points you have raised. All of us at Chez Eric apologize for your bad experience and we genuinely hope to serve you better at a later date.

sincerely,

-Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    43
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint little restaurant just off main street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped in for lunch and were pleasantly surprised. As soon as we sat down, they brought us a carafe of ice water. We had the homemade soup and sandwich special. The potato leek soup was excellent and the smoked salmon sandwich with goat cheese was out of this world. The other meals being served also looked very good. Would highly recommend this little restaurant if you are in Wakefield.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c_hristache, Owner at Chez Eric Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi,

Thanks you very much for your wonderful comments, they are greatly appreciated. We are glad chez eric was able to be a positive part of your day.

thanks again

-Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We read a few reviews and decided to stop at this bistro for lunch on a recent day trip to Wakefield. Had I not read the reviews, we would never have stopped here. Don't be fooled by the lack of curb appeal ... the food and service more than make up for it. Everything we ordered was 'awesome'. The pulled pork sandwich was so good - home made, none of that fake sauce trying to make it taste good. The coddled eggs with mushrooms in a sauce that my husband ordered were delicious; I'm so glad he shared! There was nothing we disliked, and the piece de resistance was my chocolate mousse with a lovely surprise of cake and brandied fruit at the bottom. We couldn't help but overhear the 4 people at the next table who raved about their dishes as well. It's very small with tables on the 2nd floor. All the staff were so nice and extremely attentive, making sure that we had everything we needed. Do stop by!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c_hristache, Owner at Chez Eric Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for the comments you left on this page. We will sleep very well knowing we served in a way you enjoyed.

Many thanks

-Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful on every level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The menu now has more choices, including the delicious Philly to Wakefield steak sandwich.
The most casual fine dining there is.
I love dining here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c_hristache, Owner at Chez Eric Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello,

We very much appreciate the lovely comment you have left. We hope to serve you again and offer an enjoyable experience in the future.

-chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, if too much pork!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a very special place in a lovely village outside Ottawa. The garden has a sandbox for children to play is while parents dine, sumptuously. We have mainly been there for brunches. The eggs benedict dishes, sometimes with smoked salmon are heavenly. Home made hollandaise, not out of a package! Lovely french toast with pears and mascarpone with caramel ( a tad too sweet). Coffee is divine, but there was no regular tea on our most recent visit. Children are very welcome, with a wonderful sandbox full of toys in the garden, and highchairs and good changing table inside. Prices are reasonable, about $15.00 for brunch with beverage. My big quibble is the preponderance of pork dishes on the menu, especially the ubiquitous and unctuous 'pork belly'.Who would want to eat this cholesterol-laden fat-fest is beyond me! The menu needs some more light dishes, salads and quiches, perhaps. The service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Eric Cafe Bistro also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Chez Eric Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing