We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait to Return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Eric Cafe Bistro

Chez Eric Cafe Bistro
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Great food, great wine, great service, great atmosphere in the garden. A real gem of a restaurant and I am looking forward to returning. They also have a bit of a play area set up outside, so families with small children may find that helpful.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Stewie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    43
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
markham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we have had in a restaurant in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I both enjoy cooking and fine food so it is not easy to satisfy us in a restaurant setting. Chez Eric wins the prize! A delicious culinary experience from start to finish, for about $70 including tip. We look forward to returning. Oh, and the service was outstanding also.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Markhamites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best restaurant EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

This restaurant is such a hidden gem! By far the best meal of my life with excellent service...would highly recommend!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Like finding a diamond in the Gatineau River"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband and I were looking for something a different in Wakefield. We happened across this tiny old house with a lovely patio that appeared to be a restaurant.

What a nice surprise! We started off sitting at a table out in the patio. It's small but surrounded with gardens which in early June were just starting to come to life. The trees that cover the patio are filled with tiny lights which I'm sure in the dead of summer must be incredibly romantic.

Unfortunately, we were quickly surrounded by a pretty dramatic thunderstorm. Luckily the staff was able to effortlessly move us in-doors to a cozy table in the back room. Our table was fine except for a wobble which we quickly fixed with a napkin.

I am writing this in August, so it's been a while but I guess the fact that I remember the restaurant says something good about it.

We ordered a type of pate appetizer. Unfortunately it just wasn't to our liking, nothing wrong with it just a personal taste thing. Our server noticed and insisted on bringing us a new appetizer, a delicate smoked salmon creation which we loved.

For the main course I had simply the best steak ever! It was tender and succulent. The spices used enhanced the flavor of the steak without overpowering it.

I would highly recommend Chez Eric. It's a wonderful place, you can tell the chef loves food by the effort he takes in creating each dish and the friendly professional staff go out of their way to make every customer's experience a positive one.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice food & atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

The reviews for this place seem somewhat polarized; our experience was overall good. We had reservations through a local B & B owner, and arrived for an early Saturday seating (5pm) with an infant and a child. The restaurant was empty when we arrived, and there were 3-4 other tables eating by the time we left.

Service was very good, though at first seemed a bit cold. The server opened up a bit, and was quite friendly by the end of the meal. They were very accommodating of our children, and knew to bring their food right away, while my wife and I enjoyed our wine and great Gazpacho. Once our mains arrived, our child was done and could go play in the sandbox while we ate.

My wife had excellent scallops; I had the steak which was truly a perfect med-rare. My only complaint was being told everything was "local", but finding out the steak was from "somewhere in Canada". Nevertheless, it was the best steak I've had in a long time.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank ColonelFlagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Eric Cafe Bistro also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Chez Eric Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing