We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live music in a small town”
Review of Black Sheep Inn

Black Sheep Inn
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Wakefield
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Val des Monts, Qc
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Live music in a small town”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Great bands, down and dirty without the grit and spit

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank GrowlerMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bizarre Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Blacksheep Inn is one of the strangest places I’ve ever been with a weird atmosphere and zombie-like patrons. After years of hearing about how much of a great place it is I finally went over the Christmas holidays and watched the Mighty Popo. This is an African-beat type of band (Rwandan) and they practically pleaded with the audience to come up and dance. For the first three or four songs my husband and I were the only ones dancing in this relatively busy venue. Finally people started to get up on the dance floor, annoying those people who were sitting at the tables as they couldn’t see the band anymore (the body language said it all). I mean common! It’s a gig! I just couldn’t believe it. I went again to watch Jeremy Fisher last weekend with my two girlfriends. Again, for the longest time we were the only ones singing and dancing as he played. We were taking pictures of ourselves with the band in the background, laughing, being merry having a grand ole’ time. About halfway through Jeremy’s set while he was tuning his guitar and setting himself up for the next song a lady bartender came up to us and told us to be quiet as we were disturbing the audience. Firstly, we were talking about the gig (all positive) and secondly we weren’t really being that loud. Just talking normally. I guess it sounded a lot worse because of the zombie-like patrons sitting there staring quietly into space. It was strange! So I thought I would chat with the senior looking lady bartender and ask her why they are telling people to be quiet at a gig whenever he isn’t even playing? She then looked straight into my eyes and said “I wanted to tell you guys to shut up all night”. I couldn’t believe it. The Blacksheep Inn is not the National Arts Centre and we weren’t watching an orchestra or the ballet. But then again am I really surprised? Ottawa is the only town where when watching an outside rock concert (such as at Bluesfest) people in their lawn chairs sitting close to the stage get annoyed because people are standing in front of them! I know firsthand, I’ve been told off!

On the food side of things the food is average pub grub. If you want something dirty, try one of their specialty poutines as they are pretty good in that greasy kind of way.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Memorable nights!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We've seen two shows at the Black Sheep (Matthew Barber and Elliott Brood) and they were both amazing shows. I can't comment on the food per say because the food you order here comes from the Café Rutherford, which is the place next door - great food though! But the Black Sheep itself is a great, older venue for concerts. It has charm and feels like a place Neil Young would have sang in at some point in time! I will be going back again for sure.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apoliqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great atmosphere and vibe with live music and good food!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank 8achan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lynn Miles”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Keith Glass - extra bonus.. Great show as usual at the BL Shp.
Negative: PACKED! But hey, that's what ya get when the bands are good. It's always packed when I go there so GET THERE EARLY

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fdlrptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep Inn also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Black Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing