We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great journey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Hi, I would like to thank all of the staff about the stay on February 12-13, 2011. They were all great, smiley at all times, in good service in term of customer relation, etc. We both enjoyed our stay and will come back some other time. Thank you to the marvellous Wakefield Mill Inn and Spa team.

Cordially,
Jean-Francois Neveu

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfneveu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2011

I would start by saying the staff is outstanding. Louise and Michel at the front desk were extremely helpful. Louise was very helpful with her knowledge of the local cross country ski trails. My wife and I looked forward to seeing Michel in the dining room at breakfast each morning. Restaurant and Pub area are very nice. Rooms are a little dated but still cozy. Hot tub is a very welcome after a day of cross country skiing. Breakfast is excellent. Dinner was very good too. I would not pay much extra for a view of the falls. They are nice, but nothing extraordinary. Perfect 3 day cross country ski trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnysPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

The room decore was outdated. Curtins don't match the spread or throw pillows. Chairs in room miss matched. We bought the "Romance spa pkg. with waterfall upgrade." The only romance is what ever we brought with us. The room was located near some motor room that roared all night. The waterfall upgrade was what ever you could see out your window out to the side of the building and down below.
Qualities were, the lounge was tatefully decorated and relaxing, staff were great and food was excellent but portions small.
All in all we were disappointed and felt we spent to much for what it was worth.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank customerrating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

The mill by the falls is a great getaway for a romantic stay. Lots of outdoor activities nearby. The food is excellent and the service without reproach. Spa treatments are a fine way to complete the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retirees10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We arrived after dark and the path to the front door was lit by candles in ice holders leading to the front door. We were told that our room was the smallest in the place but it was not too small for us. Cozy - yes, with two large double hung windows lighting the interior. We skied 5 hours in Gatineau Park (you don't even have to drive to get there - just ski up the road from the inn) without seeing the same thing twice and there were so many more trails to discover. The skiing is pretty with hills, valleys, lakes everywhere. The paths are very well groomed. Unfortunately the weather blip of rain in the middle of February cut short our skiing. We had 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner included in our package which was good value for the money. The food was good with fresh fruit, cereals, eggs etc for breakfast and complex and very rich meat dishes of all sorts for dinner. I would have preferred a choice of lighter food and vegetarian options for dinner. We went to Chelsea to Soupe Herbe (very tasty) for dinner on the second night of our stay for lighter vegetarian food. My husband disliked the noise from the space heater in our room which disrupted his sleep. The staff here is really friendly and helpful. The village of Wakefield is extremely pretty and lovely to walk around in the evening. It is a short walk from the Inn and has bars, small restaurants, a boulangerie, and a picturesque covered bridge on the far side of the Gatineau River. I'd love to explore some more in the summer time. A great place for a winter holiday. And, bring your swimsuit. I forgot mine and was unable to use the outdoor hottub that overlooks the falls.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank gnuboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Another great stay. Superb food and wine, professional staff, elegant and posh.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Every winter my partner and I like to go up to Wakefield for a weekend. We like to take in the scenery snow shoeing in the woods and relax in the hot tub, go to the spa and enjoy the wonderful seasonal menu. Our trip was very nice as per usual. It seems there is always a little something that takes away from the overall experience. Las time we were there, the hot water was not working. Which was kind of disappointing. This time the jets in the hot tub were not working. We also tried to book some massages in the spa and were told it was fully booked the whole time we were there. We were disappointed to see how few guests were there compared to the usual crowds this time of year. I guess they have more of a skeleton staff and could not accomodate us in the spa. These aren't huge issues obviously, I still really enjoyed my time there. You just have pretty high expectations when you are spending $500 a night to stay somewhere only 45 minutes away from your home. Overall, our stay was very enjoyable and relaxing and the food is to die for.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalmoGumton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
16.3 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 26 in Gatineau
1,332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpengruss Motel
Alpengruss Motel
#2 of 3 in Wakefield
57 reviews
18.6 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#7 of 26 in Gatineau
182 reviews
17.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
18.9 mi away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#20 of 68 in Ottawa
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Address: 60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range: $161 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the historic charm of our heritage country inn set on 24 acres with the Gatineau Park. Capture the warmth of true Quebec hospitality within spectacular scenery. Indulge yourself and be pampered in our full-service spa, a truly serene retreat featuring: outdoor hot tubs, our new dreamweaver outdoor massage tent on the river's edge, and our river pool. Our hotel dining rooms and charming fireplace lounge are nestled next to the gurgling waters of the LaPeche river and the 28' MacLaren Falls. 24 Acres tucked-away within Gatineau Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Mill Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Mill Inn And Spa
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing