We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lies”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just checked in. We were offered, and upgraded to a River Grand Room when we booked last week. We checked in, nothing was said and we walke in to a standard room with only a queen bed, no fireplace or jacuzzi tub. Apparently yet didn't think we would notice. Wrong. So I called the front desk and was basically told that no River Grand Rooms were available. It is basically my problem. Not an auspicious start. Updates to follow (we are paying $650 for this 1 night package, BTW).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paid2Fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Owner at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments yesterday concerning your room assignment. I did review your room reservation with our Front Office manager this morning. I do regret that that the room you were assigned did not meet your expectations but I am pleased that you found our location and room cleanliness above average. I am also pleased that we offered you a complimentary late checkout in order to better accommodate the Sunday Brunch and two spa treatments that were also included in your package. I gather you are having the two spa treatments as I write this response, and I am hopeful that they meet your expectations.

In terms of the room you were assigned, please be assured it was a River Grand category. The Website description of this category of rooms include "more spacious rooms", "unique cachet" while acknowledging that "each room is different". The room you were assigned is approximately 450 square feet, which is one of the largest in the hotel. It is in the original (circa 1838) part of the mill and features original wood floors, four foot thick stone walls and overlooks the ravine and falls. Moreover, it is the only room in the hotel that still has visible traces of the fire of 1910. The room has a therapeutic jet tub, (though not a full two person Jacuzzi), a queen bed, pull out leather sofa bed, original local art, flat screen TV etc.

I can also assure you that it is not accepted policy nor the practice of our team to misrepresent what we offer -- as the title of your review would suggest.

Thank you again for taking the time to write.

Best regards,

Robert Milling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    266
    84
    36
    22
See reviews for
78
646
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Rooms: There are two main areas where rooms are located; the main building and the Eco River Lodge. From what I saw and heard, the Eco River Lodge rooms have a more contemporary style and this building is the newer addition to the property. The downside is that you have a less attractive outdoor hot tub (it is enclosed by fences, which mar the view of the river), and you have a short outdoor walk to get to the restaurant, bar and spa. Our room was in the main building, and it was rustic and cozy. Hardwood floors, very comfy bed, in-room fireplace and jacuzzi tub were all wonderful. I loved being able to stay indoors when going to the bar and restaurant.

Food: We ate breakfast and dinner in the dining room, as both were included. Breakfast servings were generous and delicious; I recommend the bagel and lox with poached egg! Dinner on the other hand, did not live up to my expectations. The amuse bouche (smoked trout) was terrible, and the appetizers (he had soup, I had salad) were completely tasteless. Main courses were mildly better but certainly not 4 or 5 star dining. The service started out great, but mid-meal (about 8pm) the waiter was slammed and we couldn't get his attention at all. I would recommend taking the short drive, or pleasant walk, to the main drag and try one of the fabulous restaurants in town such as Maison du Village.

Spa: the outdoor hot tub near the spa is wonderful. We spent a good amount of time out there enjoying nature and just relaxing. My husband had a massage and was happy with the service.

Entertainment: the bar area has a fireplace and lots of room to sit and read, board games, and a pool table. The overall feel of the Inn was very cozy and facilitated some much-needed relaxation!

Overall, it was a great weekend and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building with a view of the falls, or a room in the Eco River Lodge if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I live in Wakefield and have spent many an evening swimming in the warmth of this establishment...Great service (thanks Nick), great Martini's (Thanks Nick) and great atmosphere (Thanks Lynne and Bob)...

Bob and Crew have put together something to talk about...Well done.

So, if you want to get away, spend some romantic downtime with your favourite; self or otherwise...The Mill can satisfy any pallet...Enjoy, I do!

Regards, J Smith (Edelweiss)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just returned from the beautiful Inn and Spa. We had a couples massage, beautiful experience, Thank you Shawn and Michelle. John greeted us at Reception and went out of his way to help us get settled in a room right away. The room was in the new Eco River Lodge and was lovely with all the amenities...bright and private at same time overlooking the river. The dinner was to die for, I especially loved the added touches like the Neiges cider liqueur with my Foie Gras appetizer. Breakfast was in the lovely solarium overlooking the falls. Would love to return again and again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Eco River Lodge are modern and very comfortable, They have their own pool area and hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Although the weather wasn't stellar whilst there, we had a great deal of rain, it only brought the stream to life and the rushing water was a soothing relief to our business activities.
The accommodations in the new eco lodge were great, the beds engulfed my sleey body at night! The bar and dining areas are all very relaxed and the staff are friendly and love to chat.
I enjoyed the food immensely.
The small town of Wakefield looked interesting but unfortunately I didn't really have time to visit it, so I'll make sure I leave a little time when next I visit.
Worth the drive up into the Gatineau Hills!

Room Tip: make sure you leave some time to see the sights around the Mill
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhall1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were booked for a weekend last summer and had to cancel last minute.They said they would honor our days paid anytime in the future.A year later we get an email reminding us of our reservation on hold, with the reservation number, and that they would welcome us and honour our reservation any time.
I love good service and can not wait to stay there..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CodyandRoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Spent 3 nights there. Food was phenomenal with a wide variety of french cuisine. We had our business meetings in the new facility which had very large windows allowing a lot of natural light in, and the room was well equiped for presentations. Coffee, drinks, and snacks were served throughout with no issues. The room I had had a bathtub right by the window in the living room facing the river. Still very private and no noise heard throughout the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomlern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
16.3 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 26 in Gatineau
1,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpengruss Motel
Alpengruss Motel
#2 of 3 in Wakefield
55 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#7 of 26 in Gatineau
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
17.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
16.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Property: Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Address: 60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the historic charm of our heritage country inn set on 24 acres with the Gatineau Park. Capture the warmth of true Quebec hospitality within spectacular scenery. Indulge yourself and be pampered in our full-service spa, a truly serene retreat featuring: outdoor hot tubs, our new dreamweaver outdoor massage tent on the river's edge, and our river pool. Our hotel dining rooms and charming fireplace lounge are nestled next to the gurgling waters of the LaPeche river and the 28' MacLaren Falls. 24 Acres tucked-away within Gatineau Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Mill Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Mill Inn And Spa
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing