We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice mini-getaway in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My partner and I spent last weekend (May 5 and 6) at the Wakefield Mill and had a very nice time. We went up for the brunch, which was satisfactory (good selection of breakfast items, seafood and hot dishes although quite similar overall to another brunch we frequent in Kingston which is quite a bit less expensive) and stayed for dinner (very good, tasty table d'hote with a good selection of inventive and nicely-presented food items - I had the quail which I've never tried before but quite enjoyed).
The hotel itself is quite nice but where we stayed was not truly 'historic' feeling - although the room was small it was nicely furnished with Stickley-like furniture and the bed was comfortable.
What really sets this place apart were two main things - the beauty of the natural waterfall (we were fortunate enough to eat right beside it - outdoors - at brunch) and the overall competence and pleasentness of the staff. The hotel bar is also nice with a good selection of current magazines to read if one is not into watching the hockey games incessantly playing on the televisions :).
Would I go back? Probably, particularly if I had a travelzoo voucher as I had for this trip. I will say that, in my opinion the quality of service was in no way lessened because we had a voucher which covered in all or in part the services we purchased.
The hot tub was also very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Owner at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Travelcarguy,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and taking the time to leave us your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience by the falls. If you are looking for a room with more of a historic feel, you may prefer one of our rooms with stone walls or in the old grain silo. Our Front Desk agents would be happy to help you select a room more suitable to your tastes for your next stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to write to us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert Milling, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Wonderful place to stay; so close to Ottawa. We stayed for two days and enjoyed a relaxing time hiking in Gatineau Park and to the Covered Bridge. We also took the opportunity to enjoy some wonderful performances at the Black Sheep Inn. Our room at the Inn was OK. You had to be 6' or taller to look out of the windows and our bed had only one night table.
We booked a discovery dinner with wine pairing, which we were looking forward to. The food was scrumptious and the wine perfectly matched. The problem was the service. We had at least 6 different servers and had to advise almost all that we were having the discovery dinner. This resulted in our course being served and we would have to ask what wine was being paired with it. That would result in a polite "oh I will find out for you" and a minute or 5 later our primary server would arrive with a wonderful glass of wine. Other times he would bring our wine but it would take ten minutes before our next course was served. On one occasion we were served soup and when we asked about the wine the waiter responded with: "this mustn't be for you", apologized, picked up the soup and left. Overall the experience was confusing. We would have loved to have received a little menu with our courses and wine pairing listed but we were told that that was not possible because the chef made up his mind on the spot what would be served.
We had a similar experience at breakfast. My wife asked for a suggestion and the server of the moment suggested the buckwheat crepes. The crepes were too thick and quite dry, yet the filling was pleasant. Again we had multiple servers and when the waiter removed my wife's plate he asked if something was wrong with the crepes. My wife responded that it wasn't quite what she expected to which he responded that he understood and said it was " a work in progress" and perhaps would be taken off the menu.
We also took the opportunity to visit the Spa and had one of the most wonderful relaxing massages we ever enjoyed. So we will be back but will probably not stay for dinner or breakfast.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DekkersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

An amazing site to which I hope to return many times as a day spa visitor. This first visit was overnight and I fell asleep in a room on the river side of the old building to the sound of the waterfall/rapids. Heaven. Although there were many cars and I think most of the rooms were occupied, the site was never crowded and to sit peacefully by the hot tub or in the various areas provided with seating, enjoying the scenery, virtually all alone, was a gift to myself. I do hope to stay overnight again but would choose a Park room in the new complex. My Heritage room, #303, was quite small and lacking in any special kind of charm apart from the sound of the river. Very clean, lovely linens but tiny bathroom and overall, not reflective of the beauty of the inn overall. Enjoyed my dinner in the fine dining room but very expensive for very little food. But beautifully presented, with wonderful service, and added touches like 'le trou 'normand', I appreciated. But, in future, I would choose to eat in the restaurant adjoining the bar area, Heron Room? Breakfast was copious and delicious and excellent value for its price of $15.

Room Tip: Room #303 is very small and non-descript. I will upgrade to Park rooms in future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quincerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Owner at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Quincerator,

Thank you for choosing the Mill for your vacation and for taking the time to leave us your comments. We are sorry to hear that your room was not exactly what you were looking for. Next time you may be better suited for a River Grand Room in the River Lodge. These rooms have a large soaker tub overlooking the river and are decorated to reflect the natural surroundings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed spa treatments and our quiet grounds.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel, spa and to our restaurants. Thank you again for writing to us.

Best,
Robert Milling, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went to beautiful Wakefield during the last snow of winter, the scenery over the lake is breath taking and the Hotel is located just a short walk from the waterfront.
The hotel feels very French and very cosy just a lovely atmosphere, the staff were amazing and their customer service was above anything else we have experienced so far in Canada.
A great place for much needed time out with all the facilities you need for a luxury break !!

Room Tip: check to see if there is local offers on Travezoo etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loughc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Owner at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments from your recent stay. We look forward to hosting you back again in the future!

Best,
Robert Milling, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

For a treat, we took my parents for a night at the Wakefield hotel and the stay was excellent. The only complaint was that our rooms were VERY far apart. One of us in the old building and one in the new but other then that both rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable!

For dinner, we decided to do the discovery menu and we had mixed feelings about it. My father and boyfriend would have left the table EXTREMELY hungry were it not for the bread. The menu was 6 small courses and some of them were excellent, while others quite bland. The raw scallop with celery puree was amazing. They also seved us deer and bisson, both were good but chewy and lacked flavor. The cheese course was a triangle of hard cheese that resembled paramasan, except without the punch of a good hard cheese. The foie gras was so creamy and probably my second favorite part of the meal. One of us did the wine pairing and the variety was good. We also ordered wine from the wine list and it was very good.

I have eaten there numerous times before, brunch and supper and have always been very happy. So was disappointed this time when the meal wasn't as good as we expected!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tunab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel on the weekend. We had travelled up to Wakefield from Toronto to catch a concert at the local bar, the Black Sheep. This is essence of what a perfect spa get away should be. If you are visitng Ottawa, at least one night at this hotel is a must. Despite being somewhat on the expensive side, everything about this hotel was superb. Sunday brunch, which was included in the package price, was over the top (great). I VERY highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Owner at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Peter T.,
Thank you for choosing the Wakefield Mill and for taking the time to leave us your comments. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best,
Robert Milling, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Thanks to all the staff of Wakefield Mill and Spa!! We really enjoyed our romantic night and our couple massage the next morning. The food (sunday brunch especially) was excellent.

Thanks again, can't wait to come back.

Julie and Josh

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Owner at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Julie and Josh,

Thank you for choosing the Mill, and for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Robert Milling, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
16.3 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 26 in Gatineau
1,343 reviews
18.6 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
0.6 mi away
Alpengruss Motel
Alpengruss Motel
#2 of 3 in Wakefield
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
15.8 mi away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#7 of 26 in Gatineau
185 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#20 of 68 in Ottawa
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Address: 60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range: $160 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the historic charm of our heritage country inn set on 24 acres with the Gatineau Park. Capture the warmth of true Quebec hospitality within spectacular scenery. Indulge yourself and be pampered in our full-service spa, a truly serene retreat featuring: outdoor hot tubs, our new dreamweaver outdoor massage tent on the river's edge, and our river pool. Our hotel dining rooms and charming fireplace lounge are nestled next to the gurgling waters of the LaPeche river and the 28' MacLaren Falls. 24 Acres tucked-away within Gatineau Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Mill Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Mill Inn And Spa
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing