We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were at the Inn in May this year and we had a really nice relaxing one night getaway. The Inn has wonderful rooms, very clean, spacious and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was ready when we arrived and after settling down we decided to go for a walk around the mill. They are adding new accommodations to the Inn which will be on the modern side. They do have a Spa faciltiy but we had decided just to have a nice dinner at the Inn and just enjoy the nature and wonderful weather. If you walk uphill to the Maclaren Cemetery you will see Lester B. Pearson's gravestone (14th Prime Minister of Canada). We also enjoyed walking around Wakefield and visiting all the local artisan shops and had a drink at one of the pubs. It was quite relaxing.

The dinner was excellent and the buffet breakfast (or you could order ä la carte) was also very good. The only complaint we had was that they do not offer a "House Wine".We think this should be available to the guests. Even though we enjoy good wines it is not always necessary to pay $39 and up for a bottle. They also have a cozy bar lounge for a good after dinner liqueur.

We have booked another relaxing getaway at the Inn for the end of September, hopefully will be enjoying the changing of colors of the trees, we are looking forward to it.

I would highly recommend this Inn especially if you want an enjoyable getaway that is not too far from Ottawa (approximately 25 mins drive from Ottawa)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MitsyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments. We are very pleased to hear of your recent stay with us. I will pass on the kind words to our staff. Kind regards, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    244
    73
    33
    20
See reviews for
66
545
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We booked a Gatineau Park package for one night. The package included a waterfall upgrade room, dinner, bkfast and a hot tub. Our card was charged 50% of the total package amount. The hotel guarantees rooms by 4pm of the arrival day. The room we booked was guaranteed to be air conditioned among other things. The day we arrived was the hottest day of the year with the humidex in the high 40s C. When we arrived to the hotel around 6pm, the temperature in the room was 27C while the thermostat was set on 20C. Such heat in the room was not acceptable; we were already exhausted from the heat getting to the hotel. Other areas of the hotel were properly air-conditioned, but our room was not. We looked at the air-conditioning unit, the air was coming out but it was not cold. We called the front desk about the issue. A man from the front desk arrived and saw that the room was not cool, he left saying he was going to check if that could be fixed. We decided to have a drink while this matter was looked after. We went downstairs to the bar, and the man from the front desk was there serving himself drinks apparently unconcerned about doing anything about the air conditioner. When we went back after the bar, the situation was the same (after about 1hr and 20min) - room temperature 27, thermostat set on 20, air conditioner producing warm air. We pointed to the man from the front desk that nothing had changed. He told us that he had fixed it while we were at the bar, then he banged on the unit saying that it was working. We said that yes it was working – in terms of producing warm air, it was not cooling the room, it was not fixed. The man said he was going to see what can be done again and that he would come back in 10 min. We waited for 10 min and went downstairs ourselves just to find the man at the front desk playing Solitaire on the computer. We explained that the temperature like that was not acceptable. The man said there were no other rooms available, and that our room would cool down soon, and should be ok after dinner. The room should’ve been ready for us by 4pm. It was after 7:30pm, and it was obvious that the situation was not going to change any time soon as the air coming out was not cool, and there was very little attempt to remedy the situation. We were concerned about our overnight stay and could not take our chances - we still needed to find a suitable accommodation for the night. So we left at that, without any dinner nor breakfast, obviously.

The most disgusting part of the hotel's handling this whole situation is that they are now not responding to our phone calls and refusing to reimburse the 50% of the package that was charged at the time of booking, as if it was our own fault in what they failed to deliver themselves. This amount is currently being disputed. As far as other observations, the room had dated and boring look, with a so-called "waterfall view" - you need to climb a chair in order to see anything, as the walls are very thick, and windows are small. Funny enough, the room had a plastic tray for winter boots, in the middle of summer! Service was non-existent at best and offensive at worst. From what I read about the food in the restaurant, we did not miss much either. Stay away from this scam. Four stars???? Must be some practical joke.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dougwOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear DougwOttawa,

Thank you for your comments and choosing us for your recent stay. Let me sincerely apologize for the problems caused during your stay with the faulty air-conditioning unit. This is not standard practice for us and we strive ourselves on offering superb guest service and a peace of mind stay. I am disappointed to hear on the service you received and I will speak to our Front Desk Manager promptly to resolve this issue. I am sorry that you did not find our room accommodations and our dining room to your satisfaction. I will ensure that someone contacts you promptly. Best regards, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Relaxing, and fun. Took spa time, and stayed over. The staff at the spa, dining, and reception were all welcoming, pleasant, & accommodating. We had a wonderful time. Indeed, we felt like appreciated guests sharing a home, situated in beautiful, tranquil surroundings consisting of a waterfall almost at our fingertips and scenic beauty that for the time we stayed seemed almost to be our "own" .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VALLA15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear CapitalwithKids,

I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, we are very pleased to hear of your recent stay with us and we look forward to having you return with us again. Please have a look at our new website and our beautiful expansion. Best regards, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed there for one night to celebrate our 10th anniversary. At our pleasant and speedy bilingual check-in, we were handed the feedback form and asked to submit it when we checked out. There was a note on our bed wishing us a happy 10th anniversary, as well as a bag of tasty macaroons (the French kind) that we happily consumed. The waterfall room had a gorgeous view of--well, the waterfall of course. The jacuzzi tub was clean and enjoyable, though for some reason I thought it would be beside the fireplace not in the bathroom (though logically this is where it should be). Regardless, we made good use of it and of the fireplace.

The Sunday brunch was tasty, with a chocolate fountain (who can resist?) and a custom-omelette bar. Many options to choose from and again a great view of the waterfalls, if desired.

There is an outdoor hot tub that also has a superb view of the falls. Perhaps the most lovely surprise was the in-house jazz singer on Saturday night. Had we known about this, we would have planned our evening to enjoy more of the entertainment. As it was, we played pool while listening to the end of the "show" in their lounge. All in all, a lovely stay at a superb little inn. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Waterfall side worth the money, but I wouldn't get the jacuzzi upgrade again (expensive for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapitalwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

The front desk and restaurant staff were absolutely wonderful and accommodating to all our needs. The restaurant tailored their menu to my wife's gluten free requirements without issue and Michel went out of his way to help with extra choices. The room felt small but the bathroom was large and had a whirlpool bath. All in all, cozy and clean. The sound of the waterfalls are amazing and relaxing. We will definitely return to check out the spa.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunDear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear Run Dear,

We thank you for choosing us for your recent stay, and we are very pleased to hear of your excellent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Kind regards, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

great great staff, great bunch, so so dinner. for the price, i was expecting more from the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear that the dining was not to your entire satisfaction,we pride ourselves on great quality ingredients and well presented culinary dishes. Regarding the guest rooms, I would ask of you to contact us here and share your opinions and thoughts about what your expectations were and anything we could help improve. Once again, we thank you for your comments and hope to see you come back. Kind regards, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We have been to this location on many occassions throughout the years. We always had good service food/people are great. Spa is also very good. Great location. Quiet on most weekdays. Relaxing place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momy1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear Guest, we thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very pleased to hear of recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best regards, L. Major
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
Alpengruss Motel
#2 of 3 in Wakefield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Hotel V
#6 of 25 in Gatineau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Property: Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Address: 60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the historic charm of our heritage country inn set on 24 acres with the Gatineau Park. Capture the warmth of true Quebec hospitality within spectacular scenery. Indulge yourself and be pampered in our full-service spa, a truly serene retreat featuring: outdoor hot tubs, our new dreamweaver outdoor massage tent on the river's edge, and our river pool. Our hotel dining rooms and charming fireplace lounge are nestled next to the gurgling waters of the LaPeche river and the 28' MacLaren Falls. 24 Acres tucked-away within Gatineau Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Mill Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Mill Inn And Spa
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing