We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY DISSAPOINTED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“VERY DISSAPOINTED”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

The room was not clean, the bath tub ceramic was full of funguss and the drywall was chipping off on the floor and not cleaned up. The dinner was a huge dissapointment with the hoity toity ''French Cuisine'' we ordered a surf and turf to be safe and little did we know that the steak cam RAW, yes completely RAW not rare but RAW. We didn't know that steak Tartar meant RAW meat. We ordered each a glass of house wine but didn't even get a half glass. I would recommend they go French Canadian instead of French Cuisine (which is very pretentious) French Canadian would fit better with the area. The good part was breakfast which was a French Canadian atmosphere and food,the service for breakfast was excellent and very comfortable with no pretense. We left our feedback with them but it seems that they don't even look at it. If I were employed there I would at least call the guests and apologize for the discomfort. Oh and there seemed to be construction outside, at one point there was a man with a hard hat on floating outside our bedroom window on the 2nd floor. We should have been notified of that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Izzie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefieldmillinn, General Manager at Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property regarding your recent stay with us. Firstly let me apologize if we did not adhere to your expectations and wish to comment on a few points mentioned. The Mill prides itself on cleanliness and friendliness and I apologize if your room was not to your satisfaction as mentioned. Commenting on our menu, our menu is indeed Regional French and the majority of our items are purchased and acquired within a short distance from the Mill as we work closely with our local producers. Steak Tartare is indeed a raw steak item served in many restaurants. Pertaining to the construction points, I would like to clarify that there is no construction going on outside of any room units, what you are referring to is our new addition Eco River Lodge section located one hundred meters from the Mill and consists of River view units and one of the nicest meeting rooms in the region, which is due to open within the upcoming weeks. We appreciate your comments and I will be sharing them with the various departments. Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and invite you to view our website to see the updates of our new river lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    266
    84
    36
    22
See reviews for
78
646
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This was a great get away and a wonderful spot to relax and enjoy great service in a old mill setting. The waterfall delivered the right amount of cooling spray while lying on the sunny deck just outside the back door. The dinner was outstanding and the employees were great folks to talk and joke with.

I would recommend the Wakefield Mill Inn as a great spot to relax and heal thyself.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownsberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

From the friendly check-in to the pretty gift we received when we checked out, this was a wonderful stay. I took my mum here for a little get-away, and we were utterly spoiled. Cozy, unique rooms; wonderful scenery and hiking, utterly amazing food and warm, personable service make the Wakefield a gem.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinaMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed here for one night to see a show at the Blacksheep. Beautiful location, modest amenities and furnishings in the rooms, (think quaint, not luxury), very comfortable bed and linens, lovely bar and lounge area overlooking the rapids. In a word, charming.
The best features by far were the friendly and attentive staff, excellent food, and unique Quebec hospitality. We would like to give a big shout-out to Gabrielle in the lounge, who went above and beyond in accommodating our special requests and made us feel right at home! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SL_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Friendly and hospitable service. Comfy room that fit the setting. Hardwood floors, nice seating area, lots of windows. Comfortable bed and pillows. Beautiful location. The restaurant and lounge have excellent views of the river and waterfalls. Very close to Ottawa but really feels like a vacation. We saw a show at the Black Sheep Inn and were able to walk to and from the venue.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor were quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htkalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This was our 3rd stay at the Wakefield Mill. We are cross country skiers who have skied in many areas all over Canada and the US, and we were attracted by the inn's proximity to Gatineau Park. There, you will find an extensive network of trails of varying dificulty, enough to satisfy the most avid skiers.

The staff at Wakefield Mill could not be more friendly or accommodating. Louise at the front desk was particularly helpful with information and suggestions about the trails in the park.

Meals were fantastic! Gourmet multi-course dinners and ample buffet breakfasts.

Only a 30 minute drive from Ottawa, the small town of Wakefield is quite charming with several shops, boutiques, and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the falls are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy53945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Hi, I would like to thank all of the staff about the stay on February 12-13, 2011. They were all great, smiley at all times, in good service in term of customer relation, etc. We both enjoyed our stay and will come back some other time. Thank you to the marvellous Wakefield Mill Inn and Spa team.

Cordially,
Jean-Francois Neveu

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfneveu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
16.3 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 26 in Gatineau
1,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpengruss Motel
Alpengruss Motel
#2 of 3 in Wakefield
55 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#7 of 26 in Gatineau
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
17.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
16.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Property: Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
Address: 60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the historic charm of our heritage country inn set on 24 acres with the Gatineau Park. Capture the warmth of true Quebec hospitality within spectacular scenery. Indulge yourself and be pampered in our full-service spa, a truly serene retreat featuring: outdoor hot tubs, our new dreamweaver outdoor massage tent on the river's edge, and our river pool. Our hotel dining rooms and charming fireplace lounge are nestled next to the gurgling waters of the LaPeche river and the 28' MacLaren Falls. 24 Acres tucked-away within Gatineau Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Mill Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Mill Inn And Spa
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing