We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, personal service, unique décor and perfect location”
Review of Le Hibou

Le Hibou
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, International, Gastropub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Discover internationally inspired flavours featuring products from our incredible local farmers! Located in the heart of Wakefield, Quebec on the Gatineau river, we have an amazing view that makes you feel like you are on vacation as soon as you sit down.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, personal service, unique décor and perfect location”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stopped in for dinner before a show at the Black Sheep next door. Had never been before and were completely charmed... first by the fun, funky décor and then in turn by the menu, the service and the food. We will be back often!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeTee-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    56
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Quirky, fun decor and great food”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We ate Saturday brunch here and loved it! They have both a breakfast and a brunch menu. I chose the smoked salmon and bagel off the breakfast menu. The bagel was deliciously fresh and chewy, the smoked salmon plentiful and it came with capers, red onion, and the Hibou's own herbed cream cheese. My husband got the huevos rancheros from the brunch menu and loved his eggs on a tortilla with frijoles and guacamole. We both had a latte in a bowl, which turned out to be cute soup tureens. My husband's meal came with a little chocolate croissant (delicious!) homefries and coffee.
Le Hibou is a vegetarian restaurant, but as they do serve cheese, eggs and fish, you may not notice the lack of meat (unless you had your heart set on steak or hamburgers!) Food is healthy and seems home-made. The menu is actually quite extensive, especially for dinner.
Le Hibou is a spacious restaurant with charming wood flooring and funky, fun decor. Furniture is a quirky mix of 50s tables and kitchen chairs, or ornate antique living room furniture, with cozy sitting areas by windows with views, or tucked into corner booths. Walls are filled with local artists' paintings and there are plentiful big potted plants. There is a bar and a section with bakery goods on display. Le Hibou is part of a bigger building which also houses a health food store, bakery and acupuncturist.
Our service was excellent, and we loved our meals. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh and healthy!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and daughter-in-law and I had a delightful lunch at Le Hibou in Wakefield, Quebec. The restaurant is a funky, eclectic mix of table and chair styles from Formica tables to wooden chairs to comfy armchairs. The napkins were bandanas and the flatware was non-matching which added an extra level of charm. There is a lot of art on the walls to interest your eyes! Our waitress was efficient and pleasant and the food was excellent! We started with fresh, homemade, chunky cilantro quacamole served with handmade tortilla chips (gluten free). I had a grilled cheese sandwich with spinach, thinly sliced apples and jack cheese with a side of delicious mushroom soup. My husband had moules frites in a white wine sauce that he raved about and my daughter-in-law had an amazing bowl of French onion soup. there are many gluten-free choices on the menu (in fact, the majority were gluten-free) and there was a great variety from which to choose. If you are taking a jaunt out to the charming village of Wakefield in the Gatineau Hills, I would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I ate dinner here on Good Friday. The ambiance is eclectic and fun. We were given a table at the corner window with two big antique reading chairs (comfy!) and a gorgeous view of the river and Gatineau Hills.

The menu is relatively small and is mostly vegetarian with some seafood. I chose the spanokopita and soup, both were delicious! My husband went for the perfectly cooked fish and chips.

The service was friendly and prompt, we were very impressed considering how busy they were. I will definitely return to try their veggie burger.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went for a nice leisurely lunch. Server was attentive and very polite. Food was just perfect and so were the portions. Beautiful view of the river.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank racinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Hibou also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Le Hibou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing