We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Village House

The Village House
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rustic charm in the heart of Wakefield Village. We are a small 26 seat restaurant, with an outdoor patio that seats another 20. Our restaurant serves upscale comfort food, great wines and local brews. All while dining with views of the Gatineau River and hills.
Port Hope
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hospitable welcome, the excellent service, the unique specials of the day and the recommended wines to compliment the meal were so enjoyed by us both. My plans are to purchase gift certificates for friends...now that says it all!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank spinylobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanonthemountain, Owner at The Village House, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank so much for taking the time to write your review and look forward to having you and your friends back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    19
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stumbled upon The Village House completely by accident and what a surprise-- every bite was better than the last!
The food was both delicious and creative: potato wrapped shrimp appetizer? Salty, crispy, and tender strips of potato wrapped around the juiciest shrimp you've ever bit into-- it was 'omg' on the tongue.
We sat outside on the patio and enjoyed our food, the relaxed atmosphere, and the incredible view of the lake, trees, and sunsets' reflection.
Would go back in a heartbeat.
Thanks to the chef and his lovely wife!

-Libby and Frank

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyH514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanonthemountain, Owner at The Village House, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks so much you two. Stumbling upon us is usually how you find us in Wakefield in the first place. So we really appreciate the reviews to help others find our little restaurant. Hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great restaurant- you must dine here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We spent a weekend in Wakefield and tried this resto on the first night. The food was fabulous! It's a small place, I think the server we had was the wife of the Chef and service was very friendly. Both my husband and I enjoyed the meal. I has shrimps wrapped in potato, wow, what a fab idea, nicely fried, and perfectly crisp but juicy shrimps. Then I had ( Dore) Pickering , a white fish, perfectly cooked with crisp skin on top. I cleaned my plate! My husband had a Ravioli dish and again- Fab! You must eat here if you visit Wakefield.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanonthemountain, Owner at The Village House, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your evening here with us at The Village House. Thanks so much for recommending us to others. Look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing small plate Sunday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had heard this place was good and we were not disappointed. We stopped in on a Sunday afternoon when they were offering their small plates menu and ordered 7 different plates and all three desserts. Everything we tried was delicious, smoked pork (OMG), pig cheek, stuffed peppers, fish and chips, lamb poutine, schnitzel sliders and an amazing tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwich. The staff were very friendly and accommodating to my father's peanut allergy and we will definitely be back to try their Thursday night three course meal special. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanonthemountain, Owner at The Village House, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
So glad your enjoyed the Small Plate Sunday menu. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Look forward to having you back to try some more of our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious French bistro food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We came here for the Sunday small plates night and got to try many of the dishes. All were delicious, but the real winner was the braised lamb poutine. Absolutely stunning! The confit chicken ravioli was also fantastic.
Will definitely be visiting again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmaAriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village House also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to The Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing