We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Wakefield”
Review of The Village House

The Village House
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rustic charm in the heart of Wakefield Village. We are a small 26 seat restaurant, with an outdoor patio that seats another 20. Our restaurant serves upscale comfort food, great wines and local brews. All while dining with views of the Gatineau River and hills.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I went here to celebrate his birthday last year, and we have been back multiple times since. The service is impeccable, the food is amazingly delicious and served in portions that are not overwhelming so that we are able to have dessert every time! It is an amazingly well-run restaurant, with a gorgeous little patio on the side for warmer nights. The food is seriously worth the drive - a must go!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and repeat visits. We are always so pleased to have the support of the locals and reapeat customers are what make this business so enjoyable! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Finally had dinner here after friends' recommendations and TA reviews. We were warmly greeted and seated at the bar overlooking the kitchen as we often like to do - watch the action going on in there! Very cute little spot - comfortable and a charm of its own. Sarah was friendly, courteous and efficient and we really enjoyed chatting with both her and her excellent chef hubby Mike. We shared the seared tuna appetizer (BC albacore tuna, shoot & radish salad, truffle vinaigrette, shaved Piave, crispy turnip) which was delicious as we watched Chef Mike prepare meals for other patrons while deciding what to have. I opted for the braised beef short rib served atop papradelle & veggies and braising jus. What "upscale comfort food" it was indeed! Dave had the Le Coprin mushroom, goats cheese & onion fritters, curry cucumber dressing, and one of the best wild rice salads we've had! They also have a nice little wine list along with a couple of nice beers and a few cocktails and we had to try the "Roto" - espresso with vodka and kahlua! Great way to end off our meal and very pleasant evening! We'll definitely come back to sample some of the other meal offerings!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GyspySoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Ahh yes the bar seats... A magic way to spend an evening at The Village House with the full show only steps away. Most of our customers will agree they are the best seats in the house. So glad you enjoyed your meals and the whole open kitchen concept. Hope to see you both again soon and thanks for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went one sunny Sunday afternoon for lunch, after having read good reviews on tripadvisor.ca and looking up the menu online; we were BLOWN AWAY by our experience. For lunch they have a list of small plates (appetizer size) and recommended each adult order 2-3 to comprise a full meal. We got the pig cheek, ceasar sliders, smoked meat sandwich, potato crusted shrimp, and apple tart for dessert. Even now, it's hard to nail down our favourite dish. Everything was fresh, warm, appropriately sized, creative, and of course delicious.

The service was quick and friendly. In addition, the owner made special accommodations for our infant and large dog to sit on the patio with us, which made the experience all the more enjoyable.

We were so impressed with both the food and the service that we are going back in two weeks and taking our extended family with us!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks so much for the great feedback. I would have to agree that the small plates are great way to spend a Sunday afternoon in Wakefield. This is the one day we open early and developed the small plate menu to have the freedom to play with food in a more casual fun manor. True to your word we saw you two weeks later. Thxs so much, can't wait to see you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is an unassuming little place that we almost walked by on July 7th........sure happy we stopped because we enjoyed one of the best food experiences we have had in years. The place isn't fancy but if you want your palate to have a fantastic awakening then this is the place for you. We went on a Sunday and ordered from the "small plate" menu which allowed us to experience multiple small dishes. Each and every one was a delight. Great place, great people, great experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marcoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

If you blink you might miss us, this is true. So glad you found us and enjoyed our small plate menu. We appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback on trip advisor because this is how so many other first time customers find us. We don't advertise and really rely on word of mouth and customers sharing their experiences with the world on websites like this. hope to see you again if you are every back up in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I went for dinner. Share the shrimp and the pig cheek starters. To die for. My wife had the fish plate, and I had the pork rib plate. Both were so good. Will be going again for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank serads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Cheers! Thanks for the kind comments. Yes the pig cheek is definitely a delicious specialty item and a staple on our menu. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village House also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to The Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing