We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delight in the heart of Wakefield.”
Review of The Village House

The Village House
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rustic charm in the heart of Wakefield Village. We are a small 26 seat restaurant, with an outdoor patio that seats another 20. Our restaurant serves upscale comfort food, great wines and local brews. All while dining with views of the Gatineau River and hills.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Unassuming from the outside, this is a wonderful restaurant where locals come often (always a good sign) and the atmosphere is casual, yet the food is refined.
Our table was in the main room, where you can watch the chef make your meal - always a treat. There was a second room around the corner, and a lovely outside patio as well. In all, about 10 tables inside plus a bar area.
The food uses fresh ingredients and creative combinations to excite your tastebuds. We had potato wrapped shrimp with home made ketchup and winter slaw as an appeteizer. What a crazy combination - but it was delicious and left us wanting more. For the main course, I had pan roasted chicken breast with black beans and wild rice in a yummy sauce and my companion had pan seared pickeral with egg noodles and mushrooms in a light broth (the special). We completed the meal with creme brule and a dark chocolate cake with candied nuts and berry reduction. It was heaven!
The nice thing about this meal was that the atmosphere of the restaurant was relaxed and unhurried. The staff was attentive, friendly and enthusiastic about the food. The meal was devine.
I would highly recommend the Village House the next time you are in Wakefield! One word of caution - make a reservation - this place fills up fast!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LizMacOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

So happy to hear your enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other future clients. We love having the open kitchen where clients really feel a part of the dining experience they are having. We pride ourselves on delivering great food in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Hopefully on your next visit you'll get to experience our patio which delivers wonderful views of the Gatineau River. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for The Village House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 163 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Went for dinner this past weekend. WOW! Did NOT disappoint. Service was outstanding and very friendly. We had the shrimp wrapped in potato and village poutine as appys. Really good. The poutine broth was so tasty we needed more bread to mop it up, or we would have licked the plate. Mains were the short rib , and smoked pork rib. BOTH were very good!! Desserts included a fresh baked to order choc cake and we also tried the apple tart. The home made caramel ice cream was so good, not too sweet and just right. We can't wait to return. Go to wakefiled and try this place- seriously! .... Ps. Im not a apres coffee girl , but loved he espresso , vodka, kahlua shaken over ice.....was so yum we had 2!!!! Oh ya , the diner beside me had the goat cheese stuffed king mushroom on lentils, i will try that next, looked amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ellie22251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Wow, thanks so much for all the enthuasim. This are reviews we love to hear! Glad to hear you enjoyed the food, service and the "coffee drink" which for future clients wishing to order is called a ROTO espresso, kahlua, vodka shaken on the rocks. Simple yet delicious and a great way to end the meal! hope to see you guys again soon. Although I have seen you both many times since! Thanks for the continued support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently went there for our anniversary while staying in wakefield. Great restaurant and the owner makes you feel at home with the service. The food was great and priced to match, meaning you're getting what you pay for.
Would return and would recommend going and trying this great find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you so much for all your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experince on Trip Advisor. I'm so glad you felt at Home. Being The Village House we really want everyone to feel comfy and welcome while enjoying great food in a relaxed atmosphere. Hope to see you on your next visit to Wakefield!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My mother and I just had a appetizer as our meal but it was lovely. We had the shrimp and it was a great taste sensation.

Thank jakez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

So glad to hear you enjoyed the shrimp. They are definitely a unique and delicious bite. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had supper at The Village House / La Maison du Village tonight and were very impressed. The food was imaginative, beautifuly prepared and presented, and very tasty. My husband had the braised ribs while I chose the pan roasted pork. I don't think you can make a wrong choice. We booked late so only bar seats were left. However, they may be the best seats in the house because you get to watch the food preparation, banter with the owners and staff, and meet other diners. The atmosphere is good: cozy, informal while still feeling special. Our meal, with a drink each, mains, dessert, coffee, tax and tip, was just over $100. Did I say we liked it? Book ahead; it is small. In the summer you can dine on the patio which has a lovely view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TomandRoseAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Like most customers who haven't dined with us before the bar ends up being a great experience and usually booked by regulars there after. It is a great open style kitchen where customers are literally several feet away from the chef and the magic. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and we look forward to having you try the patio this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village House also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to The Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing