We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
74
154
80
25
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
74
154
80
25
11
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 344 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2016

The breakfast is simply great with a very large choice of fresh food!
The rooms are nice, well maintained and the beds are comfortable.
Unfortunately, the hotel is accepting pets and the main issue is the smell of the cleaning products used to try to kill the pets' smell!!!
Our room was smelling that product during 2 days even with the windows opened 24/24h!
Do not forget to take your own shampoo and shower soap! For 2 persons, we've got 1 tiny bottle of decent quality shampoo and shower gel for ... 4 days.
Of course there is a kind of "ecological" refillable kind of detergent in the shower but ... Even Holiday Inn Express are providing decent quality refillable Dove soap and shampoo in the shower. For a so-called 4 stars hotel, this one is kind of cheap!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeyR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Manager at Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Dear guest,

thank you for your review and for which we were allowed to be your hosts. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast. At the same time we regret that you were disturbed with the smells of our cleaning agent. In this case, the only option is to adequately ventilated. Furthermore, we are sorry that when you shampoo and shower gel was forgotten aufzufüllen.In this case, please inform our colleagues at the front desk about it. They will forward the information to our housekeeper on and we have brought you self-evident further shower gel to your room. We still hope you had a good time and visit us again. Best regards, Jennifer Seefeld (Direktionsassistentin) & Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2015

We have been here several times and the hotel has maintained its good standards. The mattresses are not really good, we noticed this when we both experienced back pains in the morning.
Excellent restaurant with some staff which perhaps need a bit more customer service training. All round a polite, helpful staff with local knowledge.
The pool is disappointing.

Room tip: Facing the sea, but there is no direct sea view
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Manager at Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely, Christian Bernhardt (Ass. Hotel Manager) & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015

Good standard for this hotel close to the beach. Classic and quiet room at the 2nd floor without lift. Bad pillows and average mattress. No real frisian charm but competent staff and quite satisfying experience. Better for german people than for foreigners. Be careful of hidden costs like water in the room or magazines. Not enough veggie food at the restaurant. Crowded in summer and very busy staff. Not even a goodbye when I left.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Manager at Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2015
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihre Meinung zu Ihrem Aufenthalt bei uns mitzuteilen. Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Christian Bernhardt (Stellv. Direktor) & Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2015

The price is outrageous for the hotel, we were lodged in a so called studio with the bedrooms and bathroom in the cellar, dark and a bit smelly (bathroom without window) - in winter, I cannot imagine how it would be in the summer. On the plus-side, the breakfast was excellent, lots of fresh fruit - and all things typical for a German breakfast. You have to pay taxes to have access to the beach (you receive a guest-card, otherwise you have to pay for each visit - very strange), no free internet. Also very loud from the apartments above (stairs just above your head in the bedroom) and when anyone opening the doors.

Room tip: Do not accept to be lodged in the souterrain-studio it is really dark in the bedrooms and bath and kind of depressing. Also you hear EVERYTHING from the apartment above.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YNNYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbernhardtSYLT, Manager at Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
I am sure, we will find a different solution to accommodate you next time.Best regards, Christian Bernhardt (Rooms Division Manager) & Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Not a 4 star hotel I would say more like a 3 star. This is because the rooms are small and a little dated; the pillows are completely useless more like a tea towel with a few rags in it; and wifi is not free it's €10. On the plus side staff are nice; the breakfast is very German, and quite fulsome. Sylt overall is pretty boring, nothing much to do here the north German beaches are hideous! Maybe I'm too spoiled by Australian beaches which are clean, warm and free! Seriously Sylt, you have to pay €3.50 to visit the beach or have a hotel card???

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 262AlexR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews