We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant with good accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Buffet Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isbergues
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with good accommodation”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

For years we struggled trying to find a good hotel with a good restaurant this side of the Channel. I am loth to recommend this hotel because I would hate to find it was all booked up and we couldn't get a room! The main reason for spending our first night in Europe here is the excellent restaurant. We have never been disappointed, not only with the food but with the pleasant ambiance which is very relaxing.

This is a restaurant with rooms, not a hotel in its true sense. The staircase is steep and twisty and we would recommend that visitors only have one small case to carry up. The rooms are scrupulously clean, pleasant, and the ones at the back overlook the garden.

There is free parking outside, and free wi-fi in your room. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
34
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This must be our fourth visit and it hasn't disappointed yet.
The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and with en-suite facilities. The best room is no. 5 which is slightly larger than the rest and has a small settee and coffee table.

The town of Isbergues is not a destination in its own right but Ayre-sur-la-Lys is just up the road and well worth a visit.

The real reason for coming here, however, is the food which is superb. We had the 5 course tasting menu with wine which cost 176 euros for two and was worth every penny (or should that be 'every cent'?). why this place hasn't a Michelin star, I can't imagine.
The breakfast is quite expensive at 10 euros, however, and to describe it as a 'gourmet breakfast' is a bit misleading.

The other nice thing about Le Buffet is that the customers are predominantly locals who come regularly. The dining room is very ornate with very attractive tableware, the customers are well dressed, the food is beautifully presented and the front of house staff are efficient. This all contributes to the sense of occasion.

So don't be put off by the basic rooms, if you enjoy good food you'll love it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annebailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I travel from the UK to Europe a great deal and am always looking for somewhere to stay in Nord ,Pas de Calais on the way back to the UK.
Over the years I ve tried many places and Le Buffet is certainly one of the best if you re looking for somewhere simple with great food.
The rooms are very clean ( although ,as others have said,accessible only by a steep staircase).There s also free WiFi in the rooms but I ve never been able to get it to work .
Isbergues doesnt have much to reccomend it but Le Buffet has a great restaurant.
In my opinion, and I ve eaten in a fair number of Michelin starred places, the cooking certainly deserves a star. So at the moment you get that consistent quality of food but without the Michelin starred prices.
Definitely to be recommended if you want a stopover in the North if travelling to or from the UK.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chunky1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

I entirely agree with the previous review. I booked a one night stay by email with the owner and it was confirmed without the need to provide a deposit or card number. The stopover is within an hour from Calais and is convenient but nothing more, we had a walk about and found it typical of a N. French town, with little happening.
Le Buffet was part of the railway station converted into a stylish retaurant and five adequate but very clean bedrooms but with no comforts of any kind.
Be warned the stairs are very steep and narrow, not for the less able or carrying large suitcases. There is no entrance from the bedroom wing to the resaurant, you have to go out and then in again. Also there is no evidence or means of communicating with the owners or staff other than by the bedside telephone. You might feel a little isolated or even ignored.
We had one double room, the 45E menu with a glass of wine, the 10E breakfast and finished with a 210E bill, for a stopover. You may consider this expensive.
I had previously read a review in the 'Mail' about Le Buffet and the writer complimented the Breakfasts, we found them to be as expected, with the only hot dish the coffee and no toast. It is much better to make an early start and eat on the P&O ferry in the Langhams restaurant, with a good choice and as much coffee as you want and a comfortable no hassle crossing. At £12.50 its a steal no need for the expensive lounge.
Le buffet has menus from 20E to 65E and we had no complaints with our choice. It was very good.
We found France to be very expensive this year and our month in Florida earlier was real value for money. Silverhead

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Difficult access
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

Isbergues is a sleepy little town but, as an overnight stop en-route to the Channel ports, it was perfect. We didnt arrive until after 6pm and were gone by 8am the next day so a clean room and a nice dinner were all we needed and Le Buffet more than lived up to expectations.

Our two rooms (1+5) were a very reasonable 64 Euros each. The rooms were modern, well fitted and the bedrooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean so it was more than adequate for one night.

One of our rooms was on the front of the hotel, looking directly out towards the little SNCF Station and we thought it might have been noisy with the trains so close, however we weren't disturbed by them at all eventhough our window was open all night.

We dined in the Hotel's restaurant, and had a lovely dinner, there was a good choice of menus from simple through to high-end gastronomic.

We found the owners and their staff all to be very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. We often need to stay in this area during our travels and will definitely be going back to Le Buffet

  • Liked — great value bedrooms and excellent restaurant
  • Disliked — bedrooms are on 1st floor but accessible only by narrow steep stairs (no lift)
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tightropehigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isbergues
2.9 mi away
Le Logis De La Lys
Le Logis De La Lys
#1 of 1 in Aire-sur-la-Lys
39 reviews
13.9 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
180 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Omer Centre
4.5 mi away
Hotel Eden Lac
Hotel Eden Lac
#3 of 3 in Savines-le-Lac
123 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chateau de Moulin le Comte
Chateau de Moulin le Comte
#1 of 2 in Aire-sur-la-Lys
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Buffet Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Buffet Hotel Restaurant

Property: Le Buffet Hotel Restaurant
Address: rue de la Gare | Isbergues, 62330 Isbergues, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Isbergues
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isbergues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Buffet Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing