We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's high time to rework the place.”
Review of Hotel Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vittoria
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sondrio
Certificate of Excellence
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“It's high time to rework the place.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A 4 star hotel ? Yes, it has all the accessories and features required to obtain that rank, but the place is getting very old. Must have been very modern 30 years ago, no longer at the level of comfort that is now expected from such hotel.
The room was noisy because of the traffic of the street and the insufficient soundproofing of the window. The air-conditioning was not on until we asked for it.
Kind people at reception but the owner playing with two big dogs in the reception area was not overly professional.
Poor or no English making it a bit difficult. No restaurant in the place (probably better that way).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    53
    23
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
30
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We chose this hotel because of it's location, near my Italian relatives in the Valtelina area. It greatly surpassed our expectations! The hotel was easy to find and provided picturesque views of the surrounding hills and vineyards. It is a lovely, spotlessly clean hotel. The hotel staff were excellent. Everyone went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. The included breakfast was the best of any hotel in which we stayed during our 2 week visit to Italy. The cafe/bar area was lovely and elegant. All in all an excellent hotel and a wonderful experience for us. Hope to be back again in a few years!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

After a long day on the motorcycle from Austria, I began in earnest looking for a hotel in the area. Followed signs in Sondrio listing hotels. Vittoria was the only hotel I saw with four stars and at that moment I needed some serious comfort. When I walked into the hotel, the manager on duty met me with a smile. In a few minutes I was in the room, comfortable and clean. Relatively quiet given the proximity of the main road, more of a drone than noise, which didn't bother me. Breakfast was heavy on the sweets, as is normal in Italy, but enough of variety of other food. Excellent coffee! The Italians sure know how to do coffee. I'll keep the Vittoria in mind for the next time I'm in the neighborhood and need a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeddie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Excellent hotel, lovely family, great food, clean and they went out of there way to cater for a member of our party with gluten intolerance. They organised a wide verity of gluten free food for his breakfast and were happy with him taking some with him for his midday break whilst skiing. The entire party of five of us were very happy with this hotel and it proved to be a great choice and value for money. Friendly and very helpful family that know the business and more importantly how to look after customers without being in their face.O i nearly overlooked the two dogs wonderful animals and very playful. A top five hotel that does not cost the earth, stay there and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

What can I say? Everything was wonderful.....clean bedrooms, bathrooms,excellent service,very attentive and delightful breakfasts....homemade cakes and yoghurts to die for.I would highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in Sondrio September 2011, this is a lovely hotel with the best array of cakes you would ever see for breakfast, the hosts and their staff and families are the nicest, most helpful people you wouldever care to meet, loved it!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandras119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Hotel Vittoria is one of those places without nonsense. They give you everything you need to have a nice stay: a spotless, clean room, camera secured garage, fantastic breakfast, nice people, fair price. For a small town like Sondrio, the cable TV comes in handy. The beds are perfect.
The hotel itself is a nice building, at a small, nice 7 min. walk to downtown. Easy to find, easy to enjoy. I've been there once by chance, and a second time by choice. And I'll continue using it every time I need to.
Small tip: check on the internet if they have rooms available, and just drop by. They'll probably give you a better deal by walking in than what you'll find out there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sondrio
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel della Posta
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa di Sondrio
1.3 mi away
Hotel Campelli
Hotel Campelli
#1 of 2 in Albosaggia
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
La Brace Hotel Ristorante
2.7 mi away
Wine Hotel Retici Balzi
Wine Hotel Retici Balzi
#1 of 1 in Poggiridenti
216 reviews
15.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Bernina Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vittoria

Property: Hotel Vittoria
Address: Via Bernina 1, 23100, Sondrio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Sondrio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sondrio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vittoria 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the historic center of Sondrio, Hotel Vittoria features modern guest rooms with free Wi-Fi. Start your day with a rich breakfast buffet complete with homemade pastries.Your room has a private balcony and a range of modern comforts including high-speed internet connection and an LCD TV with Satellite channels. A buffet breakfast can be enjoyed between 7am and 11am. The bar is open all day and is ideal for an afternoon tea, refreshing drink, or post-dinner cocktail.The Vittoria Hotel is near route SS38, which goes to Lake Como and Milan in one direction and Wipp Valley (l’Alta Valle) in the other. It features a free and secure garage and a conference room, which can hold up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittoria Hotel Sondrio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing