We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“accessible heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louisiana Museum of Modern Art

Louisiana Museum of Modern Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.43*
and up
Copenhagen Card
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Humlebaek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Louisiana Museum of Modern Art collection focuses on contemporary works from 1945 to the present. Works by Pablo Picasso, Jean Dubuffet and Louise Bourgeois are part of the permanent exhibition at this white villa named Louise, after the first (and second and third) wife of the man who commissioned the building.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“accessible heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Enjoyed every minute of the current self-portrait show. Illuminating is the word.... Good space for kids to get creative, too, and great cafe and shop. Building itself amazing... What more can I say?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Klara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,210
    294
    57
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
247 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Fabulous Art Museum and the BEST lunch ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This modern museum seems to grow out of the landscape at the edge of the Oresund Sound. The Louisiana houses more than 3,000 works in its permanent collection, one of the largest in Scandinavia. Post 1945 artists such as Picasso, Warhol, Hockney, Bourgeois, Klein, Dubuffet, and Moore attract visitors from all over Europe. The collection of works in this museum can astound, evoke a smile, or just surprise you with its thoughtful presentations. We started with Pink Caviar, an important collection of works and genres acquired by the museum over the last 50 years. We enjoyed exploring Five Houses, a sketch-like representation of Nordic architecture. The project asked architects from five Nordic countries to each build a simple replica of a house relating what it means to be Nordic generally and how it relates to the regional identity of the architects. We had fun walking into the architectural displays before realizing lunch was nearby.
Although the museum was quite amazing with its important international contemporary works of art as well as its fascinating exhibition of Nordic culture and architecture, I may have been even more impressed by one of the best Danish Smorebords ever. Their 119 kroner buffet was worth it's weight in gold. I have to list the menu here: herring with lime, large Greek capers and sour cream, small shrimps with asparagus cream, baked lemon and pea shoots, organic tomatoes with spring onions and orange syrup, spelt kernels with summer cabbage and chives, mixed salad greens with toasted nuts, new parsnips baked with chervil oil, small vegetable quiches, cucumber soup with roasted wheat kernels, chicken with watercress and lemon sauce, new potatoes rotated in pimento oil, absolutely heavenly home baked brown nut bread with rosemary. This meal will haunt my dreams.
The Sculpture Park is an outdoor extension of the museum featuring large impressive works by artists such as Moore, Miro and Calder dramatically positioned overlooking Oresund Sound. The museum's restaurant overlooks the sound as well and if you are lucky (we were not since it was packed with visitors) you might find a table outside with the beautiful sculptures and the sound beyond. But we did not complain, instead we took some time to walk off our fabulous lunch to tour the Sculpture Park before leaving for the train back to Copenhagen. When it was time to leave the museum Lo recommended we take the longer walk by the sea for an opportunity to see some lovely seaside homes and gardens. We were glad we did because the homes and seaside gardens were lovely and it gave us another opportunity to see a different landscape from the one we saw on our way in to the museum.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelleygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
213 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Delightful Museum of Modern Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Using our Copenhagen card we took the train north for about an hour and then a short walk took us to the entrance of this fabulous Museum of Modern Art - entry was also included in our Copenhagen card. The Self Portrait exhibition was very well curated and easy to view - several groups of young school children were visiting, sketching in front of a chosen artist - was great to see the space so well utilized. The grounds and sculpture park are stunning as well as the actual building which fits so well into the landscape. The cafe has beautiful views of the sea and whilst we only had a tea/coffee/pastry we saw a lot of people having the smorgasbord lunch - the range of food presented was plentiful and again, it was a very reasonable price. The shop is too tempting - we didn't leave without several purchases to remind us of our holiday.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing, not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wonderful grounds with a view of the sea. Went specifically to see the Self Portrait exhibition, and was not disappointed -- it was amazing. Building has been expanded with a new section, and corridors seem to wind all over the place, but overall it is very nice. Cafeteria is a lovely spot with lots of glass looking out to sea. Apparently all the windows open up in the summer which would be great (not a good idea for us on a cold rainy day!). Food is not bad either, considering it is a museum cafeteria, typcially not a place renowned for great food. This is one of the best modern art museums I have been in, and I have been in many all over the world.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum in a beautiful spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My family (parents and adult children) were all very impressed by the Louisiana. The Self Portrait exhibit was very comprehensive and well organized. We loved the grounds and the sculpture park as well as the views of the sea. The cafe was pleasant as well. An easy trip from copenhagen central station and its possible to get a pass for the museum and train tickets at the same time.

Helpful?
Thank bklynwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisiana Museum of Modern Art also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Helsingoer, Helsingoer Municipality
Hillerod, Hilleroed Municipality
 

Been to Louisiana Museum of Modern Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing